Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pakoras Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pakoras

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2011

      Gram flour means chickpea flour! Garbanzo flour! Gram, not graham. Not wheat. I don't know why in Indian English they call it "gram," but such confusion it has caused for people trying to make this recipe. Chickpea flour imported from India is often sold under its Hindi name: besan.

      I've been trying out various pakora recipes, and this one stacks up as pretty good. I would make some substitutions, though. It needs more water and less salt. I would go with ½ cup water and ½%u2013¾ tsp salt. And you know what's especially good added to pakoras? Whole coriander seeds. I used ¼ tsp in this recipe. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2001

      Oh Carol this is one of my favourites and my dad's favourite too. He will give the world to eat pakoras on a rainy day. We are just waiting for the rains to come by in December and then, I'll be very busy frying pakoras and ohhh my, my mouth is already watering!!!! Oh Carol, try this lovely snack with a little of ajwain along with the other masalas..it is TOO GOOD!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I made with all-purpose flour, maybe that's where I went wrong, or maybe I used too much oil. They were soggy, not crispy, but still tasted very good. Not quite like the pakoras I get at my favorite Indian restaurant, but still very good. Thanks for sharing, Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Really tasty and not in the least bit greasy, yum! We decided to add more corriander, cayenne and cumin for a bit of a kick, so so nice and enjoyed by the whole family. They're like my mam makes, and now i can do them too! Thank you for sharing Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I decided to make these at the last minute, so I had to go without the saffron and the gram flour (subbed wheat) but these are good. I can't wait to try them as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This was very easy to make and oh so yummy! I didn't have saffron on hand so made it without and it was still very good. I used a disher that I use to make drop cookies to drop the batter into the oil and it made perfect round pakoras. Having your hands farther away from the oil is safer, too! Thanks for a great simple recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      this is an easy recipe that i found quite nice to read I look forwad to reading mor recipies from Carol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      This was a great mix for pakoras - very quick & easy! Next time I hope to find the cilantro and maybe even the tamarind sauce another reviewer mentioned. Served 2 of us as a light lunch - beautiful thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      Wonderful recipe and so easy to make. I managed to surprise some guests with the little time I took in making it!!! We have this with tamarind sauce. Sure is a keeper. Thank you, Carol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pakoras

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.3
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    12%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 269.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites