13 Reviews

Nice enough, but a bit on the dry side. Tossing the cooked pasta with even one teaspoon of butter or olive oil would've helped, without adding on too many fat calories. A few herbs like basil, oregano and parsley would make this much more flavourful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 09, 2002

I make a dish similar to this quite often. I usually use fresh spinach and add toasted pine nuts, the pine nuts taste SOOO good with the sundried tomatoes, I highly recommend adding them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L #2 May 08, 2002

Excellent! I used fresh spinach and noodles.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 15, 2001

I loved this! I added some red pepper flakes and pine nuts as suggested by other reviewers. Delish! Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 29, 2008

Very good. I agree with other reviewers that maybe some red pepper flakes and/or pine nuts would be a nice addition to this dish. Simple and tasty. Thanks Dreamgodess Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 27, 2008

I loved this recipe! As I was boiling the water for the penne pasta, I added a cube of vegetable bouillon and a bay leaf. It made the noodles very flavorful. I then took the leftover stock and used that as the 1/3 cup of water for the sundried tomato mixture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amyzan February 28, 2006

I saw this and thought it sounded very good. Once I got into the cooking process I felt that the recipe would be lacking in flavor. I will leave my comments on what I did to up the flavor. The pasta was a gluten free penne which was reduced to 2 servings with the other ingredients remaining the same. A little olive oil was warmed in a skillet and chopped onion added with the garlic. The sun dried tomatoes was added to the pan after the onions had wilted and in place of water chicken stock was used. I didn't measure the stock but I'm pretty sure it took more than what the recipe called for. The frozen spinach was squeezed dry. Using Rachel Ray's suggestion, some freshly grated nutmeg was added with the spinach along with a touch of red pepper flakes. About 1/3 cup of starchy pasta water was added to the sauce along with the cooked pasta. Recommendations of other reviewers contributed to the dish being topped off with grated parmesan cheese and sprinkled with toasted pine nuts. Made for Vivacious Violets and ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 26, 2011

This was good, but it didn't quite knock our socks off. We all felt something was missing, so I tossed in some feta cheese and that seemed to do the trick. Red pepper flakes or pinenuts might also go well in this. Overall this is an easy, delicious dish. The colors of the spinach and tomatoes make a nice presentation. I used whole wheat spiral pasta. I am going to keep this recipe around it is delicious and the possibilities are endless. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann April 01, 2008

This was really good - although i think i'd like to use more spinach next time (i used fresh). My boyfriend had 3 helpings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetstef March 14, 2007
Penne With Sun-Dried Tomatoes