Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Quinoa and Barley Breakfast Porridge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa and Barley Breakfast Porridge

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2009

      This was horrible. There was no amount of seasoning or additives that could make it taste like anything other than dirt. I love barley and I love quinoa, but this recipe did nothing for either of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Such a simple, cheap, healthy, and tasty breakfast! I add something diffrent every day. To save time, I cook a double batch on Sundays and then warm a little in the microwave each morning. My favorite is to add blueberries with cinnamon & honey, my DH like maple syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I have recently discovered quinoa and I love its texture and flavor. Just MAKE SURE you rinse it!! This recipe is better than oatmeal. I added raisins, cinnamon and agave nectar (natural sweetener.) I also added soy milk after it was prepared. I stayed full long after oatmeal wears off. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Like so many home cooks I had quinoa & barley in my pantry but was at a loss as to how to better incorporate these grains into daily use. With this recipe I have achieved this. In a pan I gently heated butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, fresh squeezed orange juice, raisins, nutmeg, pecans, and a grated apple until it lightly browned. I added this to my Q&B...I can't express how uttely delicious it was. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Well, I tried this to mix up my daily oatmeal, but I think I prefer the taste of oatmeal. I cooked it in the crock pot and it did absorb all the water but I think it could have done with less. It might have had more texture. If I make it again I'd probably try 3 cups of water instead of 4 since water doesn't escape from a crock pot like cooking over a stove top. I grated in an apple, salt, cinnamon and splenda. One thing that it has over oatmeal is that I found it to be more filling. That's why I give it 4 stars instead of 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This was very good! I love barley and had never had quinoa although I had remembered seeing it in the stores. However when I went to buy it I couldn't find it. I rinsed it off first like the directions say plus I made it in the recipe in my crockpot. I added brown sugar, almonds and cinnamon to the mixture. Then when I ate it I also added a pat of butter. Very filling and hearty. Made for Healthy ABC tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      This was a very hearty breakfast. I used brown rice syrup, but next time I may use some brown sugar and fruit. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I did this 2 days ago using barley and some buckwheat groats (what I had at hand) and was pleasantly suprised by it. I used the crockpot method (sprayed with Pam first) starting it at 10:30pm and turning it off at 7am. The water was gone, but it wasn't dry and the texture was good also. I also had no problem with cleaning the crockpot afterwards. After tasting it first, I decided to have a bowl with some butter and salt and pepper on it, and it made a good, hearty breakfast for a cold morning. This morning, I sauted some diced onions in some butter and then added a few spoons of this with some S&P and let it cook until the bottom got browned, then put an egg on top. Not quite corned beef hash, but tasty all the same, and a little ketchup was good with it. Thanks for a good, hearty, easy and inexpensive breakfast recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

    • on January 17, 2008

      I made this in the crockpot with some changes, and need to adjust it some more, but it's just the change from oatmeal I was looking for! My crockpot cooks in about half the time many recipes call for, so I set it up on a timer to cook for 4 hours on low. The grains were done, but it was watery. (I turned it on high with the lid off for about an hour to cook off some of the excess liquid, so it was too late for our breakfast today, but I sampled a few bites.) Next time, I'll reduce the water by 1/2-1 cup and cook 4-5 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This porridge is delicious! I wasn't sure what to expect, but the flavor and consistency is excellent. I added maple syrup, some raisins and cinnamon. This is a keeper.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      This was cooked in the crockpot and made a very filling breakfast that lasted throughout the morning. At serving, I tossed in some dried cranberries, added 1 1/2 teaspoons of Baking Spice Blend Mix, drizzled a touch of maple syrup over each serving, topped with non-fat plain yogurt and a sprinkling of sliced almonds. A nice change from oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      I was so excited about this when I came across the recipe. I used the crockpot method & let it cook overnight... about 7 hours. Made exactly as directed. The contents was just mush. There was no texture to the dish at all as it was almost in a liquid state. I will try to make again on the stovetop & see if that works out better. Sorry...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Like others, I found this a delightful variation on my morning hot cereal. At the end of 40 minutes, I found the barley was more than chewy and the mix was quite dry more what you would find in a sidedish. Added about 1/4 of soy milk and let it cook five minutes. That gave the grain the desired doneness and the dish a silky creaminess. A bunch of blueberries, a little cinnamon and the day was off to a great start. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Delicious!! I am always looking for new ways to use quinoa, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. I used pearled barley and it worked perfectly. We loved the chewiness that the barley added to the porridge. After cooking, I added dried cranberries, milk, brown sugar, and PaulaG's Baking Spice Blend Mix. The possibility for additions are endless! Thank you for giving me another delicious way to prepare quinoa. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Mmmm what a lovely breakfast! I have porridge pretty often and this made a really nice change. I halved the recipe (which still made two generous portions) however it cooked quite a bit quicker (about 20-25mins) and needed less water than the 2 cups I used. I will probably try 1.5cups next time and see how it goes. I served it up with agave syrup, dried fruit and some sliced almonds. Lovely! I made the recipe as stated but couldn't get hulled barley at the store so had to use pearled. It didn't matter though as it worked really well anyway. This was delicious and uber-healthy. I'll definitely be having it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      What a delicious breakfast! A great change from oatmeal. This one is going in the "motorhome" cookbook, since it would work well in a crockpot and a hearty breakfast would be ready in the morning! We added dried cherries, walnuts, yogurt and cinnamon, but this lends itself to MANY additions! Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa and Barley Breakfast Porridge

    Serving Size: 1 (297 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.9
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    84%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 50.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites