Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza

    Average Rating:

    393 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 393

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2010

      I made this last night. This is PERFECT and we were so pleased with it. I had my usual trouble with measuring the yeast, but only because I buy the bulk instant yeast and the recipe is written for the little packets. My general rule of thumb is 1 teaspoon of instant rise yeast per cup of flour, so I used 1 and a half teaspoons for this recipe and it was perfect. I used my bread machine to make the dough, and the dry/wet measurements you cited were so perfect that I didn't have to tinker with it at all, which was a welcome surprise. Oh, and I also added a scant teaspoon of sugar, to ensure a good rise from the yeast. I baked my crust on the top rack for about seven minutes at 425, pulled it out to dress it with my sauces and toppings, then popped it back in on the top rack to bake until the cheese was bubbly and browning a bit. It was PERFECT. I forgot to brush the edge of the crust with some olive oil but that's the ONLY improvement that could have been made to the pie we had last night.

      Our toppings: red sauce, chopped black olive, fresh basil leaves, mushrooms and Mozzarella one one half.... pesto sauce, chopped black olive, mushroom and Mozzarella on the other. Perfect, perfect, PERFECT.

      I do want to add that since we've just moved, I couldn't find my rolling pin yet so I had to resort to hand-tossing the dough, and it worked BEAUTIFULLY. The dough was wonderfully elastic for it. It easily shaped to a big round pie; thin in the middle and perfect thick edges. I've never been able to do that before but this dough made it seem easy. We love paper-thin crust, and this one did the job beautifully. A definite keeper, thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      I've made this several times and it's always great - but last night I took a couple of tips from another recipe, and it turned out FANTASTIC - best I've ever made - and the fam agreed. I used the exact ingredients from this recipe, only I used 1 T of sugar to be exact, and a pinch more salt. The changes I did make... I pre-heated (for a long time) the oven to 500, and instead of using a pizza pan, I used parchment paper only. Basically, I rolled out the crust on parchment paper that I laid out on a large cutting board. When the pizza was ready to put into the oven - I slid the parchment paper directly onto the oven rack. This cut the cooking time to about 10 to 12 minutes.

      The crust turned out fluffier (and tastier) than usual, and the entire pizza crust was crispy (no soggy middle). It was absolutely amazing! We topped it off with bacon, basil, mushrooms and fresh tomatoes from our garden. Yumm. I'll be making pizza more often...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      This recipe is so easy and tastes great. We love cracker thin crust and this is it. I stretch the dough really thin and then spread olive oil on top before baking on a sheet of foil for 10 mins. Then I put the toppings on and put it back in the oven without the foil and bake for about 10 more mins and it always turns out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Really easy and tasty crust. I have made this recipe about 6 times, last time I subbed half the flour for whole wheat and it turned out nicely. I always add much more flour than the recipe calls for. After initially mixing the dough I always notice that it is far too sticky and add at least another cup of white flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Amazing! I thought I had the perfect pizza crust recipe but this is just awesome. I added some cayenne, cumin and extra salt to the dough as recommended by some reviewers. I also pre-baked my pizzas. The two smaller ones had 5 minutes and then ten minutes with the toppings. The larger one (which was thicker) had 10 minutes pre-baking and then another ten minutes with the toppings. Everyone loved their pizzas tonight. Thanks UC86! Oh, for non-US cooks, I had my fan oven at 200 deg celsius. A non fan oven would need to be at 210 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      According to Cook's Illustrated, for thin-crusted pizza dough: "All-purpose unbleached flour with a protein percentage no higher than 10.5 makes the lightest, crispiest pizzas."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      My husband and I think this is the best pizza dough I've ever made. I mixed it up in the kitchen aid mixer, let it rise for an hour, spread it very thin on a cookie sheet, topped it, baked it at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      I just made this exact same recipe over the weekend, (and I did use the whole wheat flour ), and it was delicious. I spread the dough on a pizza peel, and slid it onto a very hot pizza stone (heated in a 500o oven for almost an hour), and cooked it for about 10-12 minutes. I also added about 1 Tbsp. of raw sugar ( can also use honey ). Very, very good!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Great crust! Made the dough in the bread machine, then did individual pizzas with the kids. They loved pressing out their own crusts and topping them. The dough was easy to work with and turned out thin and crisp. Baked at 450 in the convection for about 10 minutes. I didn't pre-bake these, but pressed them out on parchment sprinkled with cornmeal and transferred the whole thing to the baking sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This is the thin crust pizza recipe I've been lookg for...forever! I used: 1 c. WW flour, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1T. sugar, and 2 full tsp. of instant yeast. I didn't proof the yeast, just whisked the dry ingredients together in the bowl. I added the water and oil, then kneaded it for 8 minutes, adding flour by the T. until the dough was just barely sticky. I let it rest for 15 min. while the oven preheated. Then, I divided the dough, and rolled each half out on a well floured slippat baking mat. As I rolled it, i continued to peel it back, and let it shrink, turning it, and adding more flour to the mat, as needed. I stopped peeling/rolling when the dough no longer shrank back much from the size of the slippat. I, then, rolled it just over the edges one more time, and turned it onto a greased and cornmealed baking sheet. I pre-baked the crusts for 10 min., then topped and baked for another 10 min. The crusts were gorgeous! It was crisp, yet tender and held up well even in the middle. This recipe is a keeper! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Very good recipe. I find that yeast is a big ingredient and without it (even if the recipe doesn't call for it) the dough is not as good. After the dough rested for 20-30 minutes, it was so light and fluffy. Turned out great with pizza. We didn't prebake but it couldn't have hurt. I would say it is one of the best home-made pizzas we have ever had. For baking, we used our pizza stone. Since we didn't have cornmeal, we crushed some tortilla chips and it worked fine. As for the sauce on the pizza, we did a mixture of BBQ and Pizza sauce (maybe 3 parts Pizza to 1 part BBQ sauce). We added some pepper, sausage, cheese (of course!), pineapple, and mushrooms. It turned out fantastic! Thanks again for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      This is the best and easiest classy thin pizza crust ever. As we had a bumper crop of white figs which we had to share with raccoons...needed another way of dealing with them. (That's figs not raccoons) So, made ham,fig and goat cheese pizza on this crust. Fabulous. Took the liberty of making another batch of dough and froze it for later. This time made it with apples, cheese and ham. Can't imagine why I was so frightened to try making this. Not at all complicated and wonderful feeling when kneading the dough.
      Tremendous thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
      Chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      So easy & so good!! I proofed with 1 tbsp raw sugar and only needed a little extra flour to get the dough to perfect consistency. I precooked for 10 minutes and then we topped with marinara, fresh basil, onions, fresh garlic, vegan daiya mozzarella, and my homemade vegan pepperoni. Only took about 10 more minutes on the pizza slab & DH was in pepperoni pizza heaven. Thanks so much UnknownChef86!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Followed recipe as written, used the 1 cup whole wheat flour, pre-baked the crust & then cooked with toppings an additional 10 minutes. Definitely use the corn meal if you have it. This was awesome for a thin crust pizza and really stood up to all the toppings. By preparing my toppings while the dough rested, this really did not take any extra time than if I had bought a pre-made crust. Thanks for a great recipe that will be used over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      At our house, the best pizza crust is a thin, crisp-on-the-outside, tender-on-the-inside crust. This fits the bill. It was just the right amount of dough to make two 12" crusts, the size of my baking stone. If you wanted to make slightly bigger crusts, I'm sure that would work as well. It rolled and stretched easily and the 20 minute bake time was right on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      Without a doubt, this is the best pizza crust I have ever made! (I have tried probably over 100 different recipes over 31 years of marriage -- no joke). It was the perfect amount of dough for my 14" perforated Chicago Metallic pan. I like cracker crust pizza and my husband likes his more like the Pizza Hut hand-tossed variety. This was the perfect compromise for both of us! I did pre-bake it for five minutes and may bake a little longer next time; we were hungry last night. It actually got a bit crisper after coming out of the oven. Next time, I won't be so lazy and will try it out on my Lodge iron pizza pan. Unknownchef86, thank you so very much for the rescued recipe! It is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      This is was perfectly crispy and delicious. It rolled out beautifully and was very elastic. I would suggest poking your dough with a fork a few times before it goes into the oven, because it will rise a little and if you want it to be really thin, like I do, I think it would help to poke it with a fork a few times. I did however bake it for about 8 minutes before I put the toppings in, and it really helped getting it browned up and crispy. Can't say enough good things about this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Great dough recipe! Took me all of 5 mins. to put together. Proofed, set, topped & baked. I made 1 big pizza on a cookie sheet, still was crunchy outside but tender under toppings, PERFECT! My husband & mom are still munching. Thank you. I did not deviate a bit. No whole wheat, no subs whatsoever, great recipe! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Just a warning, I may gush in this review. I just made pizzas using this dough and I am overjoyed with the results. I have had no luck in the past getting the crispy crust I was after and was disappointed time and time again. I was thrilled to discover this crust is crispy with a wonderful flavor and is sturdy enough to hold an abundance of toppings. I doubled the recipe and used it to make 3 16 inch pizzas. The results were exactly what I was looking for. I highly recommend this recipe. Like, really, really, really recommend it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Made this super easy dough tonight and it came out perfect! It reminded me of new york style pizza dough. I also used 1 Tbl of sugar in my yeast mixture and 2 Tsp of salt in my dough mix. I brushed all of the dough with olive oil, sprinkled Italian Seasoning over it with a little parmasean cheese and garlic powder, then placed it in the oven for 10 minutes. I then pulled it out and put all my sauce and toppings on it. FABULOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza

    Serving Size: 1 (565 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 610.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    64%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 299.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 120.7 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites