13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tried the recipe tonight. It was quick the pears tasted so sweet. Didn't think I would ever get the syrup thick enough. Guess I was rushing it

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brenandcon October 19, 2002

I coverd the pears with the sugar and let them set over night in the fridge. I also cut the water by half and cooked the pears SLOWLY over med-low heat. They turned out perfect with a good texture and color.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CDale August 15, 2003

This recipe was great, and easy even for a first timer. I sliced pears very thin using a mandolin slicer. I did change the amounts of water per recommendation, I used only a total of 2 cups, and I also only used 3 cups of sugar. They cooked for about an hour and I also added about a tsp. of cinnamon at the end of cooking. I think they had a great flavor and the lemon gave them a really fresh taste. I tried the recipe again a few days later and omitted the lemon slices and instead added only lemon juice because my husband bit down on one of the lemon rinds from the first batch and didn't like it very much. I think that was a mistake because it took twice as long for the liquid to thicken up, and never did get as thick as the first batch. By the time it was done my pears had fallen apart and resembled applesauce. They still tasted great and wound up being kind of like a cross between jam and applesauce. However I will stick with the lemon slices next time and just let hubby pick them out if he doesn't like them! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q Horse Mama October 10, 2011

I wish I had read the reviews before I made this. The recipe calls for too much water. I tried to reduce the mix, however, I never got the right consistency. The flavor was good, but I will reduce the water by 1/2 next time I make this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lidya July 08, 2011

I used anative pear here in texas and it a very hard pear, I follined the recipe,but cooked them about an hour the flavor was like what my mom made.Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janice Pearl September 28, 2003

Love this recipe. I followed suggestions from previous reviewers and used only 2 cups of water to reduce time necessary for cooking off. My pears were super juicy and they cooked for an hour .

The second time I made this I cut back to 3 cups of sugar and for me, it's perfect. I like my sweet things a bit less sweet than most people, I think. I also added a Tbs of vanilla just to add another dimension of flavor.

Thanks for the great recipe, it has become a huge hit here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FitWitch November 02, 2010

i should of read the reviews...cooked for about an hour...should have reduced the water and i wish i would of added the spices...definatelt need to peel and chop small

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrwillard September 22, 2008

Not a bad pear preserve. Like some of the other reviewers I added a small amount of spices to this to enhance the flavor. Most homemade preserves do tend to be more runny than commercial ones because they aren't cooked long enough. People get impatient (or tired of the stirring) and jar them before they are set all the way. This isn't necessarily a bad thing. Loose preserves are easier to work with between cake layers, over pancakes, etc., but if you want them as a spread you need to cook them to at least 220 degrees (eight degrees over the boiling point for your altitude.) If you are looking to save some stirring, you can always cook them in a slow oven (250 degrees) until they are set. It takes about twice as long, but frees you to do other things in the kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Self Sufficient Life September 06, 2008

Most homade Preserves are runny like syurp not quite the jelly type we buy ive got several pear trees and do mine year after except i add cinnamon to mine to add a spice flavor but it all depends on the type of tree u have my trees prodouce a bitter type fruit and requier no pectin but some trees make a sweet juicy pear that needs lots of pectin i think thats why the lemon is spoken of here but its always best if u want a store bought like preserve to buy and use pectin or its possable to harvest ur pears a month early if u get them like i do ill post my recipe soon and ill be a bit more quotive on it as to pear type

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hotwingcooker September 02, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe and the taste is amazing. As a child, I had an aunt that made the most wonderful pear preserves. I'm not sure she actually had a recipe to follow or just years of experience. To the best that my taste buds can remember this recipe is very close. The flavor, like I said, is amazing. The pears were peeled, cored, quartered and then each quarter cut into thirds. The pears were very firm and it took close to an hour cooking time for the pears to be translucent and the syrup thick, rich and golden. My yield was 36 oz or a little over 4 1/2 pints. Thank you for posting and for the memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 29, 2007
Pear Preserves