Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Quick and Easy Salsa With Black Beans and Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick and Easy Salsa With Black Beans and Corn

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

      Very good salsa. I found that it improved a lot over time. Seemed to peak around the 3rd day in the fridge. Still thought it needed a little something, so I added some salt, pepper and a little chipotle seasoning. Overall an extremely good base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Fresh, healthy, and easy. This is a great recipe that I make often now and usually double. I use fresh tomatoes instead of the canned, add lots of cilantro just because I like it, and almost double the corn.

      I agree with someone's post that the flavor peaks around day 3. For those who are sensitive to spicy foods, you may want to reserve the jalapeño seeds and add to taste in the end...although I don't find this salsa particularly spicy.

      I scoop it out with tortilla chips or arrange a plate of tortilla chips and shredded cheese pop it into the oven to melt and then pour the salsa over it. Easy.

      Thanks very much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Very easy but delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies and omitted the jalapenos. It had a perfect amount of bite for us but was a bit spicy for the kids. Next time I'd drain some of the juice from the tomatoes, since it was slightly too watery. Served it as a side dish with fish tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I doubled this recipe for a carry in, and added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt, an entire 15 oz can of black beans and 16 oz bag of frozen corn. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      I was looking for recipes to use the cilantro that's growing so well in my herb garden. I had just about everything I needed in my pantry to try this so I did! Wonderful! As my husband said, "this is TOO good!" I had a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos so I used that. I did not have a red onion but I did have shallots so I diced a large shallot. I used a little more corn & beans than the recipe specified; and about 1/2 tsp kosher salt. This will become a summer staple in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

    • on July 11, 2010

    • on June 13, 2010

      Yum! So good. I made this for a BBQ and it all went. The first batch I made I took the seeds out of the jalapeno and it was quite mild - so second batch I made it as specified plus added some salt and the people who like spicier salsa really liked this version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      I absolutely loved this recipe and it's versatility! I made the first batch exactly as specified, second batch (after the first went so fast) with mainly canned goods and added jalapenos, and the last batch as specified but w/ fresh jalapenos, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper and chili sauce. I blame the guys here for the last one b/c they said it needed to be spicier! I thought the first batch tasted the best for someone who doesn't like the spice to overpower the dish. The guys liked the spiced up version the best. Through all 3 versions though, it got eaten very quickly, to the last drop! I will definitely be making this next party I have. It was a complete hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Wow this was really good. Everyone has different tastes and for me I love sauteing onions. So I did do that and I added a little garlic. I served it cold and chicken sandwiches. Later I blended it and we used it for a dip. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I have been devouring this stuff since I made it for a party last week. What a simple and flavorful salsa! I added 2 jalepnos to mine, some red pepper flakes, and a little habenero sauce...yes, I have a death wish.... and I used dried cilantro because it was all I had on hand and a little more cumin. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      This is VERY yummy! I doubled the recipe and took it to a fundraising hoedown and got a LOT of compliments on it. I made it as posted but added some chopped cilantro (because I love the stuff!). Thanks for posting this- it's a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      My neighbor made this for part of a post-surgery dinner she brought over. It was SO yummy! She made a few changes: cherry tomatoes instead of canned, roasted corn on the cob for the corn, and roasted bell peppers. She also used a splash of Chinese vinegar (rice?) which gives a slight hint of sweetness. I could eat this as a main dish every night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      YUM! Quick, easy, and delicious! Thanks! (I used canned Mexicorn instead of Frozen Corn.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Ok yeah, this was really good. My husband isn't home from work yet, hopefully there will be some left for him to try. I can already tell though that he'll want a bowl of this in the fridge at all times. I used a can of tomatoes with diced chilis AND a jalapeno and dried cumin and cilantro. Reeealllly good stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      This stuff is DELICIOUS!! I've had it as salsa, but I also used it to make crab quesadillas. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Very fresh! I made this twice in one day because it was gobbled up so quickly. The first time, I made it as written. The second time, I was out of canned diced tomatoes so I diced up 4 fresh Roma tomatoes. I also added a couple dashes of hot sauce to kick it up. Great salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      What's not to love about this beyond delightful, easy as feezy to prepare, and healthy too, black bean and corn salsa. Oh if life could be as wonderful as this. The colors are so vibrant and taste so smooth together just begging you to grab a spoon and eat it directly out of the bowl you mixed it in. I had everything on hand, and I didn't even realize it. I followed this exactly as written except a couple of cucumbers jumped ship from the salad in the fridge and nestled their way into the salsa. Perfect combination of flavors, beautiful eye appeal and good for your tummy too! Thanks for this great salsa and will make this often this summer, Toni! Made for just the heck of it, May 2008,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      I'll add my 5 starts to this great recipe. The flavors were perfect. Texture was perfect. What more could you ask for. I made as directed except I used dry cilantro flakes since I didn't have the fresh and added a little more of the black beans since I love them. Thanks Toni for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Loved this! The cumin and lime give it a tangy smokey flavor while it gets a great texture from the beans and corn. This would be great for a party! Thanks Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick and Easy Salsa With Black Beans and Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 45.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    87%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 61.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites