Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      i omitted the canned beans substituted yellow and green split peas, 1/2 c, very nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      My husband (who is Moroccan) and I liked this recipe. I added a couple of beef stock cubes and cooked the lentils in the pressure cooker for 12 minutes before I put in the other beans. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. In Morocco they usually don't add white beans with lentils, but they do add garbanzo beans. I also substitued with ras el hanout instead of using garam masala.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      My husband grew up in Casablanca and has very particular tastes when it comes to Moroccan meals. This was my first attempt at Moroccan cooking. I followed the recipe except substitued the Garam Masala for Ras El Hanout (that I made myself) and added lamb while the onions, garlic and ginger were being saute'd. My husband LOVES, LOVES, LOVES this soup! So much so that he now holds me "to a higher standard" when I cook. I highly recommend this fantastic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This soup is fantasitic! The spices in the soup smelled so delicious that I could barely wait to try it. My husband, kids and I all really enjoyed this. I didn't use the cannelini beans (because I didn't have any in the house), and I added fresh spinach that had to be used and it was delicious! Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      This is a wonderful soup! I adore the spices. I added 2 cups of lentils and servered with toppings - chopped fresh tomato, chopped bacon, plain yogurt and cilantro!!! Fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Delicious! We did subsitute potatoes for the garbanzo beans, since we didn't have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This is a wonderful, thick soup with a good spicy kick. My dieting husband was happy to find it in his thermos. We're going by the theory that people in third world countries generally use lots of heat in their spicing to aid in appetite reduction. If that's even partially true, maybe THIS diet will work! Thanks for a good and healthy meal, dieting or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Interesting combination of flavors in this soup. I was excited to use my cardamom pods for the first time...it did take some time to break them open, and then grind the seeds. I don't think this is my favorite way to spice lentil soup, but it's a nice change of pace. I definitely enjoyed it with a healthy dollop of plain yogurt. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was delicous and very easy. I doubled the recipe, left out the white beans, and used chicken stock rather than water. I also used ras el hanout (from Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine), rather than the garam masala. I garnished with lemon and plain yogurt which gave the perfect balance of spicy, creamy, sour. Love this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Delicious and easy, cooking time for the red lentils was reduced, but it was easy to make and extremely tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Delicious! I didn't actually use the cannellini beans, so I put more lentils in instead. All it needed was some salt and pepper. Lovely combination of spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

    • on January 29, 2007

      Very good. High flavor. Very easy. Thanks for posting this wonderful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      This soup was wonderful, fragrant, and so nourishing! It really has a kick to it that warms you from the inside out. It was super easy, and fairly quick to make. My whole house smelled so wonderful, I could barely wait to try the finished product!!! I made only two changes. I couldn't find any cannellini beans, so I used navy beans. Since I like tomatoes I also added a large can of whole tomatoes, which I added to the half of the soup that I zapped with my immersion blender. Perfection! Thank you Mirj for such a wonderful recipe. I will make it many, many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Very nice soup, although I thought it would be tastier with all of the spices. It definitely needed salt at the end. I'm sure Dh will like this, and it will make great leftovers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      This soup is fragrant, absolutely delicious and easy to make. I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (561 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.2
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    12%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 506.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes