Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2009

      This was really good. I chopped up the bell pepppers and sauteed with the other veggies (instead of stuffing them). I also used pine nuts (and put in more, maybe 2 T) and I used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne. I also added some minced garlic (2 cloves). I added the spaghetti sauce, no cheese. I did have to add some extra water while my quinoa was cooking, just a little over a T. Wonderful, flavorful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I loved the different ingredients that went into these vegetarian stuffed peppers. To add a little more protein we added a little TVP to the filling. The amount of seasonings was great. I did use a bit more spaghetti sauce and mixed it into the filling rather than just on top. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      These were fabulous! I am not a vegetarian, but I give up meat one month per year. My husband asked me to use fewer meat substitutes so I was pleased to come across this dish. I originally intended to use the spaghetti sauce and cheese but after preparing the filling, I decided they did not need it. I was right! My only changes to the recipe were to substitue pine nuts for sunflower seeds, and to add 1 tsp. of minced garlic. These are so good, I will add them to my repetoire during the year - even non-meatless months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This was great! I used purple Quinoa and added mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I absolutely adored this! my family was afraid to try it, but they ended up loving it as much as i did. It has a delicious ethnic flavor and let's me be vegan, without missing my father's traditional stuffed peppers! thank you so, so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I've made these once before and they were amazing. Like Sharon and LUv 2 BaKE, we changed it up a little. I use Zatarain's yellow rice instead of quiona. We also use Bocca crumbles and salsa in them. I suppose you could use whatever you like best. Thanks for putting your version on here though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Delicious! I really enjoyed this recipe. I used quinoa mixed with millet and opted to use the spaghetti sauce and parmesan. Thanks so much for a yummy vegetarian meal! Made for Please Review My Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Yum. Made with pine nuts as other suggested. Topped with a 4-cheese Italian cheese blend and it was delicious. I might add in veggie ground round next time. I agree it is versatile - you could add loads of veggies in. I don't like carrots but didn't notice them in this (good way to get ME to eat my carrots!). My 18 month old daughter even enjoyed the filling, and my husband says this recipe's a keeper. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I didn't have any marjorum, but the flavor was still fantastic! Can't wait to have more tomorrow!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Holy Moly! These peppers rocked! I'm always trying to find new ways of cooking quinoa and this recipe will be made regularly now. My bf, who does not like quinoa AT ALL, LOVED THEM! I did not use the sunflower seeds, I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth (I had some that needed to be used, I will try veg broth next time), used all red peppers, and topped the peppers with a marinara sauce. Man these things are GOOOOD :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This is delicious - and my husband and 10 year old daughter enjoyed it immensely. I used porcini mushroom spaghetti sauce and some provolone and mozzarella on top. I par boiled the peppers until quite tender before stuffing and baking. I ommitted the marjoram and cayenne at my husband's request. Thank you for sharing this - I will be making it again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      We do not like soft or mushy vegetables, so we didn't bother boiling these; we just cooked them to the extent that their time in the oven cooked them. They were perfectly done this way.<br/><br/>Sorry, we found them very bland. We hate spaghetti sauce, so we left off that optional ingredient. I had to cover them in freshly grated parmesan to give them flavor and that pretty much killed the low-cal aspect of the recipe. Unfortunately, I don't think we'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    22%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 229.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes