Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Quick-n-Zingy Orange Porridge (2-ingredients) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick-n-Zingy Orange Porridge (2-ingredients)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2003

      This was a tasty, intensely orange porridge. A great way to start my day! I microwaved for 2 minutes 45 seconds. Thanks for the idea -- now I will have to try this with other kinds of juice! UPDATE: I have made this more than once, also trying apple juice instead of orange juice. I find that half water and half juice is what I like best -- not overly intense, but still with a nice fruity flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      A poetic name this wonderful porridge does have! I started off my day with this today and loved the citrusy flavour it had. I used fresh orange juice(of 2 oranges).I microwaved the oats and juice mixture on HIGH for a total of 3 minutes. I didn't have it with any fruits, I just enjoyed it hot by itself:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I enjoyed this and used fresh squeezed juice and topped it with a diced apple - made a great snack after my gym session - so quick too !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      When making this recipe, I used fresh squeezed juice from navel oranges & didn't find the OJ overpowering! Also stirred in some dried cranberries just before eating! Thanks for a very enjoyable breakfast! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Keeping in mind the reviews that said the orange flavor was too intense, I did what Chef #48136 did and used 1/3 cup of cold water and 1/3 cup of juice. I microwaved it for a minute and a half total, stopping a couple of times to stir. The consistency seemed right after a minute and a half. It made for a delightfully different-tasting bowl of oat bran. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      This sure is filling. I couldn't eat all of my breakfast after eating this. I found that I could barely taste the orange at all. It's certainly worth a go. I'm going to try with other juices to see what they are like

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      I thought this would be a good way to start my day before a 5k walk. It was hearty but, like Paula, I think the orange taste was too strong. Interesting way to try oat bran, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      I'm sorry we just didn't care for this. The orange flavor was way to strong. I prefer oat bran a little creamy. It did cook in my microwave in the time frame specified.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick-n-Zingy Orange Porridge (2-ingredients)

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.7
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    15%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites