Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pickled Green Beans (Dilly Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Green Beans (Dilly Beans)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2009

      These are great! Dilly Beans are easy, fun, and a perfect beginning canning project. Here is a note for beginners: despite what some reviewers may post, it is NOT advisable to alter the proportions of vinegar/water/salt/sugar in a canning recipe. Canning is about chemistry; the right chemistry preserves your food...the wrong chemistry can fail to preserve the food, and people who consume it can become quite ill or worse. This is why measurements need to be exact, and recipes should come from a reliable source. Please read about proper canning practices in a publication like the Ball Blue Book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      These were great. They were crisp and spicy, but not too spicy. These beans will become a yearly event in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      How long are these suppose to sit for before eating??? My other beans i make take anywhere from 4-8 weeks. Just trying new recipes. Does anyone have an answer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

    • on June 21, 2010

      These are so good! I made a few pints of these last year (an experiment as we've never made Dilly Beans) and were blown away by the taste sensation in these little beans. Try putting them on a salad...delicioso! Thanks for the recipe; I added it to my annual canning cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

    • on November 27, 2009

    • on October 12, 2009

      I made this recipe a while ago and have been waiting for them to mature. It was well worth the wait. Crisp beans that go so well with many dishes or just as they are straight from the jar. We have taken these with hot dogs where they add another dimension to one of our favorite snacks. Wonderful beans, thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! My uncle used the same one, and I loved these when he made them. I did modify the recipe by cutting back the vinegar to 4 cups, and increasing the water to 6 cups. I also cut back on the red pepper flakes, because I had made these before, and it was a little too much heat for me. I also did one jar with a piece of ginger in it to see what that would be like. I haven't tried them yet, I will post when I do. My nieces MIL makes an appetizer out of these by spreading hard salami slices with cream cheese and placing a dilly bean on that and rolling it up. YUMMY!!! Thanks Matthew for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      What a great recipe. I am so glad you found it and were able to share it. Even after only one month of "sitting" they are fantastic. Very crisp and spicy!! A sure hit with all of my people!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      My boys & husband love these. They are very tart but crispy. Will be sad when they are all gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe. Tried just a few jars this past year. Will be canning more next year. Really crispy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      We attended Mardi Gras this past year and the bartenders there put pickled green beens in there Bloody Marys. So when I got home we looked it up, this is a great recipe and my husband and all our friends and family love them. They are his new favorite snack while he is watching TV. He just said to me yesterday maybe we should make up a big batch and use them for Christmas presents. Not a bad Idea... Thanks Great easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      My first attempt at making pickled green beans. Glad I picked this receipe - it's very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This is the first time I ever canned Dilly Beans~ My husband & I were pleasantly surprised! These are lip smackin' good!! Very EASY recipe! Thank U!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Last year I took a Canning class and fell in love. One of the recipes they taught was Dilly Beans, and handed out a print out of this recipe. Thats when I fell in love with recipezaar, canning, dilly beans and this specific recipe. I finally got around to leaving a much deserved review. I make a batch of dilly beans once a month now. They are perfect with cold cuts in wraps. Or straight out of the jar. I give them as gifts as well. Thank you for the perfect, easy, recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

    • on July 04, 2007

      I tried this on Sunday and it is a big hit. My Aunt use to make these and it tasted so much like hers it brought back memories. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      When my friends tried this it only lasted four days.(I doubled the garlic)YUM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Fabulous recipe....just what I have been looking for....very easy to adjust the quantities too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Green Beans (Dilly Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 19.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    75%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1418.9 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites