Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Refried Beans Without the Refry

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2013

      I make my beans almost exactly this same way on the stove top, except I add serrano chili and 1 tsp. of ground cumin. I had not tried it in the crockpot before, because I didn't know how much water to add, but this was exactly the right amount of water, and now I can make it in the crockpot too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      This is our go to recipe for beans! They are even delicious unmashed. See my review of Simpy's Carnitas, Simpy's Carnitas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I doubled the garlic (which we love) but only used 1 jalapeno (we've had great jalapenos from the garden this year) and it was plenty hot. Diced the onion so it mixed in with the beans and left jalapeno in rings so that our family members with frequent heartburn can pick them out of need be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      I like the flavor and ease of this recipe. I almost just put it in the food processor, however did not. I like the texture that results from mashing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      This has got to be the easiest and healthiest way to make 'refried' beans without any loss of flavour. You just plop everything in your slow cooker and walk away. Mine were done after 6 hours on high, and they may have been done even sooner, I only checked them at the 6 hour mark. Just super!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      These were way too easy, flavorful and healthy, my husband and I both loved them! Thank you CaliforniaJan, I will be making these again and soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I made these in the pressure cooker. 35 minutes at 15lbs. I also added some chicken broth base in lieu of 2t of salt. Next time I may try ham broth base. I used the whole pepper, 'cause I love a little heat. They were very good, and I'll definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      These were yummy! I left out the jalapeno, since I was going to be serving my heat-leery kids, but even still this was a good solid recipe. I left some unmashed for burritos, and mashed some for Mexican Pinto Bean Dip. It worked beautifully for both. Thank you for posting. MAde for ZWT5, for the Groovy GastroGnomes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      These beans were very good texturally, but way too salty when following the recipe as described. I'll make again, but recommend leaving out the salt until the end and then adding to taste. I always try the recipe as described first, but wished I'd eased up on the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      These were excellent! So easy to throw together before leaving the house this morning. Husband and kids loved 'em! The question today was "to mash, or not to mash?" I left them unmashed pairing them with our quick and easy spinach chicken enchiladas, but will mash them for our tostado night next week. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This was so good. I worried that it would not have much flavor, but it most certainly did! I also used a whole jalapeno and added 1/2 of a small scallion. Served it with Healthy Baked Corn Tortilla Chips (Homemade) Thank you for posting! I made this for *Zaar World Tour 4* 2008 the Wild Card round *South and Central America* I'm playing on the team *Tastebud Tickling Travelers* Go team go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      We had Mexican night at my house and these beans were a great side dish! I love the fact that these beans are low fat. I don't feel so guilty as I am shoveling them in LOL. We loved them, and will have them again soon, as we have Mexican often. Thanks for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Such an easy way to make refried beans. Good flavor, no fuss. I used a cup of black beans and 2 cups of pinto beans and a whole jalapeno instead of a half, which was just right for us. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      These are fantastic! I almost forgot to throw them in the crock-pot this morning, they didn't make it in until about noon. I was worried, with the cook time being 8 hours, but they were done by 5:00 with no problem. I did boil the water before adding it to the crock-pot, because I was worried about the timing. I didn't add salt during cooking, because I've always heard cooking beans with salt toughens the skins. I added the salt at the end, and used less than 5 teaspoons. The flavor in this is absolutely perfect, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Nice flavor, easy too! I put all in the crockpot in the morning and in the afternoon we had this with rice and chile rellenos caserole. Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Refried Beans Without the Refry

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.4
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    11%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 571.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes