Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Pa Amb Tomaquet (Tomato Toast) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pa Amb Tomaquet (Tomato Toast)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2013

      I know this is a dish that is often eaten for breakfast in Spain. Breakfast, snack, appetizer, dinner - it would be delicious anytime. The simplicity of the dish calls for quality ingredients - we had a great Ciabatta that I sliced and toasted - would love it on the grill, the tomato was ok - this is not the best time of year for fresh tomatoes in the NW, fresh garlic and of course really good evoo - which helped out my tomato . I can't wait to try this again with my home grown tomatoes at the end of summer! Made for "My Food Odyssey" - Andorra

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I'm glad I tried this and look forward to trying it again when summer tomatoes are in season. I served it with Albanian Tossed Salad for My Food Odyssey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      Yummy! I bought some really good multigrain bread and used that with this recipe. I love when a simple recipe has a big impact. Lots of flavor from the garlic and tomato. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Years ago one of our Catalonian exchange students taught me to make this yummy toast. I had some top quality ingredients on hand, so made this for lunch today. And because I'm a sucker for red onion and anchovies, I added some of both. Yum, yum, yum! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      YAYYAYAY THis is AMAZING!! I love this sooo much... I have it in my all time favs. If you haven't had this... try it. Use fresh tomatoes and the best olive oil and salt and bread... you'll be in for a MAJOR treat. :D oh yeah... Usually i don't use garlic because the tomatoes are so amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      Simple foods are often the best! I made a mini version with a sourdough dinner roll. I cut it in half and put it in the toaster. On the first half, I omitted the garlic and topped it with a little cheddar cheese--good but not great. With the second half I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful (though a whole half a garlic clove was a bit overpowering for my tiny dinner roll--good thing I love garlic!). It's like garlic bread enhanced with the sweet taste of tomato. The dinner roll version would be great for appetizers at a party, perhaps topped with an olive. IN the future, I'll experiment with using basil, oregano, and/or anchovy paste (instead of salt). Rather than discarding the tomato shells, I ate them with a bit of salt, pepper and olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      I live in Catalunya, and thought it was a nice surprise to see this recipe here, in Catalan and everything. This is just how they make this here... the garlic is optional, but a nice addition. Try this with some sliced cheese on top (a medium cheddar, perhaps?) or, best of all, a nice handful of good jamón (or proscuttio (sp?)) Simple, light, really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Made just as directed and this is goooood. Couldn't be easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      YUM! And so easy.I did add parmesan cheese,But I think they would be just as good without.Thanks Angie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      This is a treat for the taste buds! I did have a homegrown tomato, from my Dad's garden, that was getting past its prime and I did not have the heart to toss it. I used slices off of a French baguette, mushed the garlic and tomato onto them (could not resist leaving bits of the garlic and tomato on the bread) Did the salt and olive oil! Wonderful!!! DH wants more tomorrow night and of course I will join him! Thanks EdsGirlAngie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      Well I have to thank Bergy for picturing this delish lunch, had to try it and sure enough it was very good and easy!! I had some local bread on hand called "Roasted Garlic Bread" so I used it and made it exactly to the recipe except I couldn't resist sprinkling fresh chopped oregano right out of the garden over it.Very tasty EdsGirlAngie; we will be using this one all summer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      What an easy delightful taste treat. Easy to make. ingredients are always on hand and quick to put together. I used a pita bread split using both halves. I did one half exactly like the recipe and the other half I added a sprinkle of Parmesan. I liked the addition of the cheese but also liked the tomato toast plain Thanks for a keeper EdsGirlAngie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pa Amb Tomaquet (Tomato Toast)

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.7
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    11%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 236.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites