Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Quinoa Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2012

      Rinse until water is clear, usually two or three times. Roast quinoa. Griil mushrooms prior to adding to quinoa. Add extra pepper and Greek seasoning. Add frozen veggies the last five minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      This was my first taste of quinoa and I wasn't sure what to expect. The taste and consistency are reminiscent of brown rice. I added 5 small fresh basil leaves, 1 stalk of celery, and 1/2 of a green pepper, all minced. I didn't have any peas, so I used half a bag of frozen peas and carrots. We really enjoyed trying this new (to us) grain! I served this with baked salmon and it was the perfect accompaniment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      I'm Asian and always go for the rice. But this quinoa recipe was super!!! I now can change my white rice to a healthy fiber full quinoa! Husband and son loves this. I followed everything to the T, just added some yellow pepper for color and used frozen mixed carrots/peas in place of canned peas. Oh, I also added to the 2 cups of boiling water a chicken bouillon cube, rounded up the whole recipe IMO. Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      I am new to quinoa so this was my third experiment with it. I did this but used vegetables I had on hand, carrots, onion and tomato and used half chicken stock/ half water. was very good and even my picky eaters ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Ok so I'm giving this 4 stars for ease and directions but the family didn't enjoy it so it won't go on the rotation. That being said I can see why other reviewers loved this recipe. It's very flavorful and super easy. Thanks for giving me something new to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This was really tasty! I served it with tzatziki and grilled shrimp when a friend came over, and the meal was a huge success. I'm making this again today for lunch, and will be using this recipe more often, cause it's just that tasty and healthy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      This was really good. I used frozen peas instead of canned. It is a great place to start and bulid from there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is delicious, and a wonderful alternative to rice! As another reviewer mentioned, the mushrooms absolutely make the dish, so I wouldn't leave them out! I used 1 c water and 1 c veggie broth to add flavor, and followed up with healthy shakes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I was out of peas (doh!) so I used frozen mixed veggies and it worked out just fine! Thanks for posting. Made for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Delicious! As a main course, I would need to double it for my family of 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I have never made quinoa before but this turned out wonderfully! I used Quinoa-Toasted#16399 to toast the quinoa and I did rinse it before toasting. I followed the instructions completely except I didn't have canned peas so I was going to use frozen and forgot to put them in. Made no difference it was still a wonderful dish. Served it with Sauteed Red Snapper With Ginger-Lime Butter#331585 and Cucumber, Tomato and Red Onion Salad#383990. Will definately make this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Not being a Quinoa fan, this was pretty good. I used bouillon instead of water and fresh sugar snap peas added just at the end, but it was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      was great 1st time quinoa for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Prior to preparing this recipe I was a quinoa virgin. This recipe was very easy (aside from the pain of washing the quinoa) and tastes incredible!!! We had chicken with this but I ate so much of the quinoa that I only ate a few bites of chicken. We have recently began a gluten-free, casein free diet so this looked like a good option for a side dish - it's definitely a keeper! My changes: I used two onions instead of a measured 1/2 cup and 0.5 pound of shiitake mushrooms instead of a measured 1/2 cup. I also sauteed in probably closer to two tablespoons of olive oil instead of two teaspoons. On the advice of other reviews, I added the peas at the very end after removing the quinoa. They stayed very green and crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Fantastic! I make mine with some celery. Gives it that sort of hint of a rice pilaf flavor. The peas were such a nice touch! Many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I cut this recipe in half because there were only two of us eating but I wish I had made the whole recipe because I really enjoyed it. Even though I cut the ingredients in half I did end up needing the full amount of water. I skipped the oil and did the veggies with a non-stick cooking spray and that worked well. I also stirred in a bit of vegetable stock powder to the water which added a nice depth of flavor. I skipped the salt because of that. It went very well with the fish we had tonight. Made for Market Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This is a great, healthy alternative to a rice side dish. I love quinoa, its texture, and how it adapts to any meat entree. Next time, I'll use chicken broth instead of water, add more garlic and maybe some shredded carrot. The flavor is very mild and doesn't overpower your entree. Thanks Toni! Made and reviewed for 2008 Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is a nice change from rice. I would add some spices or herbs next time (something to compliment the meat course). I used frozen peas and would add them near the end next time. I also used chicken broth instead of water, for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Great wholesome taste. Coulda used a bit more flavoring... I'll try a bit of chilli flower or lime zest with cilantro next time. Good with a tomato dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      i used frozen peas, all else as directed. was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Grains Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.6
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    22%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes