Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Perfect Short-Grain White Rice by Listening (Japanese, Korean, C Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Short-Grain White Rice by Listening (Japanese, Korean, C

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2014

      First time EVER to make perfect rice!!! I was skeptical that these instructions would work, because most rice instructions say to put 2 parts water and 1 part rice. This method is 1 to 1 instead. I thought to myself that the rice would not have enough water and would turn out hard and uncooked. But despite my doubt, I tried these instructions EXACTLY how they were given. To my (pleasant) surprise, the rice turned out PERFECT!!! Finally, a go-to recipe to achieve perfect consistency of rice. I am soooooooo excited :D After years of mushy, gross rice.. I've found the way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      Excellent method! It produced the texture that I always try for (and fail). Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Great advice for cooking short grain rice, which is something I did for the first time today! following this recipe gave me perfect sticky rice which topped of our dinner of Thai Pineapple Curry :O) Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Consistently, this has been my go to recipe for short grained rice. I make it in a regular pot with a good tight lid. The timing is perfect, and it never-ever-never comes out wrong. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      EXCELLENT!!! Thanks for the all the detailed guidance. I love when recipes tell you every alternative. This comes out perfect every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      i was hesitant to make this, but only because i just barely learned how to make my regular white rice without it being sticky and mushy. however, i love steamed rice but we don't have a steamer. i'm not the greatest cook in the world, and i haven't fully developed my cooking instinct. so when i was making it, i wasn't sure if i was hearing everything right. the dancing part was easier to hear for me than the hiss because it was hard for me to hear the bubbling. however, i must've been right because it came out perfect. the bottom wasn't browned but i don't mind. i didn't think it was going to take quite so long but it was worth it. i'm sure it was amusing for my family to see me sitting next to the stove on a stool leaning towards the pot to try to hear it, but i'm glad i did :) the rice came out perfectly sticky like in a steamer! thanks so much for sharing the art of making japanese rice just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      A never fail method for cooking rice. I'm sure this will be cherished by us rice lovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      My japanese grandma showed me this but she also measured the rice/water ratio with her fingertips. Don't ask me how but it worked everytime for her...i have always measured though because I dont trust myself haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Awemazing! The first time I have ever fixed rice that my husband would eat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I have made this recipe more times than I can count on multiple stoves, electric and gas and it is ALWAYS PERFECT! Finally a fool proof way to make perfect rice both regular and fried rice. YUMMY! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Thank you sooo much for teaching us all how to make this type of rice! My DH spontaneously said, "Honey, this rice is SO GOOD! Did you do somthing different?" Needless to say, I'll be making this often. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Worked like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Great recipe. Rice comes out perfect!! Usually avoided making white rice because it would always come out gooey. Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Comes out perfect every time and I've made it a lot! This is the only way I'll cook rice now. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This was perfect! Thanks for the recipe and the story.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Wonderful way to make short-grain rice and I love the lullabye! I could never get the hang of cooking Japanese rice and here it works out beautifully. Thank you for posting Nose, great insstructions. Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      I've used this recipe 5 times and it comes out great everytime!! Thanks for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      came out really nice but takes alot longer than the regular 20 minutes for good steamed rice! Thanks for sharing Mama

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      Well, I've got nice fluffy chewy rice with a crunchy bottom so I guess it's a five-star! I used a small claypot which didn't exactly have a tight lid. I rinsed out the rice (1 cup rice), used 1 cup of water. The rice had retained some water from the rinsing (about 1.5 or 2 tbs). I had to lift the lid a couple of times (very quickly!!) and after the final lifting of lid (step 14), I fluffed up the rice and put some Unagi (Japanese BBQ eel) on top to warm up. It is seriously good! Thank you for posting this. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      I live in Japan. I tried and tried to duplicate japanese rice, but all of the japanese nationals use rice cookers, and couldn't give me much advice. My rice always turned out gummy and gloppy. I tried this recipe, and voila, my rice turned out just like rice at a real Japanese restaurant! This is the only method I use for cooking genuine japanese rice. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Short-Grain White Rice by Listening (Japanese, Korean, C

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.0
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    30%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.1 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes