26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Rinse until water is clear, usually two or three times. Roast quinoa. Griil mushrooms prior to adding to quinoa. Add extra pepper and Greek seasoning. Add frozen veggies the last five minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula2006 August 24, 2012

This was my first taste of quinoa and I wasn't sure what to expect. The taste and consistency are reminiscent of brown rice. I added 5 small fresh basil leaves, 1 stalk of celery, and 1/2 of a green pepper, all minced. I didn't have any peas, so I used half a bag of frozen peas and carrots. We really enjoyed trying this new (to us) grain! I served this with baked salmon and it was the perfect accompaniment.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hippie2MARS July 30, 2012

I'm Asian and always go for the rice. But this quinoa recipe was super!!! I now can change my white rice to a healthy fiber full quinoa! Husband and son loves this. I followed everything to the T, just added some yellow pepper for color and used frozen mixed carrots/peas in place of canned peas. Oh, I also added to the 2 cups of boiling water a chicken bouillon cube, rounded up the whole recipe IMO. Enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabian August 31, 2013

I am new to quinoa so this was my third experiment with it. I did this but used vegetables I had on hand, carrots, onion and tomato and used half chicken stock/ half water. was very good and even my picky eaters ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smboule August 29, 2013

Ok so I'm giving this 4 stars for ease and directions but the family didn't enjoy it so it won't go on the rotation. That being said I can see why other reviewers loved this recipe. It's very flavorful and super easy. Thanks for giving me something new to try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish January 23, 2013

This was really tasty! I served it with tzatziki and grilled shrimp when a friend came over, and the meal was a huge success. I'm making this again today for lunch, and will be using this recipe more often, cause it's just that tasty and healthy. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATeenageChef February 02, 2012

This was really good. I used frozen peas instead of canned. It is a great place to start and bulid from there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 October 28, 2011

This is delicious, and a wonderful alternative to rice! As another reviewer mentioned, the mushrooms absolutely make the dish, so I wouldn't leave them out! I used 1 c water and 1 c veggie broth to add flavor, and followed up with healthy shakes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I was out of peas (doh!) so I used frozen mixed veggies and it worked out just fine! Thanks for posting. Made for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian April 05, 2010

Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO January 13, 2010

Delicious! As a main course, I would need to double it for my family of 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bncrush1 October 24, 2009
Quinoa Pilaf