Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Perfect No Fail Basmati Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect No Fail Basmati Rice

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      Best I have ever made. I put a few TBSP of oil with chopped onion and garlic in the pot first. I then fry the rice for a few minutes add chicken stock and VOILA!! PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Thank you! Takes about 15 minutes on the stove before the 5 min rest time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      This was my first Basmati rice and it turned out perfect. I only added some salt with rice and water and that's all. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      EXCELLENT!! Added a pinch of salt, half a bay leaf (crumbled) and a pod of cardamom seeds. The rice came out perfect. I will only use this technique from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      My go to recipe for rice now. Easy, quick, and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      I used brown basmati rice and don't have a pot that has a clear lid so I did have to peek a few times to see if the water was evaporated. It took about 10 minutes, but next time I'll time it. Turned out perfect anyways. Salt and butter would be good in the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This really was perfect, no fail basmati. I love this method because I can turn the heat off and let the rice continue to steam dry while I focus on the entree portion of the meal. Thank you so much for posting this! I will always cook my rice this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Basmati is the best, most versital variety of rice. Just the right amount of fragrance and flavor, but not overpowering as I've found Jasmine rice to be for most dishes. White and brown rice are just too bland and boring unless cooked in broth. I've never been able to make any kind of rice just right, until following this recipe. Rinsing (and rinsing some more) is the key! I followed exactly, and made the best rice ever. Served with teriyaki chicken and fresh-steamed veggies. So perfect, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      THANK YOU!! This is perfect. I will never have to search for another way to make basmati rice. So quick, easy and the texture is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This was perfect! The first time I messed it up because I started with the water boiling and had to add a lot more water. =( This time I put my rice and water in, set it to med-low, put a lid on it (with a vent, didn't hurt it) and just kept an eye on it until the water was evaporated. So good and sooo easy! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I was always 'told' that you have to have at least twice the amount of liquid as rice. Well, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't more than a little nervous about trying this recipe. But...fear not fellow Doubting Thomases. This makes the most absolutely perfect rice. It took about 15 minutes or so to cook before the 5 minute 'rest' time. I wonder if this will work on other types of rice. Guess I'll find out eh. :) Thanks Stardustannie. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #34

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      We were given a giant bag of basmati rice so i had to cook it but, I admit to being very nervous about this! It was just as easy as everyone has said! The rice came out perfect! This is most definitely a keeper. Next time I will try cooking with chicken broth instead of water! Thanks Stardust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Worked perfectly! I love the smell of Basmati rice. I have a feeling I'll be making this quite frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      TY TY TY.... it really works. I was beginning to really think I just couldn't get rice right even after all these years. My kitchen is much too small for yet another counter top appliance, so rice cooker is just not a priority. You've saved me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      I have never tasted this kind of rice before but we just bought a big bag of it at Sams. I love my rice to be more on the dry side and this recipe turned out perfect. I worried that I would burn the bottom also, like another posted, because I couldn't see through the condensation on the glass lid. I could smell it though, after about 15 or 20 minutes of cooking and took it off the burner. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Excellent!! No fail recipe!!! Thank you...you are absolutely right...not one piece sticks together...perfect ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Abolutely tremendous! The best Basmati I've ever tasted! I had to sign up just so I could leave a comment! Cheers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      It worked!!!! I, too, was a doubter, but it worked!!! I don't think I had the flame up high enuff at first, cuz it took a while. But once I adjusted it worked great. I was so nervous taking off the lid, but it was great! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect No Fail Basmati Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.1
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    99%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites