19 Reviews

I am so glad I found this recipe! I have found that I use two large tomatoes (which end up weighing over 1lb), a small onion (which ends up only being about 3/4 cup cut up small), two large jalapeno peppers (which are about 1/2 cup cut up), the cilantro, garlic, and salt as directed, but only 2 tsp instead of Tbsp of lime juice. This makes for a SPICY salsa, but my family loves it! This along with the Mexican Rice (Recipe 117892, sorry I don't know how to add links) have become regulars for Mexican night at my house! (Sometimes I wish I hadn't found them because I don't get to order Mexican out anymore; my family thinks they are better then the take out we used to get!) For me this recipe actually takes more like 20-30 minutes to prepare. I am a slow cook with three small kids, but I can't imagine it only taking 5 including washing and seeding everything. And one word of caution: wear food prep gloves when you make it if you can! The first two times I made this my hands felt like they were on fire all night!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephfunk May 12, 2012

This is very good! I liked it better after letting it sit for a couple of hours. Loved the colors. Made for Holiday Tag....thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 07, 2011

We love pico do gallo and this did not disappoint. We had jalapenos on the side because of personal taste. Made for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn May 01, 2011

Simple and delicious! This worked great both as a dip and as a topping for tacos and burrito bowls. Thanks for sharing! Best of 2011 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 06, 2012

Bright and fresh, simple and tasty. We loved this with our chili tonight thanks Syd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 10, 2011

This is pretty close to my own standard Pico de Gallo recipe. I used Roma tomatoes and only one jalapeno (but it was a hot one!). The garlic, to me, is absolutely essential! I also added a dash of black pepper. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl September 06, 2011

Excellent summer relish!
This recipe name sounds strange, but but you will be glad you know what it is after you taste it!
It is really easy, fast and soooo tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde September 02, 2011

Easy recipe - I was out of jalapenos but wanted a little zing so I used some sricacha pepper sauce instead - I also added a splash of vinegar to help bring it along. I didn't add garlic - but the sriacha has some in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Danny April 03, 2011

Pretty standard recipe, no surprises and easy to make. I added 1-2 TBSP of white vinegar, essential in bringing the flavors of pico together. Delicious and fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spoan April 01, 2011

I toned the heat down by using cayenne pepper powder instead of jalapeno peppers to taste. I even used a good canned tomatoes and DD and I enjoyed this with rice crackers. I'd like to try this again with fresh tomatoes. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game Dec. 2010 - Jan. 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 09, 2011
Pico De Gallo