Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Now don't go "EEEWWW!!" before you try this! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Now don't go "EEEWWW!!" before you try this!

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2002

      ThatBobbiGirl -You may be way out and your mom may be way out but so am I!!!! I had a big lunch so decided to have your Peanut butter weirdo toast _ I heated the plate to keep the toast hot, slipped on the peanut butter, added the tomatoes and added chopped green onions - now I have adored peanuit butter with green onions for years but the tomatoes add the 3rd dimension - A true unique weird top winner!! Go everybudy - I know your writeup will pull in the views. Thanks for being fun, unique and good tasting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      Hi There! I am a die-hard fan of this recipe, you know!! I am u could say, in love with this one. Chef Anu had posted a recipe few weeks back, which is just the same as this one. And ever since that evening, oh, I have to make this one. I make this very very often, earlier, it used to be daily, now its about thrice a week. I do put about 2 leaves of iceberg lettuce as well on top of the peanut butter on the slices and then place the tomatoes,salt and pepper on it. I would recommend this recipe to THE WHOLE WORLD! I am crazy about it:) And can you believe, I can have just 2 slices of this for dinner and yet feel I had a whole huge sumptious biryani, it gives me so much satisfaction:) This is one of my ABSOLUTE FAVOURITES!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      Had to give it 5 stars for nostalgia. Thought my family where the only weird'os:) Sometimes mom would add a few strips of crispy bacon and leaf lettuce to the sandwiches but always toasted bread. Thankyou for sharing, I think I'll go make one now.........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2002

      This recipe has been around for many years. I am 50 years old and my parents ate p-nut butter and tomato sandwiches before I was born. Coming from east tennessee, with their reputation for fine tomatoes, I can say these tomatoes are the choice for this "delicacy". Also, try sweet pickles with p-nut butter.It really doesn't matter what bread you use for either sandwich,and it does not have to be toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      I have the almost exact same recipe too (#23836) and I positively LOVE this! Instead of spreading the peanut butter on hot toast, I spread it on the bread first, then lay the tomato slices (and lettuce/wilted spinach sometimes), and grill the bread in the oven. That way the tomato juices seep into the bread a tad, and the peanut butter gets a fresh toasty flavour as well! But your method works great too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      I cannot believe I had never heard of this or tried this before!!! I love peanut butter-and-"just about anything" sandwiches, but never had this one. It is WONDERFUL!!! I used whole wheat bread. I think it would also be great on English muffins, gonna try that next! Thanks, I LOOOVE this one! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      I found some great tomatoes at the Farmer's Market and tried this last night. It was good. I did not put it on toast this time but will the next. I will try it again when my own tomatoes are ready. By the way your intro to the recipe had me laughing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      I must be a bit slow for not trying this sooner!! I love peanut butter and I love tomatoes, just hadn't ever thought of putting them together. My girls when they were young would often have peanut butter & jam on toast or sandwhiches or peanut butter & banana. Thanks sooo much for posting. Guess I'm just as nutty as the rest!! lol, cheers :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      EEEEEEEEEEW !! I tried this recipe .... all I have to say is EEEEEWWW....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      well, i tasted this recipe and it wasn't that great. I mean, it wasn't bad, i ate the whole thing.. but it just wasn't anything special. Maybe it was because I read all of the reviews and i got too hyped up about it. I was disappointed. but HEY! just because i wasnt impressed doesn't mean its the same for everybody! Go to town!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      Oh my God! I came onto Recipezaar this morning looking for a new salad idea and saw this recipe in the most recently posted area. I just cannot believe somebody else eats this! And that somebody elses Mom made them eat it first! The same thing happened to me when I was about 5 and I've been an addict every since! Thank heaven I just planted a new crop of tomatoes yesterday, but now I can hardly wait! The rye bread isn't essential to me, I'll eat tomatoes and peanut butter on any kind of bread! I have yet to conform my 2 boys and my husband, but I don't care! More for me!!! Another thing I haven't been able to get them to try is peanut butter and Cheez Whiz sandwiches! Oh the things they miss out on...! Thanks for posting this, I've thought about it, but have been too afraid of the comments I might have gotten! You're not only weird, but you're brave! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      This is really good. When I was growing up we used to eat bacon, peanut butter and tomato sandwiches which are really good too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Another variant of the tomato/peanut butter mixture was in use in the Arctic in the early 70's. This dealt with "soggy sandwich" syndrome. The rare occurence of tomatoes in out remote research camps was exiting but it meant that sandwich were soggy when eaten...we'd make them in morning then eat at lunch. It was determined that peanut butter on one slice of bread and mayonaise[sp] on the other side would effectively 'waterproof" the bread so that the tomato would not leak onto the bread. The addition of pepper was to individual tastes. What a great sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      I tried this (for breakfast!) and after my husband looked at me for a very long time.....I had to spend about 20 minutes convincing him that I was not pregnant! I love the combination of peanut butter and tomato! Great idea! I used to order the same sandwich every day at lunch from a local deli, (sliced tomato on white with dill dressing) and the owner of the deli thought I was nuts! Maybe tomorrow I,ll order your combo and see if it will start a trend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Meh.. I just just don't get it. I did it exactly like the recipe says, but it was just ok. It tastes like PB on tomatoes, not some great culinary epiphany.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      I thought this was weird till a friend told me she loves it... I can't believe I never tried this before - Thanks TBG! I LOVE PB with many other things too, PB with cheese & honey is good & so is PB with onion, but I think this is my new favorite :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      I really like to eat this. It is much better than it sounds......really....just try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      Very unique, Enjoyed it! Here's another for this group of weird peanut butter fans. I put a layer of greek pepperoncini peppers on my peanut butter sandwich. the tastes are great together!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      Ok, the title got the best of me... I just HAD to try this. So of course I did. As I'm eating my sandwich, my husband could not for the life of him figure out what I was moaning and groaning about in the next room..lol. When I told him what I was eating, he of course did the "EEEWWW" thing... oh well his loss!! This was YUMMY!!!! I highly recommend this recipe to everyone at least once! Please try it! Use a bunch of pepper for a nice slow burn! Enjoy and thank you for a new thing for me to be unique about to my friends...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      I can't believe how delicious this is! After so many great reviews, and the great description, I had to give this recipe a try. I loved it - and so did my DD. We had to make two servings each, we enjoyed it so much. I loved the combination of peppery tomatoes and warm peanut butter with the crunch of the wheat bread - yum. Tonight, after taking one bite of supper, my DD announced "I don't like tonight's supper - can I just have more of that yummy tomato bread instead?" We will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing this unique treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Now don't go "EEEWWW!!" before you try this!

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    18%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 20.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 199.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites