35 Reviews

I've struggeling to find a way to fix steamed rice other than the stove top or rice cooker since I've been here in Beijing. I stared at this one for the longest time trying to decide if I should try it. First done in the microwave (NEVER would have thought that) and then UNCOVERED!!! Oh man am I glad I decided to give it a try. The only thing I did differant was cut the amount in half, and then followed exact including the timing and it was perfect. Nice and fluffy and perfect. Thanks so much for posting and I can truthfully say this is my new way to make rice from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 April 12, 2010

I halved the recipe and it came out great. I just reduced the time a bit--8 minutes + 10 minutes. It came out nice and fluffy, which was a victory for me, the queen of sticky rice! ;-) Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK August 11, 2009

Perfect, perfect, perfect! And I didn't have any long grain rice but it still turned out perfect. Everything I've tried that you have posted has been simply great! I cooked way too much rice, but I have found sumptious ways to use it. (I too, next time, will cook less, but it was so much fun!) Someone told me years ago that rice would not work in the microwave. Ha! I've been cooking rice forever and ever atop the stove & it's never turned out better than this did. Does it work for brown rice too, do you know?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old Smoky February 15, 2005

This is a life saver. I have seen similar recipes in the past but never acted on them until the rice maker broke. Great recipe, I've never doubled the recipe and won't, wouldn't want to ruin a good thing. Thank you for great rice every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore October 10, 2013

Picture perfect rice! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. This evening I was in a pinch and was multi-tasking while making dinner and needed to make the rice quickly. I followed this recipe and it is now saved in my favorites and I will surely use it again. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachy D February 18, 2013

Thanks so much for posting! I have tried this several times and it is always perfect! Has really simplified dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingalong July 27, 2012

Shockingly, this makes perfect rice (I've used it twice now with Basmati rice). No covering or stirring -- wow!! This will be a welcome recipe for people who have no stove or rice cooker! Thanks for posting Ridgely. Did you figure this out yourself? Whoever did is a genius! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Masalamama January 18, 2012

Yeah yeah yeah~! Nothing else needs be said. (I used "4" as medium low and it worked great!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! January 08, 2012

This is fantastic! I was looking for an easy method for cooking rice. Daughter is going to college and she won't have a rice cooker like mom:) What a great method. I was afraid it would leave the microwave a mess, but it didn't. Yay!
Much thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 August 13, 2011

This should be called Magic Rice! I don't understand why, but it worked like a charm, and made wonderful sticky rice. The only complaint is that it actually made more rice than I needed, but I see that other reviewers have halved this successfully, so I will try that next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch August 05, 2011
Perfect Microwave Rice