146 Reviews

As a child, I grew up on toasted sandwiches of bacon, tomato, and crunchy peanut butter. Add crispy bacon to make it a stand-out! You won't know how good they are until you try them...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet Young April 15, 2011

I guess I'm the odd one out on this recipe. I didn't go "eeeww!!" but was not really impressed with the contrast of flavors and textures. I'll stick to my plain peanut butter toast or salted tomatoes - separately. It was worth trying though, thank you for giving us something new to try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie October 07, 2008

Not sure what I think of this. It's ok, not great. The combination of tomato & peanut butter did not magically transform to a new taste sensation. It wasn't bad, I could taste peanut butter and the tomato.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMae September 15, 2008

Well I read all the reviews and was waiting to be knocked of my feet. It wasn't bad, but I just felt like the taste of peanut butter overpowered the taste of tomatoes. But I did finish the whole slice. Thanks for an easy snack recipe:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denizkizi June 18, 2004

Well, I did actually try this out of morbid curiosity ;-)! It's not bad. Now I should let you know that I'm pregnant, so my tastes might be a little skewed, but really the tomato seems more like a fruit when served with sweet stuff. I added apricot preserves to my sandwich, and really rather enjoyed it. I may be back after my pregnancy cravings wear off to renounce this post, but for now it's definitely edible, and sometimes the only thing I want if nothing else sounds good. My midwife says it's a nice healthy snack to eat when your pregnant, so there you go.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa Husted September 25, 2003

not bad, I can't complain, I had eaten about 5 of these already (not at once) and then I remembered that I forgot to review it. A strange but good combonation that I can't get anyone else to try (imagine that).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashwee June 10, 2003

Ok, here goes, I am not a huge fan of tomatoes unless they are on a sandwich, and I don't care for pepper. But I tried it, just as listed, and yep, its great. As for Tom Sullivan, PB and Bologna is the best, been eating it for 20 yrs, except I also put lettuce on it. Thanks for the new sandwich, and use of all the tomatoes in my garden.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fourstews May 27, 2003

I really enjoyed reading all the comments on this recipe so had to give this recipe a try for breakfast. It really is good. But hey, I like peanut butter and I like tomatoes so how can I go wrong. I just never thought of trying this combination together. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haverlukc July 05, 2002

This is my favorite summertime treat. I really like it on fresh white bread, but I also add mayonaise to the bread first, and lots of salt. This is so cool that there are so many others who love this treat! My dad loves this, but my husband thinks I'm crazy. I use the biggest summer tomato that I can find (so that I only need one thick slice to fit the bread. YUMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktylovr98 June 05, 2002
Now don't go "EEEWWW!!" before you try this!