Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Onion Lentils and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion Lentils and Rice

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2003

      AWESOME! I made this last night for dinner. I used regular small brown lentils and brown rice--which, unfortunately, took longer to cook and still wasn't quite done. A word to the wise: you may need a bit of broth or water if you use heavy-duty brown rice in this recipe. But it was great! I also added about 6 cloves of garlic because I'm a garlic freak. This was wonderful--I'll make it very often. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Absolutely delicious--a great balance of flavors and textures!! I made only one small change to this recipe: I used pearl barley in place of the (white) rice. To compensate for the longer cooking time of the pearl barley, I cooked it separately (adding more water as needed, and until it was nearly done)--before adding it to the lentils and other ingredients. The results were wonderful! The subtle flavor of the pearl barley worked well, without being overpowering. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks so much jessi-ryan!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Yummy! This was my first time making anything with lentils in it, and I'm so pleased with the results! The lentils ended up a bit firmer than I think I would have liked, so next time I think I'll let them cook 5 minutes longer. I think they'd also be good rolled up with lettuce, tomato, and sour cream in a flour tortilla and eaten burrito-style. It's even better the next day---I'm eating the leftovers for lunch right now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      I omitted the Cumin (but not each time that I've made this dish) and served remaining crisp and carmelized onions on top of finished dish (instead of mixing all of them in), and this was very much like the recipe we love at a Middle Eastern restaurant. Please don't rush cooking the onions. Cook them very slowly so that they carmelize. Also, cooked both the lentils and the rice for 20 mins. instead of 15 mins. recommended (40 minutes total cooking time). Topped the dish with cold, plain yogurt mixed with chopped small cucumbers. One of us added chopped fresh tomatoes, lettuce and onions. Served with warm pita bread, honey butter, mixed greens salad with yogurt dressing and fruit for dessert. Comfort food at its best. Thank you for the recipe, jessi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Tasted great. I cooked a bit different as folks around here don't like any crunch whatsoever to their lentils - I soaked for a few hours, popped in the pot of water and then did my onions.. the seasonings in this are great. Putting it over basmati tonight. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This was great! My picky 7 year old who insists he doesn't like lentils asked for thirds! I only had two issues. One was my fault, I didn't cook nearly enough onions, so I had to be pretty skimpy with them. The other issue was that by the time the rice was done, the lentils were mush. I might try cooking them separately, then combining them when done. We served on naan with tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce and sour cream. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      My husband and I love this recipe and eat it once nearly every week for a healthy vegetarian meal option. I add more cumin and the garlic for more flavor. I'm sure it would taste great with tumeric and curry as well. Make sure you add enough salt or else it can be bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Cheap and healthy. The flavor was bland and it took a bit more time than I would have liked to make. I won't be using this exact recipe again, but it's got potential for lots of tweaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Loved it. Easy, tasty and cheap- just the way I like it. I used long grain brown rice and therefore increased the water by a bit and cooked it longer. I think it changed the texture a bit, but great none the less. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Yum! I used sweet onions, red lentils, and short grain brown rice for this dish. Because the red lentils don't take as long to cook I reversed the directions and started the rice first then added the lentils. Yummy. Reminded us a little bit of risotto due to the creaminess of the rice. Next time I would love to add nice thick slices of elephant garlic and fresh mushrooms. Thanks for posting this easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Also added cubed steamed sweet potato and cinnamon. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

    • on December 14, 2008

      I found this recipe while trying to use up some random ingredients in my cupboard, and it was perfect for using the almost empty bags of green lentils and jasmine rice. I also wanted to use up a small amount of unsweetened coconut and some pepitas, so I toasted those and added with the caramelized onions. (I also used coconut oil to cook the onions.) A little random but it worked out well. This is wonderful comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Maybe I just have different taste buds or something, but this was absolutely lacking flavor. 2 tsp of cumin was hardly enough to season this much food. My husband hated this and my kids flat out refused to eat it. I made exactly as written and was disappointed even with toppings on it. I made it because of the reviews but it just wasn't what I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Very good. And easy. Good and easy. What more could you want? I tried it with and without the yogurt and then with a little curry powder. Great any way you fix it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Fabulous, quick, and easy! This is definitely something that's going to be a staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      LOVED it! Absolutely delish, you would swear it's sinful comfort food, but it's very healthy. Easy recipe. I served it in whole wheat pitas with non-fat plain yogurt, romaine, cukes and tomatoes. Tonight I am making it again but plan to use leftover tabbouleh in the pita. The kids gobbled it up too! Our new family favorite---thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This was awesome! The only things i changed was the preparation. It takes about 45 minutes to properly cook brown rice, so I did that separate from the lentils, and added some oregano to it. Tossed the rice and lentils together with just a bit of olive oil when they were done and stuffed it in a pita with lettuce and tomatoes and topped with the suggested (vegan) sour cream and crispy onions. Next time I'm going to double the seasonings though, it was a bit too light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Thanks Jesse-Ryan! First time I made it it tasted great but was mushy. Educated myself about lentils and realized that the red ones I used were the softest. Made it again with green lentils and voila! Served it with a riata on the side (onions, cucumbers & sour cream) Was very tastey as well as economical. A keeper in this house

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I am truly confused after reading so many great reviews that this dish came out so badly for me. I must have done something horribly wrong because the nicest thing I could say about it is tasteless sticky mush :( I am so sorry because I tried to follow every step exactly but it was not good at all! You've got so many great reviews though so maybe it's just my family. Sorry!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion Lentils and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.5
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    21%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 794.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.9 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 22.4 g
    89%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites