Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Roasted Garbanzo Beans/Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Garbanzo Beans/Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2010

      YUM! These are good and addictive, as other reviews already state! I dry roasted these at 300 degrees for about an hour, giving the pan a good shake every 10-15 minutes. I then sprinkled with a little EVOO, gave the pan a shake. Sprinkled fairly liberally with salt and curry powder, gave the pan a shake. Put in at 350 for just about 10 or so minutes. VOILA! I'm excited to try different seasonings. Also, next time I'll either use very minimal oil, or I may even try sticking with nonstick spray - seems you just need enough moisture to prevent burning and get the seasoning to stick. Will be great on a salad as well... MMM! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      WOW! GREAT idea!! I've had 2 cans of chick peas in my pantry for months now... I had NO idea what to do with them. ZLike JenzyGirl's husband, I'm not too fond of chick peas, but these were magnificent! I actually just went with garlic salt and cracked black pepper. I actually prepped them while making breakfast the other day. They dried in the strainer for about 30 minutes and then on the towels for another 30 minutes. When the biscuits came out of the oven, the garbanzos went in... I shook them about every 10 minutes or so. PERFECT snack... I actually added chick peas to my next shopping list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Wow, sooooooo soooooo good! I really enjoyed this unusual twist on using chickpeas! The recipe worked out fantastically and the spice mix was so tasty! I would have never thought that the chickpeas would get as crunchy as they got and that Id like this as much as I did. Mmmm, I cant wait to make another batch! :) I used dried chickpeas, which I had soaked and cooked beforehand and instead of cooking spray used a little oil. Perfect! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this fantastic recipe with us, Hope!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I should have read the reviews before making these. Mine didn't turn out crunchy, I baked for 45 minutes. I so want to love these, so I'm going to make them again and bake for an hour. The flavor was great - I used my own cajun mix that included chipotle and smoked paprika. This definitely needs salt though, I added salt. Will make again and check back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I used Redfarmgirl's method, dry roasting 1st then dumping into a Ziplock bag with the seasonings. I wish I would have added salt as they needed that. I was expecting this to knock my socks off after all the reviews but it didn't excite me that much. I do have to mention that they got better with age. Definitely crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I was impressed. I didn't use cajun seasoning (didn't have any), but chili powder, season salt and onion powder, and cayenne. I dried off the chickpeas, sprayed lightly with cooking spray and then sprinkled the spices on. I had them on a jelly roll pan with parchment paper (no mess!!). I did end up keeping them in for 60 minutes. Very good. Btw, if you want something crispy do not close it in a bag or tupperware or anything like that until thoroughly cooled. Else, as others have stated they will soften.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      These are quick and easy and so delicious! And did I mention addictive? My method is to roast the peas on a non-stick cookie sheet, stirring occasionally to keep them from sticking. After they are dry roasted, I pour them in a container, add 1/2 tsp olive oil plus chili power, salt, cayenne, and onion powder. Then shake, shake, shake! The oil helps the spices to stick to the peas and it's less messy than adding spices before/during the roasting. Also, I make sure to keep the lid off the container for about 1 hour after roasting so the steam won't cause the peas to soften. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Pretty tasty and you can adjust the seasonings to suit your taste. I cooked mine in my toaster oven, and they took about an hour and 5 minutes. Please watch these during the last 15 minutes of cooking, as they tend to go from golden and crunchy to dried out and burned without proper care. Next time I make these I'm trying curry flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      I like the idea but could not get them to get crispy even after toasting for over 1 hour at 350 F. I did add sea salt and black pepper to one batch of curry & garam masala and a second batch of cajun. Good flavor and great healthy snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      These did not out well.
      I cooked them longer like others suggested.
      I ended up throwing them out.
      It looks like you either love them or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I made these today - I love garbanzo beans! I think I might not have cooked them long enough - mine were brown but not really crispy - tasty though! the cajun seasoning I have has way too much salt - so I used cayanne pepper - paprika - and the garlic / onion powders - healthy tasty snack for sure! next time I make them, and I will, I will cook them a little longer - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This was super easy and a great yummy snack. I used Goya Adobo and a few other seasonings, yum, thanks! Made for the PARTY tag event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I sprayed a heavy rimmed cookie sheet with Pam and dry roasted the beans for 45 minutes - shaking pan every so often. Then I added a little olive oil and seasonings (garlic powder, red and black pepper, chili powder, coriander). I allowed to cool, tasting the beans often (of course!). They were good, but I thought that the flavor needed something. Then I followed an idea from another reviewer and squeezed a generous amount of lime juice over the beans and put them back in the oven for 15 minutes. Wow! The lime makes ALL the difference. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Mine turned out a bit soft on the inside, and that was fine by me. These are incredibly addictive. I made my own cajun spice blend just for this, and I'm super glad I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe. My husband would never eat anything that had a garbanzo bean in it. He ate the whole container of these yummy little things. I thought JanuaryBride had a good idea with the Greek seasoning which is what I tried. I thought the cajun would be too spicy for my kids. I dried them paper towels in the strainer and then put them on a nonstick pan for about 25 min to dry out a little before adding the spray and seasoning. Turned out perfect and very crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Good, but do not make my mistake of undercooking. The 1st time I did this I cooked them for 45 minutes and I thought they were all firm but not ALL of them were crispy. So I tried it again and the peas did get nice and crispy and were much better but very hard to spice up as the herbs don't adhere very well. I followed Redfarmgirl's instructions to add olive oil and then season but then the peas were a bit oily...but good. All in all, a good snack and very healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Beware!!! These are so addicting ... you can adjust the spicing for taste (more, less garlic powder) and for spiciness (more, less cayenne). You can vary the regional taste -- I've used wasabi powder to make these (got the idea from wasabi-covered peas) or, my new favorite, you can make harissa (several recipes here in zaar, or you can buy at a Middle-eastern store) and coat with that ... I use dried garbanzos, so I soak them the night before, but the idea is exactly the same. Mama's Kitchen, thanks so much for sharing ... and for setting me on a program of discovery!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      LOVE?THESE!!?Super easy and yummy. Texture very similar to corn nuts. I burned half mine and will cook for 30 minutes instead of 40. Seasoned with garlic, curry, chili, cayenne and cumin powders were AWESOME!! My intent was for a crisp topping to my Tomato soup, totally worked well there and now I'm making a big batch for the SuperBowl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      I made them per the recipe, with the exception of the cayene due to my spice challenged daughter, and was very pleased with the results. Next time I go the grocery I plan on picking up several cans of chickpeas and making a spicy batch just for me! (47)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Really tasty, I halved the recipe as I only had 1 can of chickpeas. This is a delicious healthy snack that I can happily munch on while surfing through Food.com

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Garbanzo Beans/Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.5
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    60%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 317.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes