Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Plain Ole Italian Bread Abm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Ole Italian Bread Abm

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2009

      Love this Bread! Used dough cycle on bread machine. When cycle was complete, I divided dough into 6 (bun size). Placed on lightly sprayed parchment paper in warm oven to let dough rise again. Baked at 350 till lightly browned. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      M granddaughter and I make bread every week. We always used the italian bread recipe that came with my ABM, but this time we decided to try this one. My breadmaker died right after we put all the ingredients in, so we used the kitchenaid. This bread was exactly how I remember the Italian bread that my mom used to buy from the Italian baker who sold it door to door when I was a child. Crispy crust and soft inside. I think I might have to throw that booklet in the trash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      I formed this dough into four large submarine buns. They were EXCELLENT! Wonderful, soft texture and great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This bread was a great success! Made in my ABM and was very happy with the size, taste & texture...Will definitely make again! Thx for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Excellent bread recipe with crisp crust and fluffy inside. Went down a treat with dukkah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Delicious! Very fragrant, great texture, great taste, and easy as pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      I have no need to buy bakery Italian bread anymore!...Delicious!! I have made this 3 times now, first time in the machine, other 2 times I take out dough and shape into two loaves and cook in oven, and each time got raving reviews, thanks for the great recipe!!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      This loaf has great flavor, but it turned out too heavy and dense for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This bread reminds us of a famous bakery in Omaha where the locals go on Sunday morning and get fresh bread and rolls. If you like toast in the morning then you have to try this. If I were to make it for company, I would use the dough cycle and hand form it as the photos look gorgeous, but doing it all in the ABM works too! This is going in my "Best of Zaar so Far" cookbook! KCShell

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Fantastic recipe. I did have to add a little extra water to the dough. I always do when making bread, I think it's because our elevation is 7200 ft. Very easy recipe and I followed another reviewer and sprayed the loaf before the 2nd rise with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled the loaf with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Great recipe will be making often thanks so much for posting Sally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This bread is really great made it today to go with pasta and sauce my whole family loved this bread and that is saying alot. If I could I would give this bread much more then 5 stars it's that good Thank You for posting will make it over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      This bread was great! Loved the crust and the texture of the bread inside. Sliced it in thick slices and added butter and sprinkled with garlic powder, then baked in aluminum foil for about 10 mins. at 350. Came out crusty on the outside and chewy and deliciously flavored on the inside. With the infusion of the garlic and butter it was perfect to go along with our Seafood Sauce and linguini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Made for Spring 2008 PAC This was a simple bread to make and it has a nice flavor and texture. Since my DD took the bread machine with her when she got married, I too had to use my Cuisinart. I only needed one loaf so I halved the recipe. I proofed the yeast with the sugar mixed in the water, then added it to the rest of the ingredients and ran my FP about 45 secs more. I had to add a couple of extra tsps. of water for it all to come together. I pulsed for another 30 secs or so. I let the dough rise for about 1hr and 15 minutes the first time, shaped the loaf and let it rise about another hour. I baked it at 425 degrees for 20 minutes. This is a moist bread with a fine crumb and a nice crust. I especially liked it toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Absolutely delish!!! I just received a new cuisinart food processor that has a bread dough attachment so decided to try your bread recipe. I first heated the water up to about 120 degrees, then added the brown sugar, salt and yeast and let if proof for 10 minutes. I put the flour and olive oil in the processor and turned it on for 30 seconds. I then slowly added the water/yeast mixture through the feed tube and continued to process for about 1 minute and it was ready for the first rising. I then put the dough in an oiled bowl and covered and let it rise, then punched it down and divided into loaves. One loaf was wrapped in saran wrap and put in freezer for later use and the other shaped and set to raise for the second time. The kitchen smelled so wonderful while this was baking and the bread turned out perfectly!!! Served warm with butter, it has a great flavor and texture. Thanks Sally for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This was a wonderful recipe for plain italian. My machine doesn't have a french bread cylce. I did set it on medium crust and it turned out great. It was great toasted. Will make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Great bread! Made as directed except formed into one large loaf, let rise, and baked at 400 for around 20-25 minutes. Texture is wonderful, this warm bread just begs for butter. Served with Spaghetti and Meatballs for a lovely dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for PAC Fall 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      Wonderful recipe! Made it for our weekend at the lake. Everyone loved it! I made the dough and halved it and had two small loafs. We had one loaf for breakfast toast, which was perfect! and one loaf for our cookout. Love the flavor and the texture. I will be making this alot! Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      The texture of this bread is perfect and so is the taste. Made it just as written and it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      This bread is worth more than 5 stars! I did the whole thing in the bread machine and it was perfect. It was one of the easiest bread machine recipes to slice. I served it with spaghetti and meatballs. I just had a slice with peanut butter. I can't wait to make it again... tomorrow! thanks for sharing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      I read your "my page" highlighted and found you quite funny so I decided to try a recipe and this was just what I wanted....very good and simple!thank you....My daughter thinks your horse is beautiful (she is ten.....and she loved the bread)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Ole Italian Bread Abm

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    67%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 586.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites