Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Potato and Kale Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato and Kale Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2009

      Mmm - tasty. I added 1/8 t. cayenne instead of black pepper and I added 1/2 t. of salt. Once those were added, it was great - thanks! (though that much cayenne made it too spicy for my youngest two)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      I used stock instead of water and this soup was so good my partner had seconds even though he usually doesn't like soup. Just as a warning to others I didn't cut my kale small enough so it was very messy to eat. Next time i'll cut them bite size...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I love thisrecipe. It's the second time I have made it in less than two weeks. I use a mix of russet and yukon gold potatoes. I also use chicken (or vegetable) broth, instead of water. White pepper works good, too. Delicious with cheese sprinkled on top!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      This is a delicious, delicate recipe that is very easy to make (I triple it to make enough for my family). All my kids loved it, and I'm making it again for the second time in two weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I really enjoyed this. It was easy to make, filling and not loaded with fat. The mashing of the potatoes gave the soup a nice, sort of creamy texture. I did leave some larger potato chunks. I used the potatoes and kale that came in my weekly CSA box. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      A really great addition to my vegetarian repertoire! Yummy and simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Tasty. Needs a little something, so I added some red pepper flakes, salt, and a little cream. I also substituted some of the water with chicken stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Tasty soup. My supermarket was out of kale, so I used collard greens, instead. I also added chopped carrots to the soup, as well as chicken broth and oregano to taste. Very healthy soup and wonderful on a chilly day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

    • on May 08, 2010

      Yay! My husband and I loved this recipe. We had 4 pounds kale to use, so we quadrupled the recipe. I made quite a couple modificaitons, though. I skipped the onion, garlic and black pepper (because it can give me a sore stomach) and used just a little extra-virgin canola oil. I also chopped the stems in 1 cm pieces and added them 5 minutes after the potatoes. I put in with the kale leaves half a bunch of chopped watercress, a small bunch of cilantro and a small buch of thai basil, that would've spoiled in the fridge. Also, I added 1 teaspoon of cracked coriander seeds and 2 rounded teaspoons dried dill leaves when it was almost done. I would've added fennel seeds, but didn't have them at the moment. It resulted in a very refreshing and soothing dish, that my husband and I loved. The second time I ate some, I added cooked brown lentil I had on hand, and it made a satisfying one-dish meal. Oh, and I reduced the liquid by 1/8 and used 1/4 homemade turkey stock and 3/4 water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      I love the basics. Especially when they rescue wilting vegetables from their demise in my fridge. For flavor I added a couple pinches of cayenne, teaspoon of Muchi Curry powder and two tablespoons of Braggs liquid aminos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      If I had followed this exactly I don't think it would have had much flavor. I changed it quite a bit and added things to increase the flavor. But it was a great base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is great comfort food. I topped it with fresh chives and parsley from my garden, and served it with toasted dark rye bread. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Really good comfort food! I ate it for dinner and lunch for 2 days! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      Like the other reviewer said, you need to add salt, or buillion, or hot sauce or something to bring everything together, but once that's taken care of, it is dee-licious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      This was good but just a bit bland for me. A few dashes of hot sauce worked wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Potato Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato and Kale Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (650 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.8
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    22%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 85.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites