Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Roasted Red Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Red Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2009

      This recipe does NOT work for non-bell peppers (like banana peppers) since, by the time the skin is black the meat is also black. For this type peppers just roast until the skin blisters. I recommend roasting all kinds on foil (no pans to scrub) then folding the foil over the peppers to steam (juices not lost to paper towels, plastic bags not melted, less to throw away!) Leaving seeds in hot-type peppers while roasting will add to the spiciness of the result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      Thank you for posting this! I'd been wondering what the best method for roasting peppers was and this really worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Yay! Thanks Bethany! I made these last night - not hard, but just not the kind of thing I thought I would bother with. The only problem was I kept eating them as I was peeling the skin and packing them in tupperware. I will only make them when red peppers are a decent price - when they are $4/lb, I'll be using the jarred kind.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      I saw red bell peppers in the grocery store for .79 cents each and decided to buy a few. I knew I would be baking another dish at a high temp and thought I would seek out a recipe to roast my peppers and picked you'rs, so I could cook both recipes at the same time. They tasted very good, as I sampled them while I was slicing to put in freezer bags for later use. I had to cook the peppers longer than specified but I also was cooking at a slightly lower tempature due to the other recipe that I was cooking. Thanks riffraff for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      Thanks to you, I will never overpay for roasted peppers again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

    • on June 03, 2010

      Excellent! Took about 30 minutes - probably my electric oven. I put half in freezer bags for another meal. I added to portobello mushroom burgers with spinach, goat cheese, and homeade pesto mayonaise. YUM!!! Later added these to Heirloom Tomato sandwiches with pesto mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      perfect. i had never done this before but thought it sounded simple enough, and it was. i used these in a recipe for chicken and lime taquitos. UPDATE: i recently made these and then put in zipper freezer bags and threw them in the freezer. weeks later i pulled them out for a pasta recipe. still fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Extremely easy to do! I ended up roasting 3 red bell peppers for about 30 minutes. At this point they were only black in spots but I noticed that the skin was blistered so I took them out. I placed them in a paper bag for about 20 minutes. The skin peeled of easily. It is definitely worth the extra (minimal) effort to roast these at home! They made our grilled balsamic chicken sandwiches restaurant worthy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      These turned out so very tasty!! They are indeed easy to make but the cleanup is not easy! I would recommend either disposable pans, foil, 'Pam' or prepare for a lot of elbow grease and SOS for cleanup! lol I poured olive oil on the pan whild roasting, (I also had to roast much longer than stated), but afterward I still scrubbed and had to soak for a day... my pans are now quite a mess. But truly the peppers are so yummy! I ran into a huge amount of perfectly wonderful 50% reduced peppers and usually I chop them up and freeze them raw for sauces etc. but this time I decided to try roasting them. I used the paper bag method and they peeled beautifully, though the bags, which I doubled were so moist with the juices from the peppersI could not help wonder how much deliciousness was wicked away! Next time I will use a Correll dish to steam them and to compare. I placed all remaining roasted peppers in a jar with the juices that remained and some Olive Oil, I hope they keep in the fridge for a while... Has anyone froze them successfully?... I will continue making these, thank you riff for posting, these were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      These are so easy to make, great directions! I needed 2 peppers for Thai Shrimp Curry With Lettuce and Basil-Lime Couscous. After reading the reviews, I see that they can be preserved in EVOO. Next time I make them I'll make the full recipe and store some for later. Great to use when red, orange, or yellow peppers are on sale. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Amazingly easy! Thanks so much for posting these directions. It was my first time and they turned out terrific. Needed them to make Toolies Mediterranean Scampi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I do this, but on the BBQ. Once the peppers are charred, I remove them one at a time and put them in a bowl that has Saran Wrap over top. Once they are all done, I let them sit for about 10 minutes then remove the skins! So easy, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

    • on June 05, 2008

      I have posted a recipe called, Chili Cheese Casserole using roasted peppers. It was given to me by a friend in New Mexico.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This was fantastic. Mine took a bit longer as well to get to the charred skin effect but it was well worth the wait. Store bought is so expensive and I love having fresh ones at home. The flavor is tremendous. Thanks riffraff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Very easy recipe. Like a couple reviewers had mentioned, it took me 30 mins to roast four peppers (yellow/red). I used brown paper bags to help me peel the skins off, but it didn't quite work. I personally think it had to do with the quality of the bags, cheap quality. After a couple attempts, I placed the peppers in a pyrex and covered them with saran wrap. After peeling, I let them cool off and then placed them in a jar with olive oil. Very good recipe, I loved the textures. Next time, I'll be adding unpeeled garlic cloves for flavor, once roasted then throwing them into the jar with the peppers. Sidenote, I made a salad with the peppers. In a bowl, I placed a couple slices of pepper with a little of the oil, added crumbled feta, kalamata olives, chopped tomatoe, thinly sliced onion, pinch of greek oregano, and a tablespoon of red wine vinegar, served it with a nice piece of baguette. It was a quick, and simple for one person, with a couple minutes to whip up a meal. Thank you for the posting. I'll be using it loads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I used the gas stove method! It worked great! We really loved the taste of the roasted pepper! Thank you for the very simple roasting technique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This is great. They come out perfect and it was so easy. It took 30 minutes for mine at well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I needed a 7 ounce can of roasted red peppers for Spicy Southwestern Pasta (making for ZWT III). So I decided to roast my own. After 15 minutes in the oven at 450F degrees, I turned the broiler on for 3 minutes to make sure I had my peppers nicely blackened. These peppers turned out great and so did the recipe I used them in. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Red Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 18.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    78%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites