13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I halved this recipe and made it in my 3 1/2 quart Crock Pot. I used the handy Crock Pot cake and bread insert that I have instead of a bowl and it turned out perfectly. I added 1 cup cool water to the Crock Pot for the bath, and put 1/2 cup steel cut oats, pinch of salt and 2 cups cool water in the insert; put the lid on, put it in the Crock Pot and put the lid on the Crock Pot itself. It cooked for 7 1/2 hours while I slept and turned out perfectly. Upon arising I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, pinch nutmeg, 2 T Splenda and 1/2 cup raisins and stirred everything together. I then put the insert back in the Crock Pot in the hot water bath for an additional 1/2 hour. Next time I will try it using apple juice instead of water. This is a foolproof way to wake up to a nice warm healthy breakfast. Yum

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycrocodile February 04, 2009

I couldn't believe how perfectly this worked out. I'm so excited to not have to clean out oatmeal from the bottom of a pot and scour my stovetop! I started with cold water both in the crock pot and in the casserole dish, and the oatmeal was done 7 1/2 hours later. I used a covered casserole, but see this morning that the recipe didn't specify to cover or not. I covered and it was perfect. Thank you for helping us get more oats in our diet!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjrenner January 07, 2010

Excellent recipe. This was so easy to prepare and clean-up after. I one and a halved this recipe, using 1 1/2 c steel cut oats and 6 cups of water. I also added about 5 tbsp of brown sugar and some cinnamon. I cooked it for 8 hours and it was so creamy and delicious. My kids liked it, too. I will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin May 19, 2010

Wonderful! It was really nice to have some wholesome, creamy, delicious steel-cut oats ready to eat when I got up this morning. They turned out perfectly. I just topped mine with a little butter and some Splenda brown sugar blend for flavoring. We'll definitely use this method again! Thanks for posting, ~Sue

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau September 17, 2008

Super super easy. I did and cinnamon, 1 chopped apple, and 1 tablespoon brown sugar Splenda to mine. I tried using the crockpot cake pan made for crockpots like one reviewer suggested. That did not work for me, it was way to light and just floated on top of the water.. I found a nice size mixing bowl that fit perfectly inside by crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook February 02, 2015

Very good! Nice texture and so easy! Everyone enjoyed it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making December 24, 2012

My picture is far from perfect, but I've been distracted by my g'children, who have been tempting both fate and patience for the past half hour. Having had 3 kids of my own, colonization isn't new to me, but with the expansion, I didn't expect a settlement.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 12, 2011

So awesome! The kids loved waking up during the week to their favourite oatmeal. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bstgirl October 14, 2011

I love this recipe! I will never make steel cut oats on the stove again...and better yet, I will never have to clean up a "boil over" mess on the stove again in the morning (sad to say it has happenned more than once when I wasn't paying attention).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynjt October 27, 2010
No Mess Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats