13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so easy and fast, I will never buy the flavored oatmeal from the store again! In my opinion, this has a much better texture also. I used rolled oats. I think next time I'll try milk instead of water too, because that is how I usually make the storebought kind. Thanks for the recipe. It is nice to be able to know what goes into my families meals (and to control the sugar amount!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 April 26, 2003

I simply love jazzing up my oatmeal this way! Truly delicious flavor. The vanilla is really a nice touch. I eat a bowl of oatmeal nearly everyday in the winter. Usually just an ordinary bowl of oatmeal will do, but now I will have Raisin Oatmeal with Spices every now and then. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Treenie November 30, 2010

I am not going to rate this recipe because I changed it quite a bit. But I would like to leave some tips for anyone who might want to try it. I scaled the recipe down to 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1 cup water (based on the instructions on my oatmeal container) and omitted the salt in an effort to cut down on sodium. Since I didn't have nutmeg, I used 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice instead. I also used 1/2 tsp. vanilla for the scaled down recipe. (Technically, I should have used 1/3 tsp., but who has that kind of measuring spoon?) and 1 tablespoon brown sugar, just for sweetness' sake. After eating half of the oatmeal and finding it rather bland (as oatmeal should be, I guess), I added 1 tablespoon white sugar. I noticed that, not only did this make the oatmeal really sweet (just how I like it) but it also seemed to enhance the flavor of the spices. Thanks for the recipe, and sorry I changed it so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire October 14, 2009

My favorite oatmeal is raisin and spice and was really glad that I found a recipe so I could make my own. I love this recipe! I think it's better than the store bought. I play around with the spices sometimes, but this recipe is great anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iss January 26, 2009

Yum. This was one of the better oatmeal recipes I've tried!! The vanilla was a delicious addition...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lanchik in the city May 05, 2008

Good but too much for two in my opinion. I did it in the microwave with no problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha February 04, 2008

I cut this recipe down by 3/4- even half would have made way more than I could eat. I also replaced the nutmeg with ground cloves and replaced half of the water with skim milk. It turned out very well. I love the brown sugar topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay October 13, 2007

Good recipe! I don't usually eat raisins but this sounded yummy! I used a homemade "cinnamon Splenda" mixture, used only a little Splenda brown sugar & scaled the recipe down for just a snack. I used milk instead of the water, too. I topped it with some vanilla yogurt & half a banana. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS June 19, 2007

Tasty, spiced up version of porridge. Both DH and I enjoyed, DS was not too picky on it, but then again, its porridge in his eyes. Very nice....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany January 21, 2007

Yummy! It's been too long since I've made oatmeal the "old fashioned way" - my kids didn't even know what non-envelope oatmeal looked like. This combination was a tasty start for them. We all enjoyed the flavor and texture. (Fast and easy to make, too.) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windy_moon January 20, 2007
Raisin Oatmeal with Spices