Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pinto Beans and Rice in a Crock Pot (Or on Stove Top) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pinto Beans and Rice in a Crock Pot (Or on Stove Top)

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2002

      This is an awesome bean recipe. You just throw them in a crockpot and forget them. They smell wonderful cooking and taste even better. I did add a little cornstarch and water to thicken (just personal preference). My husband took one bite and said I should make them when his mother comes to visit. High praise indeed! I will definitely make these over and over again. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Note that dried beans cooked with tomatoes from the beginning will be tough - calcium or acid of any kind causes the outside of the bean to stay tough. The way to get around this is to do as some commenters have mentioned - precook the beans by themselves (overnight), then add the other recipe ingredients and cook for the duration mentioned in the recipe. Crockpots don't come to the same high heat as the stovetop. Unsoaked beans cooked only on low may never get tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      I was thrilled to find this recipe just after I received a new crockpot for Christmas! This tasted wonderful even after I overcooked it a tad (no need to thicken anything!) Absolutely delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Deeeeelicious! I used Pace picante sauce and used all the seasonings as per the recipe. I soaked the beans all afternoon and then cooked the beans on low overnight. We enjoyed them for lunch served over fresh cooked rice, topped with fresh salsa, grated cheddar cheese and minced onion. DH has requested that I make this meal once a week. So healthy and delicious, just loved it. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Very easy and tasty. I doubled the recipe and added the uncooked rice at the beginning with extra water. Had to cook on high for 6 hrs before beans and rice were done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I have tried other bean recipes and they've been okay. And this is not perfect but I got great taste with that lovely creamy texture. I think 1/2 t. pepper is too much for me. I will take that down to 1/4 t. next time. I love cumin and think I will go up to a full tsp on that. And I used red beans because I didn't have any pintos. I probably dumped closer to 3/4 c picante sauce into the beans. When i read the recipe, a first thought was that I did not think unsoaked beans would cook in 3 hours, so unlike others I did not make the finish time critical and wasn't unhappy. My red beans were tender and yummy after about 5 hours. (they are a smaller bean than the pintos, I'd say.) I used 1 T of Penzey's medium chili powder. I often cut back on recipes that call for chili powder because it is pretty competent chili powder, but this was a whole pound of beans and I thought that would work out okay and it seemed to. I like bay leaves and kept all three. I think that gets you a more complex flavor and I am excited to see how they will taste tomorrow. I have some Penzey's Chipotle powder and I might try a bit of that because smoky heat sounds like it could be good here. Great recipe. Update: This really has become my go to recipe and I use it for all kinds of beans though if it's chick peas or white kidney beans, I don't use the chili powder or the Picante Sauce. I use the bay leaf "faithfully" and may just add thyme or something like that. Trying to add fiber to my diet and I often will cook these over night and then I have beans in my fridge. Tasty and versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      This is a great recipe but cooking pinto beans in the slow cooker takes a long time. I doubled the recipe and it took about 12 hours to get the beans soft. I left out the picante sauce for most of the time so the beans did not get tough. Even then it took way too long. I also put the cooked rice in too soon so by the time the beans were soft the rice nearly dissolved. Even after all that, it was still a nice flavorful dish. Next time I will cook the beans ahead and add all the ingredients (except rice) for the last 3 hours and the rice right at the end just to get it hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I know, we hate it when people tweak a recipe and then rate it; but sometimes it's necessary. I had no picante or salsa--so I used a Tbs of tomato paste & a Tbs of hot chili sauce. I used chicken stock rather then water--more flavor. I added 1/2 cup of dry basamati rice to the beans the last hour along with a can of stewed tomatoes. Nothing but enhancement to a wonderful recipe! Topped with a little cheddar cheese and sour cream, loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      I made this on the stove top and it is pretty good but didn't love it. Will keep but maybe add some onions or something next time. It needed a little sometime more to make it really great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Mine were not even close to being done in 3 hours and I even went ahead and soaked them for 12 hours prior to cooking - they took about 6 hours on high. I ended up doubling the amount of salsa and all of the spices. Good beans in the end!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Very simple, very delicious. Kids aren't huge bean fans, but topped theirs with more salsa and some sour cream. They cleaned their bowls! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Great Recipe. Ive been making pinto beans for years and this simple recipe is very good. I added some pork shank because I like my beans that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe! I make extra and freeze it. We've used this as side dish, by itself and in burritos. LOVE this healthy tasty inexpensive recipe. I'll tweek the spices sometimes but find it tastes the best as the recipe is written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Great recipe! Very tasty. We made this in our Rival Crockpot and it took 4 hours on high. We would make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This gets five stars for flavor but four for preparation. After 3 hours on high, my beans were crunchy (even though my crockpot is on the hot side), so I put them in a pot on the stove and boiled them another half hour and they still weren't fully cooked. However, the taste was great and I will make this again, either soaking the beans first or starting my cook time a couple hours earlier. I might also cut back the black pepper and up the rice. I didn't have any bay leaves but we didn't miss them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      This is a great bean recipe! So easy, and has a great flavor that the whole family enjoyed. I did soak my beans over night before following the rest of the recipe. The only other change was I used instant brown rice that I threw in at the end to cook right in the crock pot with the beans. If I had the ingredients for corn bread, it would have been the perfect meal for a chilly fall day. Thanks Junebug!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      Okay, five stars on taste, but two stars on prep directions. This is definitely NOT going to be done in 3 hours in a crockpot. If you want it that fast, you'll have to boil it on the stovetop. This is an all day dish, even on high, in a crockpot. I presoaked my beans overnight and they absorbed a lot of water. After cooking six hours on high the nex day, they were still not done. Because I'd presoaked the beans, they didn't absorb most of the water I'd added to cook with, so I cooked the rice in the extra liquid for the last couple of hours. aste is great, texture is wonderful. Just be aware you'll have to play with the cook method and time to get it all done right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      I added 2 C. of instant rice and omitted the fresh garlic, other than that I followed the recipe. This was good but as others mentioned the beans were a little tough. Perhaps adding the picante later in the cooking process would prevent that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      This was very very good and easy to make thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      This smelled so good when I got home from work - like spicy sausage, athough there is no sausage in it! lol My pinto beans have been around for a while so I actually cooked them on high overnight, then on low for about 9 hours while I was at work. Followed the recipe excelt instead od picante I used extra hot hot sauce along with a little ketchup but it was not too spicy - I guess because it cooked for so gosh-darn long! Tried it on top of rice, mixed with rice, and used some of the beans to make burritos. Excellent and super easy, just what I like. Thank you for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pinto Beans and Rice in a Crock Pot (Or on Stove Top)

    Serving Size: 1 (763 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1898.7
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    61%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6522.4 mg
    271%
    Total Carbohydrate 353.9 g
    117%
    Dietary Fiber 76.3 g
    305%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 105.7 g
    211%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites