Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Oat bran-Banana Breakfast for One Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oat bran-Banana Breakfast for One

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2003

      I really enjoyed this breakfast, fast, healthy & different. Next time I will try replacing 1 Tbsp. of the oat bran with 1 Tbsp. of ground flax seed for even more nutition. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      YUM YUM YUMMY! I wanted to make this as part of "Pick you chef" contest coming up on 19th...but, I really loved this, and tried it the day it was posted. I LOVE IT! I repeated it as well, once, I remember and will do it again once I knock off a few kgs. I'm glad I picked up this recipe and chose you for the contest! This is a cool recipe; thanks a bunch for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      I was looking for a recipe to use up some oat bran and found this. I made it as an afternoon snack for my kids and they loved it. It has a nice balance of flavors. It was quick and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      The water amount was spot-on. Instead of sugar I used maple syrup. I meant to dust it with cinnamon, but it smelled so divine that I got sidetracked. I will be making this again and again! THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Very tasty! I am a big fan of oatmeal and adding banana to cereals so this was right up my alley! I served mine hot with a little cream and a touch of butter. The oat bran makes a wonderful delicious hot cereal and is healthy as well. What's not to like! Thanks for sharing. ~Sue

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      This recipe inspired me to make something similar for breakfast. I used 2/3 cup of raspberries instead of banana, and added protein powder and splenda. I would never have thought to cook the bran like oatmeal - I always mix it into baked goods - so thanks for the idea and correct water ratio!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      I tried this today. It was great! The banana flavor and oatbran texture was wonderful and it was so easy to make. Thanks for adding variety to breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      I loved this! I'd never had oat bran before so I didn't know what to expect, but it was very good. Pretty smooth texture and mild taste. I didn't use a full teaspoon of sugar, I just sprinkled with a little cinnamon and sugar mixture. It's a nice change from regular oatmeal that I usually have for breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      I'm always looking for something healthy for breakfast, but was getting tired of the high fiber cold cereal routine. This is excellent, and very filling! I normally eat my breakfast between 6:30-7:00am, and am hungry by 9:30 and reach for a mid-morning snack(I don't usually go to lunch until 1:00pm). After eating the oat bran, I did not start feeling hungry until about 11:00, and then it was too close to lunchtime for me to want a snack - great for my diet! I also used a packet of Equal instead of the sugar or honey for calorie-free sweetening. I will make this again (probably tomorrow morning!!), and I will try it with other fruits as well. Thanks for posting! -M :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Too much water to bran.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Very good and so good for you. Add berries, dried fruit or nuts too. Quick and easy to prepare on busy mornings. I prefer it to oatmeal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Excellent! The second time I made it I used 2 tsp of honey and a whole banana. Other than that stuck with the recipe exact. Tried it with and without milk, both are delicious! I appreciate you sharing this recipe it flavors up the oat bran and keeps it healthy especially when you use raw honey rather than sugar. God bless an thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      This is really nice! A lot better than I expected as I am not a big fan of oatmeal or cream of wheat. Worked really well on a morning when I discovered that my bread was mouldy, so I couldn't have toast. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      simple and good. added cinnamon, honey and milk at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I must have missed the day they taught oat bran in school, because I've never heard of it! This was fantastic! I love regular oatmeal, but this is a welcome change. Gonna try a few variations mentioned by previous reviews of your recipe, as well. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Very good and super simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I found this recipe yesterday and had it for lunch. It was so good I had it for breakfast today. This is a definite keeper and will become an easy cold weather meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This is a lovely little recipe! Mine reached a good consistency when I stopped it to stir the second time, so I only microwaved it for two minutes. This is VERY filling -- I think this could easily serve two!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I make this a lot and usually use mixed berries but I like it better with the banana. I cut the serving in half and put a cup of vanilla yogurt on the side. Delicious! Yummy and healthy too. One serving on the oatbran box though is HUGE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      I have this cereal quite often for a quick breakfast or a satisfying evening snack. I use a whole small banana and closer to a cup of water. The banana adds enough sweetness, so I replace the sugar with a sprinkle of cinnamon. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oat bran-Banana Breakfast for One

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    14%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 162.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites