Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Perfect Steamed Rice Every Time Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Steamed Rice Every Time

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2014

      We have been having trouble getting our rice to come out right since we moved into a house with well water. This technique worked wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I was sketical at first, but the rice came out perfect! And no rice cooker needed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Perferctly cooked to my observant guests delight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      Maybe there are people who are just not meant to cook rice. I have tried this recipe at least a dozen times. While I've cooked rice a couple of times that was marginally edible, it has usually come out either crunchy or soggy. It may have something to do with the size of the pot. Does'nt the proportion of water to rice change with the size of the pot?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Finally cooked right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I love to eat white steam rice with soy sauce and I always have to buy the rice - not anymore. This worked perfect for me - thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Perfect- and so easy. Now everyone can make steamed rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Perfection!! For years I have tried to duplicate the rice that I get at my favorite restraunt, and today I did it. I followed your directions exactly, thank you so much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      This is the best way to make rice. The other great thing about this method is once it is cooked and off the heat, you can leave it for a while as long as you don't remove the lid. Made for the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I have always stuggled with making rice. It seems like it should be so simple to cook but for me it never was....unitl now. This worked perfectly. Followed the recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Just half the recipe but as you say, perfect rice! Made for the Chinese New Year Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I just tried this method and it does make perfect rice!!! I have always had difficulty making rice and had just about given up when I was inspired by this method. I separately sauteed some mushrooms, frozen peas,and diced onion in butter and then added them to the rice. What a side dish - now if I add some beef or chicken . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I am so thankful for this technique! It seems that every "chef" should be able to make rice, but I'll admit it, I'm challenged in this department. I was so tired of icky instant rice, or gloppy, sticky regular rice that I've been on a mission to get this right. You finally helped me out! When I washed the rice I used a fine strainer in the sink so as to not lose the grains of rice down the sink - it worked well. At the end, the rice just started to burn, but I caught it in time and only had a few slightly brown pieces. Thus, the timing on this recipe is perfect, because I let it go about 30 seconds pass the timer. If you are "rice challenged", like me, you really need to try this recipe. We had this with our Chinese menu tonight and it was perfect! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      i was so excited about how my rice turned out i could have cried! this was perfect and i'm always going to do rice like this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I took note of all the instructions - didn't rush the somewhat tricky _scrubbing_ or leave the area or fall asleep. I paid strict attention to that pan, setting my timers to precisely monitor elasped minutes. I used a tight-fitting glass lid so I could play peeping-tom without being unduly tempted to lift said lid. ;-) I dutifully rousted out the chopsticks and fluffed and fluffed. TADA - *perfect rice* as advertised. Now I can't say that I'll be as diligent everytime I steam rice but I can say that I know the *perfect* method! Thanks for posting! It was fun to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Steamed Rice Every Time

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    62%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes