Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pureed Squash Butternut, Acorn Any Hard Winter Squash! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pureed Squash Butternut, Acorn Any Hard Winter Squash!

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      I always worry about halving the winter squash before roasting it in preparation for recipes - this is the solution! Who knew you could bake it whole? Now, I have to admit, I didn't puree the skin on - I peeled it off, but that's an easy job. I made two butternut squash, and got four 1 1/2 cup baggies of pureed squash, using my food processor. This is so easy, and I can't see myself doing it any other way from her on in! I used some to make Brown Butter Spice Cake - delicious - and I can definately say that wouldn't have been made today if not for this recipe! Thanks, Rita~! Made for Veggie Swap 30 - January 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      What?! Puree it with the skin on?! That's what I was thinking, but then I thought, hey, a little extra fiber can only be good. And so it was. I chopped off the bit of stem, the bit at the bottom, and of course removed the seeds -- but the regular food processor handled my butternut squash just perfectly - skin and all. So simple, and who would have thought...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I cooked my butternut squash this way last night and it was amazing! It sliced so easily and the seeds came out effortlessly! I'm so glad to have this trick, thanks for posting Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This is a GREAT technique! I grew butternuts in my garden this year and was wondering what to do withthem. I roasted 3 of them at the same time. Super easy! I pureed them skin and all in my food processor. It was quick and the skin blended right in! I froze them in 2 c. increments. This will be great for soups and breads! Thanks so much for the great tip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Hey, lady! Lady! Thanks for the tip!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Are you kidding me with this??? Who knew that you could just put a pumpkin in the oven and it would be ready in an hour. For goodness sakes, I will never buy pumpkin in a can again! I used 2 small pumpkins which must have been 2 different varieties (one from the local patch and one from my coop organic box) because 1 had a super soft skin and I could puree it and the other was harder than a rock (and when I cut it open the pumpkin just fell off the skin into the center which was very cool). Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This was wonderfully easy! I just mashed ours with a fork instead of pureeing it. Really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This was so easy. I actually didn't use the skin because I only have a food processor and wasn't sure if the old thing could puree it small enough. I put 5-7 squash on a cookie sheet and do this...sometimes it takes a bit longer. I freeze it in different size amounts and use it anywhere pumpkin or squash is called for. I also use it as a fat substitute (like applesauce) it works very well in any baked goods I have ever used it in. If you grow squash in your garden and have a great crop this is a sneaky way to use it without everybody saying "not again".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Great idea! And for those who love pumpkin pie, winter squash is so close to it, you can easily make pies & muffins with it. Thanks for the baking tips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Thank you, thank you, thank you...My neighbor brought over 5 acorn squash and I really didn't want to even cut them in half. I just wanted to put them on a tray in the oven and bake them. Your recipe gave me the confidence to do just that! I didn't puree the skins (it seemed like that would work better with butternut squash). I made Kittencal's Delicious Acorn Squash Soup(71141)--yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This could NOT have been any easier! I roasted an acorn squash & a butternut squash. Both came out perfect. I then mashed some of each w/a bit of half-n-half and butter. Like mashed potatoes only way healthier!! I can't wait to go buy more squash to roast a bunch to freeze. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Super easy. I composted the skin instead of using it, but this is the easiest way to cook hard winter squash I've found. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I can't believe how great this worked! I had a huge Hubbard ~ 7lbs. I just stuck it in the oven and 2 hours later it was done. I easily scooped out the flesh and froze it as is. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Wow, I can't believe I forgot to rate this. I processed 2 butternut and 1 acorn using your method. I have since used it in pie recipes and it has been fantastic. I love the fact that you don't have to cut through the skin while it's hard--it's so much easier to handle when it's soft from cooking. I did use a regular blender (I'd love a Vita-Mix, I just can't justify it, yet!) and it took a little work to get the skin all chopped up (note to self: don't stick a wooden spoon down into the blades...), but it did eventually whip up beautifully. I love that this recipe uses the skin as well as the flesh. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I use this recipe all the time! It works great even for the bigger Kabochas (bake time is a little longer). On tall Kabochas I wrap the stem in foil to prevent burning, then rotate about halfway for even baking. The flesh comes out so tender it just melts away and mashes easily with a spoon. Just posted about this recipe on my garden blog, thank you Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      this was a great way to cook the squash, no fighting with the peel. It cooked up perfect and is waiting in the freezer to use later. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Perfect. I gashed the skin, as I was afraid it would blow up in the oven, my knife was not sharp enough to remove the top. Used to make your Sweet Acorn Squash And Apple Soup I would use this anytime I want pureed squash as it definitely seems like the best way

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Perfect squash. i had a couple of squash of unknown (to me) variety. When i smelled the caramelising, i pulled them from the oven. If i had turned them over, the other side might have caramelised a bit; worth trying because the skin pulls away by itself! i mashed (not being in my own kitchen and having appliances) them with a tbsp. butter, tsp. demerara sugar, freshly ground pepper. Scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I used this method for making your Butternut Pie With or Without Crust. Perfect and so simple. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was as easy as calling my mother, who also lives in Edison! (and told me I could also do this in the pressure cooker) I have lots of butternut squash and cheese pumpkins to use that I got from my farm share at Rutgers. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pureed Squash Butternut, Acorn Any Hard Winter Squash!

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    88%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 66.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites