Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Plain Lentil Soup (Vegan...and low fat too!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Lentil Soup (Vegan...and low fat too!)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2003

      This is EXCELLENT. It's on my stove right now, keeping until dinner. I've already eaten a bowl because I couldn't wait! The texture of this is nice and smooth--a bit of grain depending on how finely you process the ingredients once they've cooked. Because I can never make a recipe as is, I added about four cloves of garlic and also a few red pepper flakes (probably a teaspoon.) I also used chicken stock to replace about half of the water, although I realize that changes the vegetarian part of this recipe. THANKS for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Yummy! I did alter a bit though. Instead of the spices recommemded, I used about a tablespoon of Garam Masala, half tablespoon of fresh grated ginger, and 2 teaspoons of ground cumin and salt to taste. Lovely flavors that are warm and satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Very hearty, filling soup. Easy to make, too. I added a few cloves of garlic, and used vegetable broth for part of the liquid. Only downside is the appearance: brown puree is not the most attractive thing. Oh well, at least it tastes good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      My wife is vegetarian and I am a meat eater, but this was great for both of us. I used half vegetable stock and half water for more flavor. Very hearty and easy to make. Will definately make again on a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      This soup is very heart and filling! I think it's simple, yet delicious! Very nice and it pleased my mom immensely, so I'm just thrilled right now! I omitted the cayenne pepper and used a whole lot more of thyme leaves, I would say about 1-2 tsps. more than stated in the recipe. I made this using red lentils(masoor dal). Since I don't really like to put the soup through a blender, I served it after it had boiled nicely and the lentils were tender. Thank you so much, Auntie Sara! Loved this one way too much! A special THANK YOU to Uncle Miller as well for sending me a bottle of dried thyme leaves from which I used some in this soup! I loved them!THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      Wonderfully hearty soup as the first snow of the season falls outside! I used Italian seasoning instead of thyme and did not use a bay leaf (apparently I have run out) or the cayenne. I used a hand-held immersion blender to blend it some so it was not as pureed as if I had used a food processor, but it fit our needs nicely. I also used slightly less of the celery and more carrots, and I used 3 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of water. I accidentally left it boiling for too long and a lot of liquid boiled off, so I added another can of chicken broth. I let it simmer while other things cooked so it actually simmer for over an hour. With some hearty bread this was a really nice dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Like Charisma, I did not blend the soup. The result is a very nice, hearty, subtle soup with an interesting structure. This soup is best if left overnight and re-heated the next day. A tip for people who like their vegetables slightly crunchier but don't want to wait: use tinned lentils (ca. 2 lbs). Put all ingredients in a pot, bring it to a boil and immediately switch off the heat. Allow the soup to cool (without a lid to prevent the soup from turning sour) and keep it refrigerated. Next day, just reheat it and the vegetables and lentils will have just the right consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      This was really good but needed more liquid to be a soup. My DH isn't a fan of soup so I left it that was and we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This soup recipe is a good start. To keep it vegan I added one envelop of onion soup mix, 1/4 tsp each of cumin, coriander and turmeric and then 4 big cloves of garlic. It turned out GREAT! love this and will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      As healthy as lentils are, and as health conscious as I am, I really wish I enjoyed eating them. I do eat them, but I can't say that I enjoy it. So, needless to say, I was hesitant with this recipe and wondered if there was a chance this recipe would make a lentil lover out of me. I made exactly as directed, with the addition of 1 cup of chopped zucchini and extra cayenne pepper. I cooked it for about 45 minutes, and then used an immersion blender to puree. I tasted it and felt so-so about it, but after another sprinkle of sea salt and further pureeing... voila! Delicious soup, and I've had 2 bowls of it already! Thanks for making me like lentils!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Hearty, healthy, simple, and delicious. I made it just as it is and found it to be the perfect lunch for a cold snowy day. It heats up perfectly in the microwave, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Sorry. This was not good. Maybe my expectations were too high because I just had a fabulous lentil soup at The Pita Inn. Even adding more salt, garlic as suggested, additional spices, it was still bland and stunk up the entire house. Thanks for posting, but this just was not for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Followed the recipe except I used indian masala, coriander and a bit of crushed red chili instead of the cayenne, bay leaf and thyme. It turned out to be a nice texture but somehow a little bland. Added salt which made it way better, then de-veganized it by topping it with a bit of sour cream and shredded cheese and it was PERFECT! yum yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Oh, man, this is fantastic! I've been trying to incorporate more beans and lentils into my vegan diet so I don't have to rely so much on soy for protein and this recipe is definitely a keeper. I added one veggie chik'n bullion cube to the mix and I think when I make this again I'll add more cayenne and some garlic. I blended it with an immersion blender and I left it a little chunky. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This is very delectable! I adopted this to a crock pot and I didn't blend it. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This soup is pretty good. I used 2 1/3 cups lentils (as I buy mine in bulk), omitted the celery, and used some broth in place of water. I also forgot to remove the bay leaf before pureeing, but it doesn't seem to have negatively affected the taste of the soup. I also agree that if you use brown lentils, this dish looks very unappealing - almost gruel-like, but tastes great. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Delicious soup that reminds me of split pea soup but with lentils. Perfect for a cool night while being hearty and healthy and yummy. I might skip the pureeing next time just to save the hassle. I didn't remember to remove the bay leaves before pureeing, and I will next time. Thank you for such an easy, yummy, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I found this recipe while searching for what to do with some lentils I had bought and needed it to be a healthy meal. The first time I made it I had my hubby try it before blending it and he said he thought he would prefer it not blended. Cool - that makes it even easier! We enjoyed it for several meals. Last night I made it again and added some chicken base to it and it was yummy. I think next time I'm going to add some garlic and maybe sautee the onions before adding them to the pot for some sweetness. I'm also thinking about some sausage too. I love simple and quick meals - thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This soup helped me get through my "liver cleanse". It is very natural and filling. I am still making it regularly because it is great for lunch at work. My only difference is that I do not blend the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I thought this soup tasted ok but it honestly didn't look very appetizing at all. My boyfriend liked it ok and said it reminded him of split pea soup. Just as a tip, salt made a major improvement in the taste of this soup, don't skimp! I believe I used around 2 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Lentil Soup (Vegan...and low fat too!)

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    86%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 44.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 24.5 g
    98%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites