146 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

ThatBobbiGirl -You may be way out and your mom may be way out but so am I!!!! I had a big lunch so decided to have your Peanut butter weirdo toast _ I heated the plate to keep the toast hot, slipped on the peanut butter, added the tomatoes and added chopped green onions - now I have adored peanuit butter with green onions for years but the tomatoes add the 3rd dimension - A true unique weird top winner!! Go everybudy - I know your writeup will pull in the views. Thanks for being fun, unique and good tasting

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 20, 2002

Hi There! I am a die-hard fan of this recipe, you know!! I am u could say, in love with this one. Chef Anu had posted a recipe few weeks back, which is just the same as this one. And ever since that evening, oh, I have to make this one. I make this very very often, earlier, it used to be daily, now its about thrice a week. I do put about 2 leaves of iceberg lettuce as well on top of the peanut butter on the slices and then place the tomatoes,salt and pepper on it. I would recommend this recipe to THE WHOLE WORLD! I am crazy about it:) And can you believe, I can have just 2 slices of this for dinner and yet feel I had a whole huge sumptious biryani, it gives me so much satisfaction:) This is one of my ABSOLUTE FAVOURITES!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani April 20, 2002

Had to give it 5 stars for nostalgia. Thought my family where the only weird'os:) Sometimes mom would add a few strips of crispy bacon and leaf lettuce to the sandwiches but always toasted bread. Thankyou for sharing, I think I'll go make one now.........

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ April 22, 2002

This recipe has been around for many years. I am 50 years old and my parents ate p-nut butter and tomato sandwiches before I was born. Coming from east tennessee, with their reputation for fine tomatoes, I can say these tomatoes are the choice for this "delicacy". Also, try sweet pickles with p-nut butter.It really doesn't matter what bread you use for either sandwich,and it does not have to be toasted.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deedee howerton April 21, 2002

I have the almost exact same recipe too (#23836) and I positively LOVE this! Instead of spreading the peanut butter on hot toast, I spread it on the bread first, then lay the tomato slices (and lettuce/wilted spinach sometimes), and grill the bread in the oven. That way the tomato juices seep into the bread a tad, and the peanut butter gets a fresh toasty flavour as well! But your method works great too :)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu April 29, 2002

I cannot believe I had never heard of this or tried this before!!! I love peanut butter-and-"just about anything" sandwiches, but never had this one. It is WONDERFUL!!! I used whole wheat bread. I think it would also be great on English muffins, gonna try that next! Thanks, I LOOOVE this one! ~Manda

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda April 27, 2002

I found some great tomatoes at the Farmer's Market and tried this last night. It was good. I did not put it on toast this time but will the next. I will try it again when my own tomatoes are ready. By the way your intro to the recipe had me laughing.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff April 24, 2002

I must be a bit slow for not trying this sooner!! I love peanut butter and I love tomatoes, just hadn't ever thought of putting them together. My girls when they were young would often have peanut butter & jam on toast or sandwhiches or peanut butter & banana. Thanks sooo much for posting. Guess I'm just as nutty as the rest!! lol, cheers :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T April 29, 2002

EEEEEEEEEEW !! I tried this recipe .... all I have to say is EEEEEWWW....

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anus man duecer May 13, 2002

well, i tasted this recipe and it wasn't that great. I mean, it wasn't bad, i ate the whole thing.. but it just wasn't anything special. Maybe it was because I read all of the reviews and i got too hyped up about it. I was disappointed. but HEY! just because i wasnt impressed doesn't mean its the same for everybody! Go to town!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluvphish May 13, 2002
Now don't go "EEEWWW!!" before you try this!