Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Rice Verde Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Verde

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 29, 2012

      We loved this rice, served with Jerk Chicken, Caribbean Coleslaw, and a mango salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Good, flavorful but next time will cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Excellent rice dish! I made it as it, with the exception of the green onions but that's just because I forgot it. It's nice and spicy and flavorful! I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will have all the ingredients pre-prepared so I don't have to run around the kitchen so much! I served with roasted parmesan cauliflower and a cayenne/paprika rubbed beef roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Oh boy is this AWESOME!! I made it as a side dish for chicken enchiladas and it was fantastic. A keeper!!! I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Very good rice that was so easy to make. I dont care for cilantro so I used parsley instead and a pinch of red pepper flakes for the cayenne. Loved the toasted nutty flavor! Served with Wildflour's Hacienda Pork Chops Grande!, topped with a bit of the sauce from the pork chops and enjoyed. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      5 stars from DH. He loved the taste of this rice. I don't really like cilantro so that's why it was not a real hit with me. I wanted to try but I knew that DH would like this LOL He's happy to have leftovers for his lunches. Thanks Mama. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Delicious!!!! This tastes very similar to Qdoba's rice to me. I used 1/2 jalapeño pepper for the spice. I'll definitely make this time and time again, it was so easy! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This was a nice side dish. I think my cilantro was losing it's oomph and my jalepeno wasn't so hot though. I think that made the difference on the rating. We still enjoyed it but it could have had a more full flavour but that, I'm sure, is totally the fault of my ingrediants. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes too adn try fresh chives instead of green onions. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Very easy to make and delicious! I used brown rice, so added slightly more liquid and cooked for about 40 minutes. We don't like cilantro, so I left it out, and I also used chives instead of green onions. A great side dish that I will make again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I didn't have cilantro and accidently used diced yellow onion instead of green. I for got to saute the onion and garlic prior to adding the broth and then added hot pepper AND cayenne to the mix. With all those mistakes, you'd think it would turn out bad. But it was wonderful! Even with the additional hot pepper, it wasn't too hot. The rice had a kick but also had a lovely subtle flavor. It could accompany almost any dish. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was great. We ate it with Black eyed peas with herbs. We used brown rice instead of white so the rice wasn't green but it was great! If you use brown rice you'll hae to adjust the cooking time but it tasted really good and is healthier than white rice too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      This was good. I used brown rice so increased the cooking time and the water. Nice blend of flavors, especially love the cilantro. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Entire family enjoyed this for dinner tonight along with your Burrito Filling Burrito Filling. Delightful, quick and easy!! I had DD help make dinner and these were a great way to get her involved in the kitchen! (I did use a bit more Cayenne, we like it spicy and I didn't measure). Thank you! ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This was a very nice accompaniment to the Mexican Fish recipe I tried tonight for ZWT. I used brown rice so I increased the liquid ...2 cups chicken broth and 3/4 cup water and cooked for 45 minutes and it was cooked perfectly. The flavors are great and the rice is very pretty. I used a little more than 1/2tsp of cayenne and even that was a little hot for us, but we are known wimps! I served with the fish and plain, steamed broccoli which helped balance the spiciness. Next time, I'd try adding maybe some bell pepper and/or corn. This is an excellent side for Mexican food something to swap out with the usual tomato based Mexican/Spanish rice. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This was very nice with our Mexican dinner tonight. It was easy to make. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Nice and spicy rice, just what I like. It had just the right amount of heat to it. My family loved it served with Chicken wings. I will definitely make this again. Awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipes Mama.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Very nice rice! A bit spicy though for my sensitive taste buds and that's with only 1/2 tsp of cayenne. We still enjoyed the flavor explosions of eating this with Black Eyed Peas With Herbs. I made mine with the chicken broth option and doubled the green onions and garlic. Yum! I bet this would be good with some lemon or lime zest or juice as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      This was good. I'm always looking for ways to spruce up rice as a side dish. I served it with Cajun spiced red snapper... it may have been a little too much spice all together. I will make this rice again, with something else next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Verde

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.4
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    13%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites