Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pear Preserves Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Preserves

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2002

      Tried the recipe tonight. It was quick the pears tasted so sweet. Didn't think I would ever get the syrup thick enough. Guess I was rushing it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      I coverd the pears with the sugar and let them set over night in the fridge. I also cut the water by half and cooked the pears SLOWLY over med-low heat. They turned out perfect with a good texture and color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      This recipe was great, and easy even for a first timer. I sliced pears very thin using a mandolin slicer. I did change the amounts of water per recommendation, I used only a total of 2 cups, and I also only used 3 cups of sugar. They cooked for about an hour and I also added about a tsp. of cinnamon at the end of cooking. I think they had a great flavor and the lemon gave them a really fresh taste. I tried the recipe again a few days later and omitted the lemon slices and instead added only lemon juice because my husband bit down on one of the lemon rinds from the first batch and didn't like it very much. I think that was a mistake because it took twice as long for the liquid to thicken up, and never did get as thick as the first batch. By the time it was done my pears had fallen apart and resembled applesauce. They still tasted great and wound up being kind of like a cross between jam and applesauce. However I will stick with the lemon slices next time and just let hubby pick them out if he doesn't like them! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I wish I had read the reviews before I made this. The recipe calls for too much water. I tried to reduce the mix, however, I never got the right consistency. The flavor was good, but I will reduce the water by 1/2 next time I make this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      I used anative pear here in texas and it a very hard pear, I follined the recipe,but cooked them about an hour the flavor was like what my mom made.Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Love this recipe. I followed suggestions from previous reviewers and used only 2 cups of water to reduce time necessary for cooking off. My pears were super juicy and they cooked for an hour .

      The second time I made this I cut back to 3 cups of sugar and for me, it's perfect. I like my sweet things a bit less sweet than most people, I think. I also added a Tbs of vanilla just to add another dimension of flavor.

      Thanks for the great recipe, it has become a huge hit here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      i should of read the reviews...cooked for about an hour...should have reduced the water and i wish i would of added the spices...definatelt need to peel and chop small

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Not a bad pear preserve. Like some of the other reviewers I added a small amount of spices to this to enhance the flavor. Most homemade preserves do tend to be more runny than commercial ones because they aren't cooked long enough. People get impatient (or tired of the stirring) and jar them before they are set all the way. This isn't necessarily a bad thing. Loose preserves are easier to work with between cake layers, over pancakes, etc., but if you want them as a spread you need to cook them to at least 220 degrees (eight degrees over the boiling point for your altitude.) If you are looking to save some stirring, you can always cook them in a slow oven (250 degrees) until they are set. It takes about twice as long, but frees you to do other things in the kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Most homade Preserves are runny like syurp not quite the jelly type we buy ive got several pear trees and do mine year after except i add cinnamon to mine to add a spice flavor but it all depends on the type of tree u have my trees prodouce a bitter type fruit and requier no pectin but some trees make a sweet juicy pear that needs lots of pectin i think thats why the lemon is spoken of here but its always best if u want a store bought like preserve to buy and use pectin or its possable to harvest ur pears a month early if u get them like i do ill post my recipe soon and ill be a bit more quotive on it as to pear type

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe and the taste is amazing. As a child, I had an aunt that made the most wonderful pear preserves. I'm not sure she actually had a recipe to follow or just years of experience. To the best that my taste buds can remember this recipe is very close. The flavor, like I said, is amazing. The pears were peeled, cored, quartered and then each quarter cut into thirds. The pears were very firm and it took close to an hour cooking time for the pears to be translucent and the syrup thick, rich and golden. My yield was 36 oz or a little over 4 1/2 pints. Thank you for posting and for the memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      The taste was wonderful - would be great over ice cream or even over pancakes or waffles. I did add some cinnamon and ground cloves near the end of cooking time - this added a lot of flavor.Jars of these would make great gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      I used Keefer pears, also a hard pear. I followed the recipe and cooked them for about an hour. The flavor is wonderful. I can't wait to hear comments from the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      I only used about a cup of water. And I peeled and cored the pears. I used some slightly under ripe Bartletts. Lovely jam. This will be so good on a dreary, rainy winter afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Preserves

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    16%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites