Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Plain Roasted Artichoke Hearts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Roasted Artichoke Hearts

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2009

      Very good but rather plain, as the recipe states. Great side dish for something very flavorful. I would suggest using the frozen artichoke hearts as they don't have that tinny taste from being in a can. I used about double the garlic, Kosher salt and plenty of freshly cracked black pepper. Next time I will grate some Parmesan over. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      These were lovely! Crunchy outsides with a creamy centre. I'll be trying these again, as they are so unique and easy to make. I made a single can's worth, and didn't use butter or lemon or even salt. I look forward to trying these next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Wow, delicious! They smelled wonderful while cooking, because of the garlic! I had never had plain artichokes before and they are now on my list to keep on hand. I did prepare only one can of artichokes because it is only DH and I. Prepared exactly by the recipe and I did use the butter and lemon juice! I put the butter in a little glass bowl and sat it over the burner that gets the heat from the oven. The butter melted while the artichokes were roasting. When they were done, I mixed the lemon juice with the butter and drizzled over the artichokes, with a little salt and pepper. The outside leaves of the artichokes were a little bit tougher than the inside, but nonetheless delicious! Great recipe! Thanks Kumquat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      This was awesome!! I really love artichokes and I'm glad I found a new way to make them. I used a bag of frozen artichokes. I thawed them out first, then added a few tbsp of olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic. They turned out great! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

    • on July 04, 2010

    • on January 17, 2010

      Yummy and very easy. Made as directed and served with dinner. Next time I'd add a little fresh Parmesan for variety. When cooled, these could be added to a salad, on top of a pizza, the possibilities are endless. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Awesomely delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      These tasted yummy, but they cooked a little faster than I expected - I had to remove them from the oven 15 minutes early, and they were nearly burned. But they were still good. Just not sure I would want to make them very often, because they're kind of... ugly. Maybe as something special to chop up a bit and toss with some pasta and a little olive oil and garlic?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      These were yummy! I used 2 bags of frozen artichoke hearts from Trader Joe's and the flavor was fantastic. I'm making them again tonight for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Very easy and delicious. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I always wondered if I would like artichokes, i know i do this way, this is really really good and really really easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      What a nice no-fuss way to indulge in artichokes - they're heavenly! I used a shallow stoneware baking pan to roast, and skipped the butter and lemon juice. The garlic got very browned, so next time I think I'll throw that in for the last 20 minutes or so. This will be a staple for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Delicious!!! And very easy. Although, I would like more garlic so I think I'll stick half a clove inside each artichoke heart and roast them that way next time. Thanks for the delicious recipe! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was very easy and I learned something new as I have never roasted an artichoke before. I enjoyed the taste too so that is always a good thing too :) made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Very Very Yummy!! Update: I made these again to put into a greek pasta salad recipe I found here. They are soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I roasted these and mixed with other roasted vegetables red, yellow and orange bell peppers, carrots, and asparagus. They were really good. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      These were really good! I tried it out with marinated artichokes, rinsed and drained well (therefore, I skipped the extra oil and lemon). Wasn't sure if I should cover them, so I started out that way (first 15 minutes), then decided to uncover them. Then at the end, I hit the broiler for a few minutes to give them a little more color. Easy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      We kind-of liked this, however it was the first time we'd ever had canned artichoke hearts by themselves (meaning not in a dip, pasta dish, etc). I think the taste was decent because I did add the lemon juice, butter, and also added a tablespoon of white wine. However, I think maybe the flavor of the artichokes out of the can is just a bit odd. It's not your recipe that made it taste funny, but I think it was the liquid the artichokes sit in to preserve them that leaves them tasting funny. I washed them off after draining as you directed, but I just think the liquid had already done it's damage and left the artichokes with an odd taste that we just couldn't roast out of them. I will definitely try this recipe again but I'll just use freshly steamed artichoke hearts. So really, I would give your blend of spices and liquids, and your times and measurements five stars, but using the canned artichoke hearts brought it down to three stars for me. Thank you, though, for a new side dish that I know will taste great with fresh artichokes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      I love artichoke, but my husband isn't as big of a fan. However,, we both enjoyed this recipe. The lemon juice is a must! It really enhances the flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Roasted Artichoke Hearts

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.9
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    15%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 127.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 18.3 g
    73%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites