Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Our Favorite Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Favorite Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2011

      Definitely 10 stars for ease, a nice recipe to know when you don't have much time to throw a wholesome meal together. I had some previously cooked black beans on hand, so it was even quicker for me as there were no tins to open or drain. Made exactly as written, using slightly less chili powder than called for and fresh garlic instead of powdered. I'm not a big fan of boiling onions, and although the end result is very good here, for me it would have been 5 stars if I had sauteed the onions in some oil before adding the broth. Great consistency, so often black bean soups are really thick, I think this is just right. Thanks Enjolinfam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Yummy, easy and filling. Basically a "pantry recipe" yet still very good. I think I'd mash 2 of the cans of black beans next time to make it just a bit thicker...... or maybe use less liquid. Overall, it's a very satisfying soup. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      A flavorful vegetarian dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I am NOT a soup person but I have made an exception for this soup. I altered your recipe by mistake and it was still delish!! I pulled out my blender added in one can of beans/salsa & all other spices and pureed it. In a pot I added 1 can of broth (I was too tired to measure) and onions and corn and let it come to boil. Then added contents of my puree. I completely forgot to add the other cans of beans and let the soup simmer for 1/2 hr!! My DH and I loved this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was very good. I used extra-spicy salsa, and it provided a nice kick to the soup. I loved the color the corn added to it. My soup didn't seem to be as thin as some pictured...I'm not sure why since I followed the recipe exactly as written. I made this for 2008 Favorites Cookbook Tag! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      10 Stars!?! Loved it! A nice rich flavor, with the sour cream adding a velvety cool contrast. I pureed one can of beans in my food processor. I couldn't find cilantro on hand, so I used 2 teaspoons of dried parsley. This is so easy, it's just important to allow enough time for the water to come to a simmer and to be patient waiting for the onions to become clear. I love the chunkiness from the corn and beans, and even some of the tomato chunks from the salsa. I will freeze the rest so DH can share in this delight. Thanks for posting, Enjolifam! Made for December 2008 Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Loved it! And more importantly my whole family did, including my sometimes picky 5 year old. I doubled this and am glad I did. I used chicken stock and maybe a little less beans than was called for. Tasted like a vegetarian chili to me but not thick like a chili. Perfect! This will go in my favorites.Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Now this is really A GREAT TASTING SOUP! I'm a big fan of bean soup, so this was right down my alley! Really apprecated the easy with which this nicely seasoned soup went together! I used a mild, chunky salsa, just the 1 teaspoon of cumin, a whole can of corn & a similar amount of frozen peas! Will definitely be keeping the recipe handy! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my teammates in our vegan group in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap II]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Simple and delicious is exactly right in that this was a very simple recipe to put together that turned out to taste delicious. My husband was disappointed when there wasn't enough for second helpings. From a calorie and fat counting perspective, I was happy there wasn't any oil called for with the softening of the onions. I used vegetable stock and since I am a spice wimp and was using a medium strength salsa I left out the chili powder. I didn't see in the instructions where to add the corn but I put it in with the beans and that worked fine. I served it topped with a bit of low far sour cream and some banana chillies from a jar. Made for 1-2-3 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Simply delicious! I followed the recipe as written using chicken broth, the optional chili powder and a whole can of corn. I used store bought salsa but when serving I topped it with Chili Salsa. Made for Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This soup is fantastic! It is very easy to prepare and tasted like restaurant quality to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Favorite Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.3
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    59%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 625.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 22.7 g
    91%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites