Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Properly Prepared Spaghetti Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Properly Prepared Spaghetti Squash

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      So easy and yummy! I had to cook mine about 45 minutes at 360. We had it with my spaghetti sauce and a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. It was great!! I had some leftover squash cold today with my lunch and it was really good that way as well. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Outstanding! This is by far the best way I've found to prepare spaghetti squash. We only had minced garlic, so we just spread a bunch of that inside the halves, and it worked out well. Other than that minor change, we followed the recipe as written. The strands weren't mushy, and we served them with a tomato-based meat sauce. My six-year-old scarfed it right up - I may never serve regular spaghetti again! We also had a good bit left to freeze, which is always nice. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This is the best way to prepare spaghetti squash. The oven roasting gives a better flavor and texture than microwaving it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      Three cheers for using the technical term "squash poop!" This is the perfect method for cooking the squash. And thanks for the tomato sauce tip. I always wondered what I was doing wrong! Here's a tip from me: If you can't safely cut through the raw squash (either due to lack or arm strength or lack of proper cutting tools) you can bake the squash right on the oven rack for thirty minutes BEFORE you cut it open and complete the rest of the cooking process. Just be sure to let it cool before you cut it open or you can seriously burn yourself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      I have made spaghetti squash many times, but when using it as a pasta substitute it always failed because it was so watery. I used to bake it rind side up because that is what all the instructions I saw online said to do. I decided to try it this way, and sprinkling the inside with salt and baking it pulp side up seems to make the squash perfect! Thank you so much for this way of preparing it! I cut the squash in half, sprinkled it with salt and pepper and garlic powder (I was too lazy to deal with real garlic), and rubbed it down with oil. I baked it at 350 for about 45 minutes, at which point there was a pool of liquid in the bowl of the squash. I poured it out and baked it another half an hour, then let it sit on the counter to cool. The sweetness of the squash went perfectly with the bite of this: http://www.food.com/recipe/creamy-sun-dried-tomato-roasted-red-pepper-and-artichoke-pasta-52282

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      I came upon this recipe about a month ago and have already used it countless times. The hardest part is cutting that darn squash. I use butter and olive oil to coat the insides. So versatile in so many dishes and so delicious as is. A definite keeper. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I'm a believer - thanks for a perfect recipe! This has MUCH better flavor and texture than traditional steaming -- I'll always do it this way now. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Thanks. Now I don't have to look it up every time I make it. Each time I would look it up it seemed to have different directions on cooking. This is perfect every time. No more yucky hard strands

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Thanks! I've never attempted making it this way, always wanted to try. It really is NOT mushy doing it this way, in fact I think I could have cooked it a little longer. Or, could have scraped it all out and put it in a casserole back into the over for a bit. Everyone really enjoyed it though - simple and light. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      I have tried spaghetti squash before and I did not like anything about it. I found myself with a few more and discovered your recipe. It is like a different product. I am a convert. Your recipe is excellent. Thank You.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      This is THE best way to cook spaghetti squash! It had great texture, flavor and wasn't mushy or watery like when you bake it in water or microwave.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Brilliant! Spaghetti squash tastes totally different when prepared this way. I used to do it in the microwave and it was always so mushy. Once this is prepared it can be served in endless ways. I always buy a large squash for the two of us and serve it different ways during the week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Sorry, but wasn't impressed. My squash took forever to cook (55-60 minutes) and none of us thought it tasted better or had a better consistency than when I cook it in the microwave. There's nothing "wrong" with the recipe hence the 4 stars. I just don't like to run my oven for an hour when I can get the same results in the microwave in 15 minutes. I will be using How to Cook Spaghetti Squash again from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      This will be my new favorite way to roast spaghetti squash. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I need to cook it for about 15 mins longer at 350. After it was cooked, I took the roasted garlic and made a paste that I rubbed on chicken. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      On 2/10/14 I sort of made this as it was written, there were a few changes made but I'm pretty sure that they didn't change the taste of the finished product. After discarding the " poop " (I really like that term :) ),the inside was brushed with canola oil then seasoned with S & P, and garlic powder (no fresh garlic).Then baked the squash at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. Then I shredded some of the flesh, added a bit of water, covered with foil and baked for another 30 minutes. Before trying this recipe, I've never had spaghetti squash and I sure wish that I had tried it before now. :) Thanks for posting a recipe that will be made again. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Great and easy recipe! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      This was so delicious! I'm never making it any other way! We really love garlic, so this was just a feast for us. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      a great way to prep Spaghetti Squash, I made a couple of changes I kept squash cut down for the first 20 min, then I turned it carefully salted, peppered used dry garlic and used olive oil spray. It took about 1 hour of total baking time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      This recipe was super easy to follow and it came out perfectly, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      I made this last week. Instead of wrestling with the squash with a knife, I just poked a few slits in it and baked at 375? for about an hour. Then sliced it in half and went from there. I'd never worked with spaghetti squash before and must say that the result was a nice surprise. I'll be making it a lot more often now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Properly Prepared Spaghetti Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 45.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    10%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes