70 Reviews

This sauce is one of the three I made to go with your pulled pork. It was good, but a little too vinegary for our tastes. I'm glad we tried it but will probably stick to the molasses bbq sauce next time. We felt it took away from the flavours of the rub and the pork and kinda took our breath away with the vinegar. Thanks for the experience, it was worth trying!!

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 20, 2002

Delicious. An absolute must with pulled pork. The vinegar really enhances the sweetness of the pork, and the pepper adds a good hint of heat. I think a previous reviewer who felt it was too strong simply used too much of it... it should be applied judiciously, just enought to moisten the meat and flavor it, not poured on like a typical red barbecue sauce.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy K October 31, 2002

Hey there, Mean Chef, I hope you see my post in "Everything Else". We roasted a whole pig, about 140 lbs., and I made up a batch of this sauce to use on a samll portion of it. The sauce that I had years ago had red pepper flakes in it, so I substituted that for the cayenne. Well, it wasn't hot enough, and we were camping, so I didn't have all my seasonings available. Somebody produced a bottle of hot sauce, and we used that. It was great, but not an exact science. I would recommend adding a little, mix, and taste. Add more, mix, and taste. That's what we did. And the next time I make it, I'll add the cayenne to the sauce, and the red pepper flakes DIRECTLY TO THE MEAT. GOOD STUFF!!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess September 09, 2002

Made this serve with Pulled Pork. So easy to make and added the perfect taste to the pork. Will definitely make this again when I serve pulled pork.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess October 23, 2002

This is the perfect accompaniment. Easy as anything to make. I agree with Tracy when she says that you just use a small amount, rather than pour it over like a regular BBQ sauce. It is too thin to do that anyway - a little goes a long way. I like the way the vinegaryness of it cuts the richness of the meat. Excellent.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango November 11, 2002

Good stuff! Went with the suggestions and used it to just moisten the meat. Got rave reviews.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex November 18, 2002

This is EXACTLY the "North Carolina Barbeque" recipe I was looking for.It was just as good as I remembered from living in Eastern NC. (Almost made me want to shag!!) I did use half cayenne and half red pepper flakes, the only adjustment, just because I like the flakes in it. Oh yeah, and on my heaping pork-filled bun, I slopped on a large mess of slaw. AWESOME.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaymee November 03, 2002

I made this sauce to go with pulled pork for sandwiches---it was perfect, I will have to double it the next time or invite less people for dinner....lol Thanks for the "perfect sauce" recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers October 24, 2002

Obviously very easy to make, and it added a nice twang to the pulled pork...but not too much twang. I poured the entire amount over the shredded pork, then tossed the two together. And it really made a difference when the leftovers were reheated the next day...very moist and even more flavorful. Definate keeper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. November 26, 2002

I have to agree with Jaymee. This is the sauce I remember so well in NC.. and I also added the red pepper flakes. (If you want to add hot sauce, which is on every table in the south, you need to do it while it is on your plate!) Awesome sauce! Now I just need to find that recipe for barbecued slaw to go with it. YUMMMM

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb k December 01, 2002
Pig Pickin Sauce by Mean Chef