8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was quite tasty -- I enjoyed it. Fresh and summery. When I make this again the only thing I'll do differently will be to reduce the vinegar (I found it a bit too tangy for my taste). Thanks for a good quinoa recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner July 30, 2003

I really liked all of the ingredients that went into this dish but the apple cider vinegar was too over powering. I would have halved the amount that is recommended. I would have added more of the all spice and perhaps some ginger. I will definitely make this again with these changes. It was very quick, easy and light....great for summer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marikaki August 25, 2012

This was very good ~ I was a bit skeptical at first, but the flavors are excellent. I used red quinoa, and had to use regular apple juice as I had no concentrate. I did add a bit of salt as suggested. I definitely like this well chilled. Thanks DiB's for a great new quinoa recipe. Made for ZAAR COOKBOOK TAG, February 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative February 28, 2010

I have enjoyed this thoroughly. I too reduced the vinegar and it was quite tangy enough- although it did tone down in the refrigerator ater a bit- this "rest" also helped mellow the garlic. I had some jicama that needed to be used, so I slivered it and tossed it in and it was another sweet/crispy addition. Don't forget to add a sprinkle of salt- it really made all the flavors pop. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scout33 June 06, 2008

I liked this salad. Unusual flavor combination and very nutritous and healthy. I would make it again but with slightly reduced vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msmia August 31, 2006

Made this for Father's Day and we all really enjoyed it. I loved that it is so low in calories and fat and tastes great! Taking a cue from the other reviewers, I started out with just 1/4 cup of vinegar but found that it needed the full 1/3 cup for my taste. Also a very nice apple flavor from the concentrate combined with the fresh apples. Used just a sprinkle of salt. Thanks for the recipe DiB's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 June 19, 2005

The flavors in this salad melded joyfully in this fresh summery salad. Yep, it was quite tangy but I liked the contrast between the acidity of the vinegar and the sweetness of the apples and carrots. Poached a chicken breast in some apple juice and allspice to top the salad and made it a brunch entree. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni November 14, 2004
Quinoa-Apple Salad