82 Reviews

Loved it. Used a can of drained diced tomatoes, but otherwise following the directions exactly.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 December 03, 2010

So easy and good to make. I used canned tomatoes and rotel but am excited to make this with fresh tomatoes, I'm sure it will be even better! We also made burritos out of this; put the salad in with some cheese (warm it up in the microwave or eat it cold - great both ways!) and add some sour cream. Very good!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life June 11, 2010

I didn't have scallions, so I used some chopped red onion. I added a little extra cumin and a dash of chili powder. This is excellent over baby spinach or as a dip with tortilla chips. Use it as a salsa in a wrap etc. DELICIOUS! Just don't try to eat it right away or you will be very disappointed. This needs several hours in the fridge for the flavors to meld & build. Definitely use FRESh ripe tomatoes and hot peppers! Canned=blech!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDMama April 28, 2010

What a tasty little salad. Easy to sub various things depending on what you have on hand. I love the mix of flavors as listed in the recipe, but I can see experimenting as well. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendywendy September 05, 2010

This was a great dish. I made an entree out of it and used a cup of quinoa (with 2 cups of broth), like other reviewers. I also followed other reviewers and doubled the spices and increased the lime (I used a whole one). I also used fresh tomatoes and toasted then rinsed the quinoa first. All the flavors go really well together in this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 24, 2011

4.5 Stars!! This was my first time using quinoa and it was a success! I doubled the dressing and added about 2/3 C of corn and it was amazing. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreia August 18, 2011

Wow, this is really really super! I doubled the cumin & coriander because 1/4 tsp didn't seem like much (and because I love cumin & coriander), and I used a can of diced tomatoes, drained. It turned out deliciously! Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJBG August 01, 2010

I rinsed and toasted the quinoa first; eliminated the bell peppers and subbed fresh corn instead; and drained and deseeded 6 romas for the 4 cups of diced tomato (oh, I also doubled the entire recipe when i made it for a function). This was such a refreshing spring/summer salad! A definite keeper!! Thanks so much for sharing - a real nice side dish to have in the recipe book!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 June 12, 2010

This was my first try with quinoa. I followed the other recipe/post that recommended rinsing thoroughly and toasting the quinoa. It tasted great. I doubled the quinoa because I felt like if it is called quinoa salad, I should see more quinoa in it. I also added a bit more cilantro. It was a great recipe and I will be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tandkbenson January 12, 2011

This is a great summery salad. It is easy and healthy. What more is there to say! I made it just as written (but with no cilantro because I just don't like it!) and served it on tortilla chips. It was wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender June 10, 2010
Quinoa Black Bean Salad