46 Reviews

AWESOME! I made this last night for dinner. I used regular small brown lentils and brown rice--which, unfortunately, took longer to cook and still wasn't quite done. A word to the wise: you may need a bit of broth or water if you use heavy-duty brown rice in this recipe. But it was great! I also added about 6 cloves of garlic because I'm a garlic freak. This was wonderful--I'll make it very often. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock February 06, 2003

Tasted great. I cooked a bit different as folks around here don't like any crunch whatsoever to their lentils - I soaked for a few hours, popped in the pot of water and then did my onions.. the seasonings in this are great. Putting it over basmati tonight. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesikae April 11, 2012

Absolutely delicious--a great balance of flavors and textures!! I made only one small change to this recipe: I used pearl barley in place of the (white) rice. To compensate for the longer cooking time of the pearl barley, I cooked it separately (adding more water as needed, and until it was nearly done)--before adding it to the lentils and other ingredients. The results were wonderful! The subtle flavor of the pearl barley worked well, without being overpowering. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks so much jessi-ryan!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal September 29, 2008

Yummy! This was my first time making anything with lentils in it, and I'm so pleased with the results! The lentils ended up a bit firmer than I think I would have liked, so next time I think I'll let them cook 5 minutes longer. I think they'd also be good rolled up with lettuce, tomato, and sour cream in a flour tortilla and eaten burrito-style. It's even better the next day---I'm eating the leftovers for lunch right now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AltoRose August 20, 2008

I am truly confused after reading so many great reviews that this dish came out so badly for me. I must have done something horribly wrong because the nicest thing I could say about it is tasteless sticky mush :( I am so sorry because I tried to follow every step exactly but it was not good at all! You've got so many great reviews though so maybe it's just my family. Sorry!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Kyre May 27, 2008

I omitted the Cumin (but not each time that I've made this dish) and served remaining crisp and carmelized onions on top of finished dish (instead of mixing all of them in), and this was very much like the recipe we love at a Middle Eastern restaurant. Please don't rush cooking the onions. Cook them very slowly so that they carmelize. Also, cooked both the lentils and the rice for 20 mins. instead of 15 mins. recommended (40 minutes total cooking time). Topped the dish with cold, plain yogurt mixed with chopped small cucumbers. One of us added chopped fresh tomatoes, lettuce and onions. Served with warm pita bread, honey butter, mixed greens salad with yogurt dressing and fruit for dessert. Comfort food at its best. Thank you for the recipe, jessi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie in Michigan April 03, 2003

Followed exactly - but wasn't thrilled with this one - I'll try again as everyone else here gave great reviews...maybe I missed something! Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing February 17, 2015

Yum! To make it even healthier I used brown rice which I cooked separately because of longer cooking times. I then just mixed this in with the cooked lentils and caramelized onions. Also be sure to salt the lentils at the end of cooking, this stops it from becoming crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal0112 December 19, 2014

This was great! My picky 7 year old who insists he doesn't like lentils asked for thirds! I only had two issues. One was my fault, I didn't cook nearly enough onions, so I had to be pretty skimpy with them. The other issue was that by the time the rice was done, the lentils were mush. I might try cooking them separately, then combining them when done. We served on naan with tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce and sour cream. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thespia2013 October 30, 2011

My husband and I love this recipe and eat it once nearly every week for a healthy vegetarian meal option. I add more cumin and the garlic for more flavor. I'm sure it would taste great with tumeric and curry as well. Make sure you add enough salt or else it can be bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjb101 October 26, 2010
Onion Lentils and Rice