Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / North-South Sweet Potato Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    North-South Sweet Potato Curry

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2007

      VeggieHippie, What are you talking about. It is beta-carotene (from fruits and veggies), not vitamin A (from cod liver oil, ect.). It can't hurt you like you say. (Even if you take mass amounts of beta carotene, all it will do is harmlessly stain the palms of your hands orange. Now true vitamin A is another story...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      I made it with 1t garam masala as well as the curry powder, and ate it with paratha (indian flaky bread) instead of rice. Terrific, and very, very good for you. By the way, don't worry about the high vitamin A content. The vegetables have it in the form of beta-carotene, which your body only converts to vitamin A as needed. It would be very difficult to overload on vitamin A this way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      The aroma while stir frying the spices & onions was much better then the actual flavor. I most certainly will try it again, but with 3 times as much curry and at least a tsp of salt. Otherwise it was actually quite bland. Maybe with the spinach I might throw in some ground nutmeg and I think take out the tomatoes. I really don't like it when chefs tweak the recipe before they even try it, unless necessary due to unavailability of an ingredient. Tried it as written and will tweak it as mentioned above. Thanks for posting a very healthy meatless recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      This was pretty good. Very colorful, and it made the whole house smell great! Wasn't quite what I was looking for, though, so I'll keep looking. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

    • on January 31, 2007

      This was great! I made it a while ago and can't believe I didn't review it then! I've been thinking about it recently...must make it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I would suggest dividing this recipe into more servings. As it is, it has a dangerously high level of vitamin A (over twice the Upper Limit) which is in particularly bad for the elderly and those with cholesterol problems. It can cause nasuea, fatigue, joint problems, dry skin, and even liver damage. This looks like a good recipe, you just might want to rethink the serving size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Made this recipe as is, except I omitted the rice (carb count without rice was more than sufficient) and used 6 ounces fresh spinach. I particularly liked the curry and cinnamon flavor with the sweet potatoes. I also liked the texture combination. I did find that I had to microwave the sweet potatoes for more like 5 minutes, and I included the tomato juice as well as about 1/4 cup water. The spices stuck to the bottom of the skillet but when I added the liquid I was able to scrape it off. Otherwise, nice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for North-South Sweet Potato Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (864 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 702.2
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    16%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1217.3 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 129.5 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 23.3 g
    93%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes