Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Raisin Oatmeal with Spices Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Raisin Oatmeal with Spices

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2003

      This is so easy and fast, I will never buy the flavored oatmeal from the store again! In my opinion, this has a much better texture also. I used rolled oats. I think next time I'll try milk instead of water too, because that is how I usually make the storebought kind. Thanks for the recipe. It is nice to be able to know what goes into my families meals (and to control the sugar amount!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I simply love jazzing up my oatmeal this way! Truly delicious flavor. The vanilla is really a nice touch. I eat a bowl of oatmeal nearly everyday in the winter. Usually just an ordinary bowl of oatmeal will do, but now I will have Raisin Oatmeal with Spices every now and then. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I am not going to rate this recipe because I changed it quite a bit. But I would like to leave some tips for anyone who might want to try it. I scaled the recipe down to 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1 cup water (based on the instructions on my oatmeal container) and omitted the salt in an effort to cut down on sodium. Since I didn't have nutmeg, I used 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice instead. I also used 1/2 tsp. vanilla for the scaled down recipe. (Technically, I should have used 1/3 tsp., but who has that kind of measuring spoon?) and 1 tablespoon brown sugar, just for sweetness' sake. After eating half of the oatmeal and finding it rather bland (as oatmeal should be, I guess), I added 1 tablespoon white sugar. I noticed that, not only did this make the oatmeal really sweet (just how I like it) but it also seemed to enhance the flavor of the spices. Thanks for the recipe, and sorry I changed it so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      My favorite oatmeal is raisin and spice and was really glad that I found a recipe so I could make my own. I love this recipe! I think it's better than the store bought. I play around with the spices sometimes, but this recipe is great anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Yum. This was one of the better oatmeal recipes I've tried!! The vanilla was a delicious addition...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Good but too much for two in my opinion. I did it in the microwave with no problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I cut this recipe down by 3/4- even half would have made way more than I could eat. I also replaced the nutmeg with ground cloves and replaced half of the water with skim milk. It turned out very well. I love the brown sugar topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Good recipe! I don't usually eat raisins but this sounded yummy! I used a homemade "cinnamon Splenda" mixture, used only a little Splenda brown sugar & scaled the recipe down for just a snack. I used milk instead of the water, too. I topped it with some vanilla yogurt & half a banana. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Tasty, spiced up version of porridge. Both DH and I enjoyed, DS was not too picky on it, but then again, its porridge in his eyes. Very nice....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Yummy! It's been too long since I've made oatmeal the "old fashioned way" - my kids didn't even know what non-envelope oatmeal looked like. This combination was a tasty start for them. We all enjoyed the flavor and texture. (Fast and easy to make, too.) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      This oatmeal was pretty good! I made my oatmeal over the oven and then I added all the spices and the vanilla like you said after the oats were done cooking. Next time, I would pulp up the raisins by either letting them sit in water over night or boiling then in the morning. I am sure that would go really well with this! Thanks for the recipe ChipotleChick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      I love oatmeal with the raisins cooked in it because they plump up so nice and pretty. This oatmeal tasted so good! Thanks and I'm happy to have picked you for the pick a chef game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      absolutely delish! I halved the recipie, added a few slices of dried apple and used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. It was the first time that i made oatmeal for myself and actually liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Raisin Oatmeal with Spices

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    97%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 93.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 28.8 g
    115%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites