17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good idea but definitely not the recipe for us. Even after quadrupling the sugar (used real sugar- no artificial sugar in this house), adding copious amounts of nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla, all we can taste is pumpkin. No sweet, no spice, just pumpkin. But I like the idea so I'll play with the amounts. Thanks for the idea though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsHudson August 31, 2011

Very tasty breakfast. I cooked this in the microwave for about 5 minutes and it worked well. Also, I added ground flax, stevia, pecans, cinnamon, and milk instead of water. It was a nice change from my regular oatmeal and I'd definitely make it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest February 14, 2010

What a fantastic idea! I had some leftover canned pumpkin from another recipe and thought it might be good in oatmeal. I wanted a simpler recipe than the others I found on Zaar and this one fit my needs perfectly. I used quick-cooking oats and skipped the sweetener (I'm cutting back on real and artificial sugars). I was in a hurry, so I used the microwave with good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( February 02, 2010

I am still getting used to pumpkin in oatmeal -- but this was very good! I left out the cardamom, as I didn't have any, so it could have used a bit more spice. I used two packets of Splenda and one packet of instant oatmeal, 2/3 cup water, and 1/2 cup of pumpkin. I microwaved it for a minute and a half and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner March 08, 2009

I made half of this exactly as directed without any substitutions. It was very filling although I probably wouldn't make it again - I just didn't appreciate the flavors in the oatmeal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 15, 2009

This is very good. In trying to get the kids a hot breakfast every morning before school, we end up eating a lot of oatmeal, because it's quick to make, and it sticks with them for a long time. We made this with the milk option. We used some maple syrup and brown sugar to sweeten, and made a big pot of this. I didn't want any little bits of leftover pumpkin, so we just made a large batch to use the whole can and now have leftover oatmeal, which I think will also be good cold, like a pudding. I also used the individual spices rather than pumpkin pie spice, but found the cloves too strong in this, so I'll just use a pinch next time, or leave it out. I like it in pie, but in the hot oatmeal, it just seemed to overpower. I did add the chopped walnuts another reviewer mentioned. That turned out very good. I'd like to toast the walnuts and sprinkle them on top with some brown sugar next time! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SrtaMaestra September 18, 2008

Good idea to add pumpkin to the oats. We eat oatmeal a lot and I'm always looking for new ways to change it. This is great! I don't have pumpkin pie spice so I used some cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. Maybe tomorrow we'll try adding some chopped walnuts...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife September 17, 2008

YUM! I used soymilk and brown sugar in this recipe and it was great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granolahead456 September 14, 2008

I love oatmeal and am always looking for more ways to use it, and this was fantastic. I used half water and half unsweetened almond breeze, and cinnamon sugar instead of splenda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
analog kid August 21, 2008

We love pumpkin and are trying to eat more oatmeal, so glad to find this creative recipe. Yummy with milk and maple syrup on the side. A hearty, healthy breakfast. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin May 23, 2008
Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal