Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pink Grapefruit Marmalade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pink Grapefruit Marmalade

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2009

      YUUUUMM! I doubled the recipe and it made 7 pints total. I added about a tsp of vanilla extract while it was simmering just to add some depth. Turned out so good! I also just cut the fruit into probably eights, mixed it with the sugar and juice, and then pureed it with my stick blender right in the pan. So easy and so good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      After trying Elsa's Story Pink Grapefruit Preserves, I was hooked! on grapefruit marmalade and had to make some myself. This recipe looked too good to be true but I figured that I really had nothing to lose but a few grapefruit. I did change things just a little but the results are amazing! I used 3 red grapefruit and cooked the whole fruit in some water in my pressure cooker for 40 minutes. I then removed the fruit to a bowl and they cut easily with a fork and butter knife. I added 6 tbsp of lemon juice and 1 kilo of white sugar. I used my immersion blender to break up the fruit a bit more then boiled for 15 minutes or so. It is a beautiful pink color and is really delicious, more so because I made it myself! Thanks for this recipe! I will be making it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I must start out by saying that this was the easiest marmalade that I have ever made - and probably some of the tastiest! I never realized that it was possible to cut out so much prep time by just boiling the fruit peel and all. I'm definitely going to try this with oranges and lemons next time! Other than tripling the recipe, I followed this exactly and it was almost perfect. A couple comments: I found that 2 hours boiling time was too much for my fruit. Some of them turned into soggy, sodden mush. After an hour, test your grapefruit with a fork. If you can easily pierce the flesh, it's done. I'm wondering how cooledskin got that lovely ruby colour to her jam. I used the brown sugar as directed and it considerably darkened my recipe. Unless there's a secret to this, I suspect that using only white sugar is the way to keep the perfect colour. However, I liked the taste that the brown sugar gave it and so would recommend sacrificing looks for taste! I added some lemon zest for extra zing but other than that, I feel like the sugar content is perfect for a tart marmelade! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I have been making marmalade for years, but this is the best one I have made. It was sweet, grapefruity, good texture, lots of peel. Yummy. I used 3 ruby grapefruits and 4 navel oranges, 1.5kg of fruit in total, and 1.5kg of sugar. Just as the recipe said, after boiling the fruit the previous day I sliced it thinly the next day and boiled for about an hour and it was ready for the jars. It made 7 500g jars. The only problem I had was I left it boiling and forgot to stir for a few minutes, and it caught on the bottom and slightly burned, I mean caramelised, and turned out lovely and rich flavoured like a Dundee marmalade. I will definitely make marmalade like this again as peeling and chopping raw rind is so boring. <br/>This is a really wonderful recipe thank you Food.com!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

    • on February 04, 2012

      This was my first time canning on my own, and I was impressed at how easy this recipe was! I'm glad I read some of the other reviews, I only cooked my grapefruit for 1.5 hours, and added some vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I am a huge, huge novice at jam-making (er, I started yesterday) and this was so easy I was suspicious and posted on the forums checking that I'd actually read the recipe correctly. It made out of this world marmalade/jam, it was like a party in my mouth and Alexander Skarsgärd was invited.

      I followed an earlier suggestion/tweak of removing the pulp and squeezing/straining through a muslin to get the juice, followed by chopping the juiced pulp in a mini food processor as I found it easier this way. I added vanilla seeds (and the empty vanilla pod) just when I added the sugar and the mixture perfumed my kitchen.

      I boiled for exactly 15 minutes (and not even in a proper preserving pan, just a garden variety saucepan) and stirred, and it was perfect at the stroke of 15. Already sampled it on some toast before it has cooled because I couldn't wait - and it got two very enthusiastic thumbs up from my boyfriend. Best recipe ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      This was awesome! I made it in a double batch cobbling together a bunch of different sugars that I had-brown, white and sucanat to get enough and it came out delicious! I loved that the grapefruits were cooked whole in this recipe as opposed to some others I looked at and went with a suggestion from another poster to pressure cook them for 40 minutes. Then I added them all to my vitamix and blended them on a low setting until they were slightly chunky but well blended. I also added some grenadine to my primary batch before splitting it into 4 pots where I did one plain and added stuff to the others. I added fresh tarragon to one batch, ginger to another, and tiny whole thai red chili's to another. They all came out so delicious!!! Here's a link to my blog where I post about Sticky Pink Grapefruit Chicken Thighs which I made with the ginger infused marmalade! It came out great! http://sevimel.blogspot.com/2011/07/sticky-pink-grapefruit-chicken-thighs.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      Used this for my first attempt at making marmalade, and it turned out terrific! It thickened up perfectly, and had just the right amount of sweetness. Love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Following another reviewer's suggestion...I only used 2 tsp of lemon juice, this was a very easy recipe to follow. I'm going to make another batch this coming weekend and cook it just slightly less...to make a softer marmalade.
      Thank you! Recipe made for Think Pink/October 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Oh my goodness, this is delicious. I made it with 'homemade' brown sugar from white sugar and very dark molasses. It is wonderfully bittersweet, and the colour is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      really delicious! recipe worked perfectly as written, end product does have a nice dark brown-reddish tint to it, just like the picture. Hard to stop eating, so so so yummy. I found it easiest to completely remove the pulp from the boiled, cooled grapefruit halves, squeeze the juice from the pulp, then finely chop the pulp before adding it back to the cooking pot. Removing the pulp allowed me to much more finely slice the cooked/cooled rind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Had toast this morning with this WONDERFUL marmalade made yesterday. I'd bought some grapefruit marmalade years ago and loved it but I've never found it again, anywhere. Why didn't I think of looking on Recipezaar? After perusing all the grapefruit marmalade recipes here, I decided to go with the simplest, just in case it turned out to be good. And boy is it!! So easy!! I did use a digital thermometer with an alarm that I just set at jell temperature (220 degrees) so I didn't have to be checking it continually. Actually I let it get to 221 degrees. It set up beautifully, and came out looking just like cooledskin's picture - I used all white sugar. Thank you, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This recipe seemed very easy,it is extremely easy.I make marmalade with oranges, lemons & grapefruit.So this was the 1st time I tried with grapefruits alone.Taste was great the colour was disappointing though.Thanks for this recipe will try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pink Grapefruit Marmalade

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    57%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 98.6 g
    394%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites