Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pig Pickin Sauce by Mean Chef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pig Pickin Sauce by Mean Chef

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2002

      This sauce is one of the three I made to go with your pulled pork. It was good, but a little too vinegary for our tastes. I'm glad we tried it but will probably stick to the molasses bbq sauce next time. We felt it took away from the flavours of the rub and the pork and kinda took our breath away with the vinegar. Thanks for the experience, it was worth trying!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Delicious. An absolute must with pulled pork. The vinegar really enhances the sweetness of the pork, and the pepper adds a good hint of heat. I think a previous reviewer who felt it was too strong simply used too much of it... it should be applied judiciously, just enought to moisten the meat and flavor it, not poured on like a typical red barbecue sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Hey there, Mean Chef, I hope you see my post in "Everything Else". We roasted a whole pig, about 140 lbs., and I made up a batch of this sauce to use on a samll portion of it. The sauce that I had years ago had red pepper flakes in it, so I substituted that for the cayenne. Well, it wasn't hot enough, and we were camping, so I didn't have all my seasonings available. Somebody produced a bottle of hot sauce, and we used that. It was great, but not an exact science. I would recommend adding a little, mix, and taste. Add more, mix, and taste. That's what we did. And the next time I make it, I'll add the cayenne to the sauce, and the red pepper flakes DIRECTLY TO THE MEAT. GOOD STUFF!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Made this serve with Pulled Pork. So easy to make and added the perfect taste to the pork. Will definitely make this again when I serve pulled pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      This is the perfect accompaniment. Easy as anything to make. I agree with Tracy when she says that you just use a small amount, rather than pour it over like a regular BBQ sauce. It is too thin to do that anyway - a little goes a long way. I like the way the vinegaryness of it cuts the richness of the meat. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      Good stuff! Went with the suggestions and used it to just moisten the meat. Got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      This is EXACTLY the "North Carolina Barbeque" recipe I was looking for.It was just as good as I remembered from living in Eastern NC. (Almost made me want to shag!!) I did use half cayenne and half red pepper flakes, the only adjustment, just because I like the flakes in it. Oh yeah, and on my heaping pork-filled bun, I slopped on a large mess of slaw. AWESOME.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      I made this sauce to go with pulled pork for sandwiches---it was perfect, I will have to double it the next time or invite less people for dinner....lol Thanks for the "perfect sauce" recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Obviously very easy to make, and it added a nice twang to the pulled pork...but not too much twang. I poured the entire amount over the shredded pork, then tossed the two together. And it really made a difference when the leftovers were reheated the next day...very moist and even more flavorful. Definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      I have to agree with Jaymee. This is the sauce I remember so well in NC.. and I also added the red pepper flakes. (If you want to add hot sauce, which is on every table in the south, you need to do it while it is on your plate!) Awesome sauce! Now I just need to find that recipe for barbecued slaw to go with it. YUMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Incredible. I added a little bit more brown sugar. I was worried about how much it tasted like vinegar, but when I mixed it in with the pork, it was perfect. The acidity cut the fattiness of the pork. The most highly praised pulled pork sandwiches were those with a mixture of some pork with the pig pickin sauce and some pork with mean chef's molasses bbq sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I made this to braise my pulled pork in order to keep it tender and moist and it was wonderful! I altered the recipe a bit and used 1/2 c vinegar, 1/4 c brown sugar, and added a few red pepper flakes. Some sweetness, with a touch of heat. MMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I ALWAYS make this sauce when I make pulled pork. My son and I prefer it to the molasses based ones! I usually add a touch more brown sugar than is called for, and I like to sprinkle some red pepper flakes in as well. I have been using this recipe for years along with Mean Chef's Pulled Pork recipe, and cannot believe I never reviewed it before! 5 stars all the way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Simply fabulous with pulled pork. Made my own buns "soft As Wonder" White Bread, coleslaw from Dinosaur BBQ, and Crock Pot Pulled Pork. Can't get better than this! Love it! I buttered the buns and grilled them before topping them with pork and slaw per Chef #277594. Thanks much for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This is IT! I lived in Eastern NC for 10 yrs. and fell in love with the pulled pork they serve there. This sauce is what makes it so different from other pulled pork recipes. I just soaked my cooked pulled pork in this sauce before throwing it on a bun that has been buttered and browned in a frying pan. Then topped with cole slaw and you'll think you're in NC again. Thank you so much for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This is outstanding with Mean Chef's Pulled Pork Sandwich recipe! We were not sure if we liked this, as we taste tested without the meat. But generously spooned onto the meat-yum!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Delicious with pulled pork sandwiches! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Perfect with pulled pork or as a mop for your ribs. Very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      This was much too vinegary for me. The vinegar was so over powering, I couldn't taste anything else in the sauce except for the cayenne. I had to add a lot more brown sugar to get it to where I liked it. I think in the end, I added probably a cup of brown sugar. A tablespoon just didn't cut it with a whole cup of vinegar. I'm sorry this didn't work out for me like your other recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      When I made this...I tasted it before I put it on the pork....I normally am a fan of vinegary sauces...North Carolina style....I thought it seemed like a dressing more than a sauce...then I put it on my pork and whoa nelly! It really compliments the flavor in a beautiful way!!! It is so simple that it seems like it can't be as good as something more complicated....DON'T LET THE SIMPLICITY SCARE YOU AWAY! This is really good stuff!!!! Thanks Mean Chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pig Pickin Sauce by Mean Chef

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    58%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2343.5 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes