Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pico De Gallo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pico De Gallo

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2012

      I am so glad I found this recipe! I have found that I use two large tomatoes (which end up weighing over 1lb), a small onion (which ends up only being about 3/4 cup cut up small), two large jalapeno peppers (which are about 1/2 cup cut up), the cilantro, garlic, and salt as directed, but only 2 tsp instead of Tbsp of lime juice. This makes for a SPICY salsa, but my family loves it! This along with the Mexican Rice (Recipe 117892, sorry I don't know how to add links) have become regulars for Mexican night at my house! (Sometimes I wish I hadn't found them because I don't get to order Mexican out anymore; my family thinks they are better then the take out we used to get!) For me this recipe actually takes more like 20-30 minutes to prepare. I am a slow cook with three small kids, but I can't imagine it only taking 5 including washing and seeding everything. And one word of caution: wear food prep gloves when you make it if you can! The first two times I made this my hands felt like they were on fire all night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This is very good! I liked it better after letting it sit for a couple of hours. Loved the colors. Made for Holiday Tag....thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      We love pico do gallo and this did not disappoint. We had jalapenos on the side because of personal taste. Made for Zaar Stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Simple and delicious! This worked great both as a dip and as a topping for tacos and burrito bowls. Thanks for sharing! Best of 2011 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Bright and fresh, simple and tasty. We loved this with our chili tonight thanks Syd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      This is pretty close to my own standard Pico de Gallo recipe. I used Roma tomatoes and only one jalapeno (but it was a hot one!). The garlic, to me, is absolutely essential! I also added a dash of black pepper. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Excellent summer relish!
      This recipe name sounds strange, but but you will be glad you know what it is after you taste it!
      It is really easy, fast and soooo tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Easy recipe - I was out of jalapenos but wanted a little zing so I used some sricacha pepper sauce instead - I also added a splash of vinegar to help bring it along. I didn't add garlic - but the sriacha has some in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      Pretty standard recipe, no surprises and easy to make. I added 1-2 TBSP of white vinegar, essential in bringing the flavors of pico together. Delicious and fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I toned the heat down by using cayenne pepper powder instead of jalapeno peppers to taste. I even used a good canned tomatoes and DD and I enjoyed this with rice crackers. I'd like to try this again with fresh tomatoes. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game Dec. 2010 - Jan. 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      I have really enjoyed this pico de gallo both times that I have made it. I have to use only 1/2 a jalapeno since I'm not used to very spicy foods though. Love to use it on a salad or enchiladas with green chile chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Made this with tomatoes from the garden, and served over black beans and brown rice. Delicious! :) Made for Zaar Stars game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Made this over the weekend and served it to a couple of GF's and wall really enjoyed this, I did increase the salt and used seasoned salt, thank you Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Excellent salsa! I enjoyed the spark of the lime and the herby flavor of the cilantro. I used it for the top layer in Daymented Taco Dip. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I cut this back by 2/3's and made it the night before we ate it (for Mexican Night at our house) and I am glad I did! The flavors really really come together beautifully over night (or with a longer resting period). I really loved the garlic (don't know that I have had Pico De Gallo with garlic before) and this is definitely tops in my book for pico recipes! Thanks for posting Syd -- going into my favorites of 2010 cookbook! :) Made for Veg*n Swap April 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      We loved this. Although it could have had more heat for us hotties. This is really good the next day after all the ingredients blend together. I prepared it to serve with Chicken Tortas. Because we enjoy so much heat next time I plan to double the jalapeno's or throw in some habanaros. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Can't wait to make this in the summer with real garden tomatoes! Mine didn't last for three days .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      My husband really enjoyed this. I did use a combination of fresh and canned tomatoes. I initially made it to go with Crispy Taquitos. The recipe made enough to allow us to eat it throughout the week...on omelettes, with Carnitas, and as a snack with whole grain Tostito chips. My husband has requested that I make this often because it is so versatile. Thank you for the recipe...it is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      My DH and I really enjoyed this dip. It has just the right amount of heat without being too spicy or overpowing. Thanks Mike for such a great recipe. Made for the Dining Daredevils team for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pico De Gallo

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    83%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 103.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes