Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / No Mess Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No Mess Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2009

      I halved this recipe and made it in my 3 1/2 quart Crock Pot. I used the handy Crock Pot cake and bread insert that I have instead of a bowl and it turned out perfectly. I added 1 cup cool water to the Crock Pot for the bath, and put 1/2 cup steel cut oats, pinch of salt and 2 cups cool water in the insert; put the lid on, put it in the Crock Pot and put the lid on the Crock Pot itself. It cooked for 7 1/2 hours while I slept and turned out perfectly. Upon arising I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, pinch nutmeg, 2 T Splenda and 1/2 cup raisins and stirred everything together. I then put the insert back in the Crock Pot in the hot water bath for an additional 1/2 hour. Next time I will try it using apple juice instead of water. This is a foolproof way to wake up to a nice warm healthy breakfast. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I couldn't believe how perfectly this worked out. I'm so excited to not have to clean out oatmeal from the bottom of a pot and scour my stovetop! I started with cold water both in the crock pot and in the casserole dish, and the oatmeal was done 7 1/2 hours later. I used a covered casserole, but see this morning that the recipe didn't specify to cover or not. I covered and it was perfect. Thank you for helping us get more oats in our diet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Excellent recipe. This was so easy to prepare and clean-up after. I one and a halved this recipe, using 1 1/2 c steel cut oats and 6 cups of water. I also added about 5 tbsp of brown sugar and some cinnamon. I cooked it for 8 hours and it was so creamy and delicious. My kids liked it, too. I will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Wonderful! It was really nice to have some wholesome, creamy, delicious steel-cut oats ready to eat when I got up this morning. They turned out perfectly. I just topped mine with a little butter and some Splenda brown sugar blend for flavoring. We'll definitely use this method again! Thanks for posting, ~Sue

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Very good! Nice texture and so easy! Everyone enjoyed it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      My picture is far from perfect, but I've been distracted by my g'children, who have been tempting both fate and patience for the past half hour. Having had 3 kids of my own, colonization isn't new to me, but with the expansion, I didn't expect a settlement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      So awesome! The kids loved waking up during the week to their favourite oatmeal. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I love this recipe! I will never make steel cut oats on the stove again...and better yet, I will never have to clean up a "boil over" mess on the stove again in the morning (sad to say it has happenned more than once when I wasn't paying attention).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

    • on February 13, 2010

      Delicious! And they reheat well in the microwave the next day if you have leftovers. Also made #58309 Baked Oatmeal using this water-bath procedure with the crockpot and it worked great as well. Really nice to have breakfast ready when you get up in the mornings. Thank you, Jonesy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      magic! we love steel cut oats but no one ever wants to get up early enough to make them on the stove. this recipe lets us eat them every day! i put a small amount of light margarine, brown sugar and cinnamon on mine - it's like having a hot cinnamon bun for breakfast every day! and steel cut oats are just so good for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Wow! This was so easy and good! Clean up was a breeze, too! I browned the oats in butter for 5-7 minutes first and used 3 cups water with 1 cup vanilla soy milk plus 1 tsp vanilla. I will had cinnamon next time. My husband topped with peanut butter and jelly and my son and I did bananas, pecans, & syrup. Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No Mess Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.7
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites