32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and Excellent. How much better could it be? Great flavor with the jalapeno peppers but I am tempted to try this with habaneros just to 'heat' 'em up a little more. Definite keeper and definitely eager to see garlic season arrive.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Young April 19, 2003

Here is another rave review for your pickled garlic, Bergy. I made them for my DH because he adores garlic, so I knew he would find them tasty. But, I admit I was pretty leary of munching on a garlic clove myself. But, I gave one a tiny nibble and couldn't believe how delicious they were. Why don't these make your breath stink, which was my biggest concern. I had visions of sleeping on the couch after DH indulged in a handful of these hot babies. But, I snuggled as usual with no disturbance to my sleep. I also "cheated" and bought a huge jar - about 4 cups - of whole, peeled garlic. It's in the vegetable section of my grocery store. Normally I don't use these, preferring to cut and peel my own, but these are a wonderful time saver and are worth the small sacrifice of flavor, I think. 5 stars for you, Bergy, and a round of applause!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema June 28, 2003

Well, I'm adding this after Dad, even though he tried them first when I made them :) Simply delicious. Had a hard time waiting two weeks for them though, and I imagine I will have an even harder time next time I make them since I know how good they are, thank you so much.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kevin Young May 18, 2003

A helpful tip for people who hate peeling garlic as much as I do. If you blanch the garlic cloves first they peel like a dream. Here's how: separate the cloves then drop them (in their skins) into boiling water for about 60 seconds. Using slotted spoon, take them from the boiling water and immerse them in ice bath (I use my kitchen sink) for a minute. Then juse peel them up

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Maven August 11, 2008

Great recipe Bergy. The garlic was a drag to peel but otherwise it is a good recipe....and soooooo tasty. I charred the capsicum (pepper) over a flame and then steamed, cooled and removed the skin, did give a lovely roasted taste to it. I didn't have any really flavoursome chilis available so I used some cayenne peppers...they were ok but next time I will definately try something with a bit more zap to it. Took these to work (catering business) and everyone loved them, the jar of garlic was used up in several antipasto dishes. Guess I will be making some more soon.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Romany The Cat December 08, 2003

I am really enjoying my little jar of pickled garlic, although I didn't find the garlic taste diminished much from the fresh cloves (a good thing, as far as I'm concerned!). For peppers, I used four baby habs grown in our garden, which just gave it a nice heat. My habs come out very small though, so if you're using full sized ones just a single pepper would probably sufice!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville February 09, 2004

Great taste. I used the chili petine peppers that grow wild here in South Texas. The garlic is sweet hot and oh so good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasjj October 10, 2003

Unfortunately, I'm going to have to make these again. I hate peeling garlic! My mother asked for the recipe and for extra jars to give to her friends. What better review could there be. Thanks for putting this on here.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloraandMerriwether June 05, 2003

If following USDA guidelines, use these directions:
Fill hot jars with the garlic, leaving 1-inch headspace. Cover with hot pickling liquid, leaving ½-inch headspace.
Remove air bubbles and adjust headspace if needed.
Wipe rims of jars with a dampened, clean paper towel; adjust two-piece metal canning lids.
Process in a boiling water bath for ten minutes (up to 1000 feet in elevation, 15 minutes up to 5000 feet in elevation, 20 minutes at higher elevations).
Let cool, undisturbed, 12 to 24 hours and check the lids for tight seals (the button in the top should be concave).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul June 12, 2011

I made these and promptly forgot about them. Glad I did 'cause when I found them while clearing the canning shelf I tasted them and realized they wouldn't have lasted long enough to share with people. I'm going to the store this week to get peeled garlic to make more. What a great addition to gift baskets. Minced and stirred into cream cheese, sliced on sandwiches or tossed into all kinds of pasta, soups and casseroles - YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field September 08, 2010
Pickled Garlic with Hot Pepper