Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pickled Garlic with Hot Pepper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Garlic with Hot Pepper

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2003

      Easy and Excellent. How much better could it be? Great flavor with the jalapeno peppers but I am tempted to try this with habaneros just to 'heat' 'em up a little more. Definite keeper and definitely eager to see garlic season arrive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2003

      Here is another rave review for your pickled garlic, Bergy. I made them for my DH because he adores garlic, so I knew he would find them tasty. But, I admit I was pretty leary of munching on a garlic clove myself. But, I gave one a tiny nibble and couldn't believe how delicious they were. Why don't these make your breath stink, which was my biggest concern. I had visions of sleeping on the couch after DH indulged in a handful of these hot babies. But, I snuggled as usual with no disturbance to my sleep. I also "cheated" and bought a huge jar - about 4 cups - of whole, peeled garlic. It's in the vegetable section of my grocery store. Normally I don't use these, preferring to cut and peel my own, but these are a wonderful time saver and are worth the small sacrifice of flavor, I think. 5 stars for you, Bergy, and a round of applause!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Well, I'm adding this after Dad, even though he tried them first when I made them :) Simply delicious. Had a hard time waiting two weeks for them though, and I imagine I will have an even harder time next time I make them since I know how good they are, thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      A helpful tip for people who hate peeling garlic as much as I do. If you blanch the garlic cloves first they peel like a dream. Here's how: separate the cloves then drop them (in their skins) into boiling water for about 60 seconds. Using slotted spoon, take them from the boiling water and immerse them in ice bath (I use my kitchen sink) for a minute. Then juse peel them up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Great recipe Bergy. The garlic was a drag to peel but otherwise it is a good recipe....and soooooo tasty. I charred the capsicum (pepper) over a flame and then steamed, cooled and removed the skin, did give a lovely roasted taste to it. I didn't have any really flavoursome chilis available so I used some cayenne peppers...they were ok but next time I will definately try something with a bit more zap to it. Took these to work (catering business) and everyone loved them, the jar of garlic was used up in several antipasto dishes. Guess I will be making some more soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I am really enjoying my little jar of pickled garlic, although I didn't find the garlic taste diminished much from the fresh cloves (a good thing, as far as I'm concerned!). For peppers, I used four baby habs grown in our garden, which just gave it a nice heat. My habs come out very small though, so if you're using full sized ones just a single pepper would probably sufice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      Great taste. I used the chili petine peppers that grow wild here in South Texas. The garlic is sweet hot and oh so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Unfortunately, I'm going to have to make these again. I hate peeling garlic! My mother asked for the recipe and for extra jars to give to her friends. What better review could there be. Thanks for putting this on here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      If following USDA guidelines, use these directions:
      Fill hot jars with the garlic, leaving 1-inch headspace. Cover with hot pickling liquid, leaving ½-inch headspace.
      Remove air bubbles and adjust headspace if needed.
      Wipe rims of jars with a dampened, clean paper towel; adjust two-piece metal canning lids.
      Process in a boiling water bath for ten minutes (up to 1000 feet in elevation, 15 minutes up to 5000 feet in elevation, 20 minutes at higher elevations).
      Let cool, undisturbed, 12 to 24 hours and check the lids for tight seals (the button in the top should be concave).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I made these and promptly forgot about them. Glad I did 'cause when I found them while clearing the canning shelf I tasted them and realized they wouldn't have lasted long enough to share with people. I'm going to the store this week to get peeled garlic to make more. What a great addition to gift baskets. Minced and stirred into cream cheese, sliced on sandwiches or tossed into all kinds of pasta, soups and casseroles - YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      these are great, i did not have any red peppers on hand so i added some red pepper flakes and whole peppercorns,gave some to my mother who loved them very much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      Made with Jalapenos and they weren't very hot at all - my whole family loves them as they are though and they're almost gone. This was my first canning experience and I'm pleased with the result. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      What fabulous flavor! I didn't wait the full 2 weeks as I had a cold and figured that this would be a great source of Vit C. The flavor was overwhelming at first, but once I had chewed on a few to get a good feel for them I was very pleased. These are great by themselves, chopped into tuna, or slivered into a pasta salad. And there is an added benefit, much to my delight: they cleared my sinuses like a dream, without drowsiness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Made these last summer with peppers from garden. Just opened and tried these for the first time. These are incredibly delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I found this recipe over a year ago, but I didn't get a chance to make it until about a month ago. I was SO excited to try these, especially after the hell of peeling all the garlic & cutting the peppers (my hands hurt for a week afterwards!), plus waiting two weeks is excruciating! But when I finally opened a jar I was disappointed to find them to be so overly sweet. They still have a really good flavor, but they are so sweet that eating more than a few makes my tummy hurt (needless to say I ate them anyways!). Well I am determined to make this recipe work, so tonight I made another batch! This time I used 1 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup pickling salt. I also cut the sweet red pepper in half and doubled the hot pepper. For a little extra flavor I added some fresh dill & red pepper flakes to the bottom of the jar. Just tasting the liquid mixture I could tell that I will like this batch a lot better! Now I just have to survive the next 2 weeks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Oh my Goodness! These bad boys are OUTSTANDING! I roughly chopped about a dozen skinny mostly red & a few green Kung Pao peppers that I threw into the pot & divided them among the 1/2 pint containers. I did boil the garlic & peppers only 2 minutes in the vinegar-sugar liquid & then hot water bath processed them for 10 minutes in hot boiled 1/2 pint jars. Today was the 13th day & I couldn't wait any longer. Seals were all fine & the vinegar was clear - had a pale coral colored cast from the peppers. Opened a jar up & WOW! The garlic cloves are crisp, spicy (but not overly hot), tangy and a little sweet - all at once! I am so glad they didn't get soft - capturing the crisp texture & sharpness of uncooked garlic was important to me. The pickling flavor has penetrated the garlic cloves (these are big uns too) well. I have made 2 batches & will make another couple to include in Christmas baskets - they are that pretty to look at & that tasty! Thank you Bergy for a real keeper! edited to add - the liquid makes the best sauce on smoked pork shoulder BBQ! Whooowhee - bought a jug of already peeled at Costco & am going for pints of this now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I'm rating this on the basis of the procedure because I'm still waiting to open and taste them. ULTRA easy and quick to prepare! (I used a bag of peeled garlic from the grocery store) It was actually so easy that after I did the 1 1/2 pounds, I decided to continue and I did another pound. They look beautiful in the jar too! Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Made these just two days ago, so....I still have 12 more sleeps before I can try them. If they are anything like Bergy's Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers, I won't be disappointed. I used 12 heads of garlic and thai chili peppers, as well as the sweet red pepper slices. I also added a tsp each of dried dill and celery seed. I ended up with 5 half pints. I blanched the cloves as suggested by Red Maven. Worked like a dream. Some of the smaller cloves were a little on the soft side, so once I try them I'll decide whether to continue with the blanching method, or simple peel those little darlings the long way. I'll be back on the 22nd to add my five stars!!! It's the 22nd, and I could hardly wait to try the garlic. Well, there is only one word I have that is suitable. *FANTASTIC* Nothing else needs to be said. Thanks again Bergy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I am only commenting on the process for now since I still have two weeks to wait to eat them. I don't have a scale so I just put the garlic cloves in my pint jars to measure how many I would need before hand. I doubled the recipe to make 4 full pints. I did not include the optional sweet pepper. I thought I could have used half the amount of vinegar sugar mix because there was TONS left over and felt wasteful. I also cheated and bought already peeled garlic. They look and smell wonderful and can't wait to try them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      These had good flavor, but why did the garlic cloves have blueish spots in them? I'm sure I could've used the garlic in recipes, as eating one alone was kind of weird, but with the blueish spots I wasn't sure what I did wrong! Maybe I can try again... but wouldn't know what to change!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Garlic with Hot Pepper

    Serving Size: 1 (2248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.5
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    59%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 46.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 132.2 g
    44%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 73.2 g
    293%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites