Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Penne With Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne With Sun-Dried Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2002

      Nice enough, but a bit on the dry side. Tossing the cooked pasta with even one teaspoon of butter or olive oil would've helped, without adding on too many fat calories. A few herbs like basil, oregano and parsley would make this much more flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2002

      I make a dish similar to this quite often. I usually use fresh spinach and add toasted pine nuts, the pine nuts taste SOOO good with the sundried tomatoes, I highly recommend adding them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2001

      Excellent! I used fresh spinach and noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I loved this! I added some red pepper flakes and pine nuts as suggested by other reviewers. Delish! Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Very good. I agree with other reviewers that maybe some red pepper flakes and/or pine nuts would be a nice addition to this dish. Simple and tasty. Thanks Dreamgodess Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      I loved this recipe! As I was boiling the water for the penne pasta, I added a cube of vegetable bouillon and a bay leaf. It made the noodles very flavorful. I then took the leftover stock and used that as the 1/3 cup of water for the sundried tomato mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

    • on May 26, 2011

      I saw this and thought it sounded very good. Once I got into the cooking process I felt that the recipe would be lacking in flavor. I will leave my comments on what I did to up the flavor. The pasta was a gluten free penne which was reduced to 2 servings with the other ingredients remaining the same. A little olive oil was warmed in a skillet and chopped onion added with the garlic. The sun dried tomatoes was added to the pan after the onions had wilted and in place of water chicken stock was used. I didn't measure the stock but I'm pretty sure it took more than what the recipe called for. The frozen spinach was squeezed dry. Using Rachel Ray's suggestion, some freshly grated nutmeg was added with the spinach along with a touch of red pepper flakes. About 1/3 cup of starchy pasta water was added to the sauce along with the cooked pasta. Recommendations of other reviewers contributed to the dish being topped off with grated parmesan cheese and sprinkled with toasted pine nuts. Made for Vivacious Violets and ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This was good, but it didn't quite knock our socks off. We all felt something was missing, so I tossed in some feta cheese and that seemed to do the trick. Red pepper flakes or pinenuts might also go well in this. Overall this is an easy, delicious dish. The colors of the spinach and tomatoes make a nice presentation. I used whole wheat spiral pasta. I am going to keep this recipe around it is delicious and the possibilities are endless. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This was really good - although i think i'd like to use more spinach next time (i used fresh). My boyfriend had 3 helpings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      I make something like this only I add 1 cup of chicken broth, not as much sun-dried tomatoes and I add fresh basil - it is so good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2002

      This was great. I added a little bit of balsamic vinegarette to give it a little kick. I would have also been great with a little canned tuna added. Will definitely have this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2001

      Overall it was good. The Sundried Tomatoes and Garlic added some flavor but there seemed to be something missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne With Sun-Dried Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (638 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.4
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    85%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 352.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes