18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this rice, served with Jerk Chicken, Caribbean Coleslaw, and a mango salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fyrfli February 29, 2012

Good, flavorful but next time will cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Picky Picky Eater July 06, 2011

Excellent rice dish! I made it as it, with the exception of the green onions but that's just because I forgot it. It's nice and spicy and flavorful! I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will have all the ingredients pre-prepared so I don't have to run around the kitchen so much! I served with roasted parmesan cauliflower and a cayenne/paprika rubbed beef roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQutie December 21, 2008

Oh boy is this AWESOME!! I made it as a side dish for chicken enchiladas and it was fantastic. A keeper!!! I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheeseburger in Paradise July 13, 2008

Very good rice that was so easy to make. I dont care for cilantro so I used parsley instead and a pinch of red pepper flakes for the cayenne. Loved the toasted nutty flavor! Served with Wildflour's Hacienda Pork Chops Grande!, topped with a bit of the sauce from the pork chops and enjoyed. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 29, 2008

5 stars from DH. He loved the taste of this rice. I don't really like cilantro so that's why it was not a real hit with me. I wanted to try but I knew that DH would like this LOL He's happy to have leftovers for his lunches. Thanks Mama. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 29, 2008

Delicious!!!! This tastes very similar to Qdoba's rice to me. I used 1/2 jalapeño pepper for the spice. I'll definitely make this time and time again, it was so easy! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 27, 2008

This was a nice side dish. I think my cilantro was losing it's oomph and my jalepeno wasn't so hot though. I think that made the difference on the rating. We still enjoyed it but it could have had a more full flavour but that, I'm sure, is totally the fault of my ingrediants. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes too adn try fresh chives instead of green onions. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 27, 2008

Very easy to make and delicious! I used brown rice, so added slightly more liquid and cooked for about 40 minutes. We don't like cilantro, so I left it out, and I also used chives instead of green onions. A great side dish that I will make again. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig June 15, 2008

I didn't have cilantro and accidently used diced yellow onion instead of green. I for got to saute the onion and garlic prior to adding the broth and then added hot pepper AND cayenne to the mix. With all those mistakes, you'd think it would turn out bad. But it was wonderful! Even with the additional hot pepper, it wasn't too hot. The rice had a kick but also had a lovely subtle flavor. It could accompany almost any dish. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle March 07, 2008
Rice Verde