Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Oatmeal Cooked in a Rice Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Cooked in a Rice Cooker

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      I can't tell you how many times I've made this recipe. It comes out perfect EVERY time. I use oat bran instead of wheat. We like ours sweet and add sugar with all the ingredients and use craisins instead of raisins. I'll put all the ingredients (less the water) in the rice cooker at night, measure out the water and put in the fridge. Whoever is 1st up just goes in the kitchen, pours in the water and stirs, plugs in the cooker and pushes the Quick Rice button. Mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Fantastic! I've been eating this every weekday morning for the last four weeks and I'm still not tired of it! It's so easy to put together and fun to vary the ingredients. My favorite combo so far is rolled oats, steel cut oats, wheat bran, ground flaxseed, chopped pecans, dried apples and dried cranberries. I double the recipe and it makes enough for five servings throughout the week. Aside from being tasty, it just couldn't get any easier to make--that's my favorite part!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I have a simple on-off rice cooker and this worked beautifully. I used 1/2 milk 1/2 water. Mine was actually done in 18 min. and had begun to stick to the bottom of the pan. I stirred in a little extra milk, brown sugar, and pecans and it's the perfect taste and texture. Thanks Jennny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      This oatmeal came out perfectly & was very easy to make. I wasn't sure if wheat bran was the same as wheat germ, but that was what I had, so I used it. I used dried cranberries & that added a nice flavor. I also used a bit more salt, for personal preference. The oatmeal had good texture, not too creamy. I am going to try doubling the recipe & keep a container in the fridge to scoop some out in the morning to take to work. (Note: I tried making larger batches, but it did not work well. Don't go there.) Thanks, Jenny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      This is a good alternative method to the stove, the oven or the microwave. I have a brand new rice cooker, so I was glad that I came across this. Reading some of the other reviews, mine like wise was done in 15 minutes on the "white rice" setting. I did have a layer "cooked' on the bottom --even having sprayed the cooker with cooking spray --but it came off easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Made this recipe this morning and it was great. I am new to cooking with a rice cooker and really enjoy it a lot. The oatmeal was very creamy. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Wow! What a great idea. Thanks for sharing this. I have been using this method for a year now, and I like to experiment with adding cinnamon, cloves, and nuts. I also add a tablespoon of Splenda to the cooker, and then a sprinkling of brown sugar on top when I serve...Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Excellent!! I have been threatening to cook oatmeal in my rice cooker for a long time. Thank You for doing the basic experiment for me ;-} For those of you with a "fuzzy logic" rice cooker that does not have a "porridge" cycle - I had success using the actual cup amounts given in the recipe (not the cup that came with your rice cooker- it tends to be smaller) Cook on the Quick cycle . The cooking time was about 25 minutes (the Quick cycle time on the machine). The oatmeal was quite thick - the way I like it, but you may want to add more water to make it to your liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I thought that this was an excellent idea. Mine cooked in 15 min. but i also made alot of changes. I used half milk and half water. I switched the wheat bran for honey to sweeten in and i cooked some fresh peeled orage sections and raisins in it. I also added a dash of cinnamon before cooking. Served with a sprinkle of brown sugar and the rest of the orange on top. The only problem was i wish it made more. thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Absolutley the best way to make oatmeal. Thank you for posting, my mornings are much easier now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I did not use the wheat bran, but I still think it was wonderful and my kids cleaned out the pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      I will never ever cook oatmeal any other way from now on....it's so easy that it's unreal. Dump in the ingredients and walk away. I didn't add any fruit because I was making enough to the do oatmeal scones so wasn't sure how the fruit would work out for that. Thank you so much for this fantastical easy way to do oatmeal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I am so happy I tried this! I love oatmeal, order it almost every time I go out for breakfast, but for some reason, I was always hopeless at cooking it at home--never ended up with the right texture. Then I tried this recipe (minus the bran b/c I didn't have it) on the porridge cycle of my rice cooker for 25 minutes. At first I was nervous b/c it looked like the bottom had gotten overcooked (browned and sticking), but when I stirred it all up, it was perfect! Just the right texture and thickness for me. Not only that, but with two kids to attend to, this was the perfect way to cook breakfast! I'll be making this often! Thanks Jenny!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I set my rice cooker for 25 minutes on the soup feature, and this worked perfectly for me. I used a dry fruit combination of bluberries, raspberries, and cherries (from Costco), and loved this taste with the oatmeal. Next time I plan to use the Zaar baking spice Baking Spice - Copycat Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus Mix to flavour, which I'm sure will be delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      HI. I did this the other mornng, it was so good to have breakfast ready when I got out of the shower. I added dried apricots and apple and used 2 cups of apple juice insted of water, I also add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Only added these things because we like dried fruit in our oats. Thank you for an easyer way to do oats.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      I am definitely reviewing the technique more than the recipe, but the technique is worth its weight in gold! I made this in my Tefal 3-in-1 on the "rice" mode. It worked perfectly ... the oats to water ratio is perfect. My 15-month old daughter LOVED it and I didn't have to stand at the stove with a toddler hanging off my leg! Hooray! I added a tsp of cinnamon, a Tbsp of brown sugar and a handful of chopped dried fruit: dates, apricots, and raisins. I left out the wheat bran because I didn't have any.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      What a great time saver Jenny, thank you so much. From now on I will put the oats, dried fruit & salt in the rice cooker the night before and just add the water and turn it on the moment we get up in the morning. We usually have muesli because it is quicker but it is winter in Australia so this will be a nice way to start the day and now just as convenient.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      This recipe is terrific! There is nothing like a hot creamy bowl of oatmeal without having to tend to it. We love this! We have it for breakfast every morning. Thank you! (On a side note, I tried Malt-O-Meal, and it made a huge mess. It boiled out of the cooker all over the counter. I won't try that again.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      Easy way to make oatmeal. I used the fast cooking oatmeal and this was done in no time. I also added some chopped apple and cinnamon. The additions could be endless. Thank you for this idea and recipe Jenny.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      Wow this was fast and convenient! I used oat bran (because it was what I had) and no fruit. Very easy. I made it specifically to use in your Cooked Oatmeal Scones #46876. Worked great! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Cooked in a Rice Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.7
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    11%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 92.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites