Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Quinoa Black Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Black Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2010

      Loved it. Used a can of drained diced tomatoes, but otherwise following the directions exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      So easy and good to make. I used canned tomatoes and rotel but am excited to make this with fresh tomatoes, I'm sure it will be even better! We also made burritos out of this; put the salad in with some cheese (warm it up in the microwave or eat it cold - great both ways!) and add some sour cream. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I didn't have scallions, so I used some chopped red onion. I added a little extra cumin and a dash of chili powder. This is excellent over baby spinach or as a dip with tortilla chips. Use it as a salsa in a wrap etc. DELICIOUS! Just don't try to eat it right away or you will be very disappointed. This needs several hours in the fridge for the flavors to meld & build. Definitely use FRESh ripe tomatoes and hot peppers! Canned=blech!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      What a tasty little salad. Easy to sub various things depending on what you have on hand. I love the mix of flavors as listed in the recipe, but I can see experimenting as well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      4.5 Stars!! This was my first time using quinoa and it was a success! I doubled the dressing and added about 2/3 C of corn and it was amazing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Wow, this is really really super! I doubled the cumin & coriander because 1/4 tsp didn't seem like much (and because I love cumin & coriander), and I used a can of diced tomatoes, drained. It turned out deliciously! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I rinsed and toasted the quinoa first; eliminated the bell peppers and subbed fresh corn instead; and drained and deseeded 6 romas for the 4 cups of diced tomato (oh, I also doubled the entire recipe when i made it for a function). This was such a refreshing spring/summer salad! A definite keeper!! Thanks so much for sharing - a real nice side dish to have in the recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      This was a great dish. I made an entree out of it and used a cup of quinoa (with 2 cups of broth), like other reviewers. I also followed other reviewers and doubled the spices and increased the lime (I used a whole one). I also used fresh tomatoes and toasted then rinsed the quinoa first. All the flavors go really well together in this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      This was my first try with quinoa. I followed the other recipe/post that recommended rinsing thoroughly and toasting the quinoa. It tasted great. I doubled the quinoa because I felt like if it is called quinoa salad, I should see more quinoa in it. I also added a bit more cilantro. It was a great recipe and I will be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This is a great summery salad. It is easy and healthy. What more is there to say! I made it just as written (but with no cilantro because I just don't like it!) and served it on tortilla chips. It was wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      So good!! Love this one. Just made it and now I'm sitting here eating it ;). My very first experience with quinoa...wasn't sure from the directions how to "cook the quiona" if you boiled it until it was done like pasta, or if you just cooked it until the water was absorbed like rice. I cooked it until the water was absorbed and it was perfect. Substituted red onion, red bell pepper, can of Mexi diced tomatoes and added corn. LOVE IT! Thanks MDMAMA.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Delicious and light. I used a little extra lime juice, coriander, and cumin, and replaced the bell pepper with corn. This was so easy to make...I bet I'll make it again later this week (a double batch this time). Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Oh my goodness - this was goooood!! I have never tried quinoa before but thought I'd take a leap this week - what a tasty little grain! Fresh lime juice is an absolute must - made everything as directed (toasting the quinoa first), then served over spring greens. Thanks for sharing this flavorful recipe and turning me on to a new healthy grain!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This was yummy! I have had quinoa before, but never cooked it. I added more lime juice than called for. My quinoa package called for 1 1/3 cups of water to 1 cup of quinoa so I followed that and glad I did ... it turned out perfect. It probably made more than was needed but I mixed it all in anyway. i have snacked on this over the past 3 days. Will make it many times again I'm sure! thx for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This is the most flavorful quinoa dish I've ever had! We followed the recipe pretty closely - only differences were that we toasted the quinoa first, and we used mexican flavored rotel in lieu of plain diced tomatoes. It was very easy to make - and I was conveniently able to prepare it ahead of time. All we had to do when company arrived was sautee the shrimp!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      i would tend to agree with everyone else, but drain the tomatoes so the salad does not become too liquidy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      This was wonderful; I will definitely be making it again. Next time, I think I will add some corn to it, as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Woowoo, I'm 1st... fast, easy, delicious, and GONE. Even The Picky One liked this. Go figure. If you don't have fresh tomatoes & jalapenos, a can of Rotel works very well. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2014

      This was very tasty -- my husband suggested it was like ceviche without the fish! And, like ceviche, it's a perfect recipe for a hot, steamy day. However, I made a couple of modifications and a couple of suggestions: First the modifications:<br/>1. I increased the dressing by half, thinking that it might be too dry otherwise; I believe that helped the flavor considerably..<br/>2. We like things spicy (but not too!) so I added a whole minced jalapeno (seeds and ribs removed, of course).<br/>As to suggestions, I think the quinoa should have been cooked in less water as it came out a bit moist, Other recipes I've made use 1 cup quinoa to 1-1/4 cups water. I also think more quinoa could have been used -- maybe half a cup instead?<br/>Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      Very easy to make! I added a bit more lime juice, cumin and coriander prior to serving. My super picky kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Black Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.1
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    12%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites