9 Reviews

This was a tasty, intensely orange porridge. A great way to start my day! I microwaved for 2 minutes 45 seconds. Thanks for the idea -- now I will have to try this with other kinds of juice! UPDATE: I have made this more than once, also trying apple juice instead of orange juice. I find that half water and half juice is what I like best -- not overly intense, but still with a nice fruity flavour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner July 04, 2003

A poetic name this wonderful porridge does have! I started off my day with this today and loved the citrusy flavour it had. I used fresh orange juice(of 2 oranges).I microwaved the oats and juice mixture on HIGH for a total of 3 minutes. I didn't have it with any fruits, I just enjoyed it hot by itself:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani November 02, 2002

I enjoyed this and used fresh squeezed juice and topped it with a diced apple - made a great snack after my gym session - so quick too !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew August 31, 2009

When making this recipe, I used fresh squeezed juice from navel oranges & didn't find the OJ overpowering! Also stirred in some dried cranberries just before eating! Thanks for a very enjoyable breakfast! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 22, 2009

Keeping in mind the reviews that said the orange flavor was too intense, I did what Chef #48136 did and used 1/3 cup of cold water and 1/3 cup of juice. I microwaved it for a minute and a half total, stopping a couple of times to stir. The consistency seemed right after a minute and a half. It made for a delightfully different-tasting bowl of oat bran. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner January 24, 2009

This sure is filling. I couldn't eat all of my breakfast after eating this. I found that I could barely taste the orange at all. It's certainly worth a go. I'm going to try with other juices to see what they are like

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timelord August 28, 2005

I thought this would be a good way to start my day before a 5k walk. It was hearty but, like Paula, I think the orange taste was too strong. Interesting way to try oat bran, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit October 16, 2004

I'm sorry we just didn't care for this. The orange flavor was way to strong. I prefer oat bran a little creamy. It did cook in my microwave in the time frame specified.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 13, 2004

Easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexis2 June 13, 2003
Quick-n-Zingy Orange Porridge (2-ingredients)