27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed this breakfast, fast, healthy & different. Next time I will try replacing 1 Tbsp. of the oat bran with 1 Tbsp. of ground flax seed for even more nutition. Thanks for sharing

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Syl Davis March 31, 2003

YUM YUM YUMMY! I wanted to make this as part of "Pick you chef" contest coming up on 19th...but, I really loved this, and tried it the day it was posted. I LOVE IT! I repeated it as well, once, I remember and will do it again once I knock off a few kgs. I'm glad I picked up this recipe and chose you for the contest! This is a cool recipe; thanks a bunch for posting!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani March 16, 2003

I was looking for a recipe to use up some oat bran and found this. I made it as an afternoon snack for my kids and they loved it. It has a nice balance of flavors. It was quick and easy. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Donelson May 20, 2003

The water amount was spot-on. Instead of sugar I used maple syrup. I meant to dust it with cinnamon, but it smelled so divine that I got sidetracked. I will be making this again and again! THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen December 02, 2008

Very tasty! I am a big fan of oatmeal and adding banana to cereals so this was right up my alley! I served mine hot with a little cream and a touch of butter. The oat bran makes a wonderful delicious hot cereal and is healthy as well. What's not to like! Thanks for sharing. ~Sue

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau October 27, 2008

This recipe inspired me to make something similar for breakfast. I used 2/3 cup of raspberries instead of banana, and added protein powder and splenda. I would never have thought to cook the bran like oatmeal - I always mix it into baked goods - so thanks for the idea and correct water ratio!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
briosgaid January 25, 2004

I tried this today. It was great! The banana flavor and oatbran texture was wonderful and it was so easy to make. Thanks for adding variety to breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas September 15, 2003

I loved this! I'd never had oat bran before so I didn't know what to expect, but it was very good. Pretty smooth texture and mild taste. I didn't use a full teaspoon of sugar, I just sprinkled with a little cinnamon and sugar mixture. It's a nice change from regular oatmeal that I usually have for breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 19, 2003

I'm always looking for something healthy for breakfast, but was getting tired of the high fiber cold cereal routine. This is excellent, and very filling! I normally eat my breakfast between 6:30-7:00am, and am hungry by 9:30 and reach for a mid-morning snack(I don't usually go to lunch until 1:00pm). After eating the oat bran, I did not start feeling hungry until about 11:00, and then it was too close to lunchtime for me to want a snack - great for my diet! I also used a packet of Equal instead of the sugar or honey for calorie-free sweetening. I will make this again (probably tomorrow morning!!), and I will try it with other fruits as well. Thanks for posting! -M :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert July 14, 2003

Too much water to bran.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond October 05, 2013
Oat bran-Banana Breakfast for One