43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

EXCELLENT. Canned chickpeas (drained) is fine. Saute onions first before any other step. Ok to delete red wine/sherry and apricots. Serve with plain couscous. Wonderful meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyibis December 09, 2011

This was SO good. We left out the apricots (didn't have any) and the almonds (forgot to add them); otherwise we followed the recipe as written. It's such a nice combination of sweet, spicy, and sour. I thoroughly enjoyed the leftovers the next day, too. We served this over brown rice, by the way. Thanks for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie November 02, 2010

Made an excellent vegetarian meal served over steamed rice last night. I used fresh lime juice in place of lemon and threw some fresh cilantro on the top which was a nice touch. Would beef up the spices just a bit as we like ours with lots of spice - looking forward to leftovers this afternoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 05, 2013

Substituted dried cranberries for the dried apricots and it turned out to be a delicious and colorful addition to our Christmas dinner. I love that there is no added fat. This tasty dish received great reviews and requests to make sure it appears on our dinner table again soon. Seasoning was just right with a bit of kick to make the sweet potatoes stand out. So much better than the marshmallow covered glop that the healthy sweet potato is subjected to on the holiday dinner table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAMom49 December 25, 2012

I like all the components of this dish, but the result lacked in flavor. If I tried to make it again sometime I would add peanut butter. Because peanut butter makes everything better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovaskon August 21, 2012

We tried this dish last night and really enjoyed it. I used red wine vinegar instead of red wine (I don't use alcohol at all in my cooking.) and it turned out just fine! I also forgot to add the almonds, too busy trying to get dinner on the table! A good dish to eat every once in awhile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan March 18, 2012

Served over Couscous. Personally I found this a bit on the bland side surprisingly! However Fiance said he loved it so we meet halfway at 4 stars. Made exact to recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 01, 2011

excelent had a chicken tagine dish to go with this also cousecouse
hudley1

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uhthoff March 08, 2011
Moroccan Chickpeas and Sweet Potatoes