27 Reviews

Love this Bread! Used dough cycle on bread machine. When cycle was complete, I divided dough into 6 (bun size). Placed on lightly sprayed parchment paper in warm oven to let dough rise again. Baked at 350 till lightly browned. Thanks for the great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeMMK September 18, 2009

M granddaughter and I make bread every week. We always used the italian bread recipe that came with my ABM, but this time we decided to try this one. My breadmaker died right after we put all the ingredients in, so we used the kitchenaid. This bread was exactly how I remember the Italian bread that my mom used to buy from the Italian baker who sold it door to door when I was a child. Crispy crust and soft inside. I think I might have to throw that booklet in the trash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop August 19, 2012

I formed this dough into four large submarine buns. They were EXCELLENT! Wonderful, soft texture and great taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez February 04, 2012

This bread was a great success! Made in my ABM and was very happy with the size, taste & texture...Will definitely make again! Thx for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY September 27, 2010

Excellent bread recipe with crisp crust and fluffy inside. Went down a treat with dukkah.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat March 20, 2010

Delicious! Very fragrant, great texture, great taste, and easy as pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 December 13, 2009

I have no need to buy bakery Italian bread anymore!...Delicious!! I have made this 3 times now, first time in the machine, other 2 times I take out dough and shape into two loaves and cook in oven, and each time got raving reviews, thanks for the great recipe!!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_78 May 18, 2009

This loaf has great flavor, but it turned out too heavy and dense for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda78 May 03, 2009

This bread reminds us of a famous bakery in Omaha where the locals go on Sunday morning and get fresh bread and rolls. If you like toast in the morning then you have to try this. If I were to make it for company, I would use the dough cycle and hand form it as the photos look gorgeous, but doing it all in the ABM works too! This is going in my "Best of Zaar so Far" cookbook! KCShell

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCShell November 30, 2008

Fantastic recipe. I did have to add a little extra water to the dough. I always do when making bread, I think it's because our elevation is 7200 ft. Very easy recipe and I followed another reviewer and sprayed the loaf before the 2nd rise with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled the loaf with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Great recipe will be making often thanks so much for posting Sally!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z August 29, 2008
Plain Ole Italian Bread Abm