Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Perfect Microwave Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Microwave Rice

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      I've struggeling to find a way to fix steamed rice other than the stove top or rice cooker since I've been here in Beijing. I stared at this one for the longest time trying to decide if I should try it. First done in the microwave (NEVER would have thought that) and then UNCOVERED!!! Oh man am I glad I decided to give it a try. The only thing I did differant was cut the amount in half, and then followed exact including the timing and it was perfect. Nice and fluffy and perfect. Thanks so much for posting and I can truthfully say this is my new way to make rice from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I halved the recipe and it came out great. I just reduced the time a bit--8 minutes + 10 minutes. It came out nice and fluffy, which was a victory for me, the queen of sticky rice! ;-) Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      Perfect, perfect, perfect! And I didn't have any long grain rice but it still turned out perfect. Everything I've tried that you have posted has been simply great! I cooked way too much rice, but I have found sumptious ways to use it. (I too, next time, will cook less, but it was so much fun!) Someone told me years ago that rice would not work in the microwave. Ha! I've been cooking rice forever and ever atop the stove & it's never turned out better than this did. Does it work for brown rice too, do you know?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      This is a life saver. I have seen similar recipes in the past but never acted on them until the rice maker broke. Great recipe, I've never doubled the recipe and won't, wouldn't want to ruin a good thing. Thank you for great rice every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Picture perfect rice! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. This evening I was in a pinch and was multi-tasking while making dinner and needed to make the rice quickly. I followed this recipe and it is now saved in my favorites and I will surely use it again. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Thanks so much for posting! I have tried this several times and it is always perfect! Has really simplified dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Shockingly, this makes perfect rice (I've used it twice now with Basmati rice). No covering or stirring -- wow!! This will be a welcome recipe for people who have no stove or rice cooker! Thanks for posting Ridgely. Did you figure this out yourself? Whoever did is a genius! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Yeah yeah yeah~! Nothing else needs be said. (I used "4" as medium low and it worked great!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      This is fantastic! I was looking for an easy method for cooking rice. Daughter is going to college and she won't have a rice cooker like mom:) What a great method. I was afraid it would leave the microwave a mess, but it didn't. Yay!
      Much thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      This should be called Magic Rice! I don't understand why, but it worked like a charm, and made wonderful sticky rice. The only complaint is that it actually made more rice than I needed, but I see that other reviewers have halved this successfully, so I will try that next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I love this recipe and have used it many times with perfect rice each time. Thanks so much for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Ive used this many times since finding it and it really is great. I always manage to burn stovetop rice even though I follow directions and I'm a good cook otherwise! This is AMAZING

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      It was too hot to make stovetop rice for dinner, so we gave this a try. Turned out great! Actually, my teenager cooked the rice. Easy instructions, great results w/out heating up the house. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Easy, perfect rice every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I love this recipe! Makes great rice and I don't have to dirty another pot! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This turned out delicious and perfect. I also halved the recipe since we were just two of us. I was really amazed that it turned out as perfect as it did. First time trying to make rice this way, I usually use my electric rice cooker. I had used chicken broth and not water and added about a Tbs. of parsley and I didn't feel the need for any salt. Great stuff. Thanks for sharing your recipe, will definitely be doing it this way again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Worked perfectly! I followed the recipe as written. We used half for dinner and I froze the other half. Made for Fall PAC 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Lovely! It DOES make perfect rice. Thanks for posting. I'll use this method often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Well, it works amazingly! The first time I made this recipe, I tried to halve it, which was not particularly successful. This time I followed directions, except that I added about 1/3 cup water before the second round of microwaving, and it worked fantastically. Incidentally, I used basmati rice (un-rinsed!), which worked very well in the place of the regular long grain rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Yes, this really does work. I used some homemade turkey stock that I had in the freezer which made this rice very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Microwave Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.4
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    24%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes