Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pickled Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Beets

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2008

      Top stuff. I have never pickled beets before, and this recipe was just absolutely perfect. It is so simple!! (except for peeling the beets) I added some lemons cut into small, but thick triangles, and they made for an excellent contrast when I put them in their jars, as well as adding a little extra zing. I also roasted the beets instead of boiling, I got a lot of advice that this is a better way to keep better colour and flavour. Thanks very much Tara, I will make this again and agian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I loved the smell of these! We had planted lots of beets this year, so this helped to preserve them (and with Christmas gifts)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Teriffic, I didn't have cinnamon sticks but these are just like my Pennsylvania Dutch childhood memory.I used half the recipe for about 8-12 medium sized beets first ovenroasted and then peeled & chunked to pickle size and then on to step3. From step 3 to a Corning covered dish in the fridge. Better than a dill pickle with a sandwich !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I have made this recipe twice now. The first time they didn't make it to the canner, my family just ate them all (it was a small batch). I just canned a second batch yesterday. Thanks for sharing! THey are easy to make and very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Thanks, Tara!! Just a perfect combination of flavors...not too sweet or tart! My "Reason for Living" couldn't get enough! I'm going to plant more beets today!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      My grandmother used to make these and we always loved them with our meals. I decided to try my hand at them myself. My husband was eating them as fast as he could spoon them out of the jar. I loved the spices and wouldn't change a thing. Great! Becky

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      This looks like a great recipe. I am going to try it. But, I want to clarify, for safety's sake about the canning. Because these are pickled beets and contain a lot of vinegar, they do not need to be pressure canned. But, if you were to can beets plain, without pickling, you must pressure can them or they could make you very, very sick. Vegetables cannot be water bath canned unless you are pickling them with lots of vinegar or lemon juice because they are low in acidity. Also, each food that is canned usually has its own time and pressure that must be used, so the half amount of time is not a good guide to go by. I don't mean to be mean or bossy, I just worry that people will think that you can interchange water bath with pressure canning, and that is not the case. Fruits, jams and pickles may be water bathed, but meats and vegetables must be pressure canned. Thanks again for the recipe. Your jars look beautiful in the photo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      Yummy, nice old-fashioned flavor, I made some with red beets and some with golden beets. I'm surprised this recipe doesn't call for salt, both for a preservative and for flavor balance. I added 1/2 tsp of kosher salt (coarser than pickling salt) per pint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Wow, these are so easy to do. Messy, but easy. DH loves pickled beets and I've never tried to make them for him. I was given some fresh beets so I thought why not. I'm so glad I did, I love them. DH is very happy too! Thank for sharing your recipe with us. Its a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      This reminds me of a recipe my grandmother made when I was a child. Since we lost her in 1986, I haven't been able to find any beets that I like or a recipe that could even come close to duplicating her's. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change anything! I pressure sealed the jars at 10 pounds for 10 minutes and it worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing. This took me (and my dad) back 27 years and I'm sure I'll be making it over and over again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I like this because it's not so sugary sweet. I can taste the blend of the spice in it and they make a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      Loved this, easy and yummy. My parents said "THis is the way to make Real beets"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This recipe is super easy to make. I roasted the beets as another reviewer suggested so the overall cooking time was longer but worth it. The finished product was delicious and will make again! Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. Great in salads! Thanks for posting. I plan to make a few more batches - the first one is going quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      Now please believe me on this...I have a husband who HATES beets. I made these last year and he went nuts over them! I LOVE them, he LOVES them!!! Sorry it took me a year to leave feedback on this recipe. I am getting ready to can beets again so had to come find the recipe . Will NEVER use another recipe for beets other then this one! Wish there was more stars for the rating!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I just love this recipe. It reminds of my grandma's beets that she would serve for us as kids...memories...yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I have been looking for a recipe close to mymothers' and this is it. Easy to make and great flavor. Now I can carry on the tradition of pickled eggs and beets for the holidays. Great flavor - definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Very good recipe Tara. I used half cider vinegar and half white vinegar and I used ground cinnamon instead of cinnamon sticks. Excellent...very nice flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I used this recipe last year, and the product received much approval from friends to whom I gave jars, and the beets were greatly to my liking, too. I cooked my beets in the microwave oven; in this way, there is no need to worry about 'bleeding'. If the beets are of different sizes, I monitor the cooking and take out the smaller ones when they are yielding to the touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I loved these and I used spenda for the sugar for health nuts just as wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (5438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.6
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    60%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 455.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.2 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 11.8 g
    47%
    Sugars 103.7 g
    414%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites