9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Gram flour means chickpea flour! Garbanzo flour! Gram, not graham. Not wheat. I don't know why in Indian English they call it "gram," but such confusion it has caused for people trying to make this recipe. Chickpea flour imported from India is often sold under its Hindi name: besan.

I've been trying out various pakora recipes, and this one stacks up as pretty good. I would make some substitutions, though. It needs more water and less salt. I would go with ½ cup water and ½%u2013¾ tsp salt. And you know what's especially good added to pakoras? Whole coriander seeds. I used ¼ tsp in this recipe. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanna la bella August 02, 2011

Oh Carol this is one of my favourites and my dad's favourite too. He will give the world to eat pakoras on a rainy day. We are just waiting for the rains to come by in December and then, I'll be very busy frying pakoras and ohhh my, my mouth is already watering!!!! Oh Carol, try this lovely snack with a little of ajwain along with the other masalas..it is TOO GOOD!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani October 16, 2001

I made with all-purpose flour, maybe that's where I went wrong, or maybe I used too much oil. They were soggy, not crispy, but still tasted very good. Not quite like the pakoras I get at my favorite Indian restaurant, but still very good. Thanks for sharing, Carol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS July 22, 2010

Really tasty and not in the least bit greasy, yum! We decided to add more corriander, cayenne and cumin for a bit of a kick, so so nice and enjoyed by the whole family. They're like my mam makes, and now i can do them too! Thank you for sharing Carol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelleybean June 12, 2009

I decided to make these at the last minute, so I had to go without the saffron and the gram flour (subbed wheat) but these are good. I can't wait to try them as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef April 15, 2009

This was very easy to make and oh so yummy! I didn't have saffron on hand so made it without and it was still very good. I used a disher that I use to make drop cookies to drop the batter into the oil and it made perfect round pakoras. Having your hands farther away from the oil is safer, too! Thanks for a great simple recipie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni October 01, 2007

this is an easy recipe that i found quite nice to read I look forwad to reading mor recipies from Carol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daennova February 20, 2007

This was a great mix for pakoras - very quick & easy! Next time I hope to find the cilantro and maybe even the tamarind sauce another reviewer mentioned. Served 2 of us as a light lunch - beautiful thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunty Dotty January 12, 2007

Wonderful recipe and so easy to make. I managed to surprise some guests with the little time I took in making it!!! We have this with tamarind sauce. Sure is a keeper. Thank you, Carol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam October 06, 2003
Pakoras