19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my breakfast this morning -- delicious! I only made one serving, but did not keep exact proportions (I reduced sugar and raisins etc.). I enjoyed it very much, and I'm not a pineapple lover. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner August 21, 2003

I made this for a mid-afternoon snack today. The only thing I added to this when serving it was a slice of a fresh juicy orange! The flavour burst was exceptionally good! I love raisins and really enjoyed them in this. I reduced the brown sugar by 1/2 a tbsp. as well. I'm not very fond of pineapple, but still quite liked this one. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani August 28, 2003

Very good and easy. This was a nice change from plain oatmeal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas March 28, 2004

As an oatmeal eater, this is a delicious way to have a healthy breakfast. I used fresh pineapple and golden raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunflower683 March 13, 2013

I gave this recipe 3 stars. This recipe was good but not great I need more flavor. I love the idea of this recipe. I had to make a few changes to the recipes. I had no crushed pineapple so I chopped up chunked pineapple. I also used Splenda brown sugar. I followed the directions I microwaved 5 minutes the first time and 1 minute the second time. I added more cinnamon after tasting this and a scoop of vanilla protein powder. Overall this made the oatmeal taste better. I may make this again but with a few changes. Thanks for posting a good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 02, 2009

Very acidic with nothing to balance it out. I like pineapple, but this was too much. Perhaps if the juice was drained it would be less overwhelming. I really wanted to like this, but I won't be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen October 05, 2008

Great blend of flavors- a very nice change from the norm. My toddler loved it. Will definitely make again. Thanks, Kree!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama March 04, 2008

I am glad I found this recipe, Kree! :) I was somewhat at a loss as to what to do with leftover pineapple chunks, which probably was only about 10 chunks and half a cup of juice, maybe less. I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for oatmeal. So based on the amt of pineapple I had on hand I sort of halved this recipe, but not exactly. I used 3/4 cup water, 1/2 cup regular oats (I didn't have quick-cooking), a handful of golden raisins, 1 Tbsp of dark brown sugar, and a hefty sprinkling of cinnamon. I also decided to add in a bit of unsweetened soy milk, prob 1/8 of a cup worth, to the water and pineapple mixture and then boiled on stove. I added the rest of the ingredients in, stirring often and cooked over medium heat, mixture was still boiling calmly and i just watched it till it all began to thicken and soften, then I removed from heat and covered for a few mins. I really didn't time this. This was great! Smelled awesome while cooking and the pineapple is nice, a little tang and a nice change too. The oatmeal was not too watery and was just a bit creamy from the little bit of soy milk I used. I left the pineapple in chunks, too, which was fine. The measurements I used made a very large serving for one person or two medium-size servings. Thank you again, Kree! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage August 10, 2007

This is awesome, I even added some butter and a little vanilla to it, it definately enhanced all the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommamoody March 06, 2007

This was a great twist on oatmeal, what a fun food to get creative with! I mixed in some low-fat vanilla yogurt at the end - and oh boy, did that hit the spot. I also used half (1/4 cup) mixed, dried fruit (pineapple, apricot, cherry, apple combo) in addition to 1/4 cup golden raisins. Will definitely be making this again. The idea of simmering milk with pineapple sounds a bit odd, but to add creaminess I might sub skim milk for the water next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeeClaireCook February 09, 2007
Pineapple Oatmeal