Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Moroccan Chickpeas and Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Chickpeas and Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2011

      EXCELLENT. Canned chickpeas (drained) is fine. Saute onions first before any other step. Ok to delete red wine/sherry and apricots. Serve with plain couscous. Wonderful meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This was SO good. We left out the apricots (didn't have any) and the almonds (forgot to add them); otherwise we followed the recipe as written. It's such a nice combination of sweet, spicy, and sour. I thoroughly enjoyed the leftovers the next day, too. We served this over brown rice, by the way. Thanks for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Made an excellent vegetarian meal served over steamed rice last night. I used fresh lime juice in place of lemon and threw some fresh cilantro on the top which was a nice touch. Would beef up the spices just a bit as we like ours with lots of spice - looking forward to leftovers this afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Substituted dried cranberries for the dried apricots and it turned out to be a delicious and colorful addition to our Christmas dinner. I love that there is no added fat. This tasty dish received great reviews and requests to make sure it appears on our dinner table again soon. Seasoning was just right with a bit of kick to make the sweet potatoes stand out. So much better than the marshmallow covered glop that the healthy sweet potato is subjected to on the holiday dinner table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      I like all the components of this dish, but the result lacked in flavor. If I tried to make it again sometime I would add peanut butter. Because peanut butter makes everything better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      We tried this dish last night and really enjoyed it. I used red wine vinegar instead of red wine (I don't use alcohol at all in my cooking.) and it turned out just fine! I also forgot to add the almonds, too busy trying to get dinner on the table! A good dish to eat every once in awhile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

    • on November 11, 2011

    • on August 01, 2011

      Served over Couscous. Personally I found this a bit on the bland side surprisingly! However Fiance said he loved it so we meet halfway at 4 stars. Made exact to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      excelent had a chicken tagine dish to go with this also cousecouse
      hudley1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This was fantastic! Easy, healthy and inexpensive. I made this exactly as written and would not change a thing. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      It was WONDERFUL! I sooo enjoyed this dish. Made it just as you posted except for the lemon juice...was out. I think next time I will increase the apricots and leave out the raisins, just personal preference. Served it with brown jasmine rice and homemade naan bread, which I make very spicy. I had doubled the recipe but not the red peppers, which I added at the end anyway. The only comment other than, "Great', was from my son for more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Brilliant and delicious! A beautiful balance between sweet and tangy with full flavors. I did use a Moroccan spice blend called Ras El Hanout instead of the listed spices (which I highly recommend) otherwise, followed the recipe as written. Served over Basmati rice, this was so easy to throw together and a healthy alternative to meat--which, as a big carnivore, I was surprised to find I didn't miss at all! If you are the least bit interested, give the recipe a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed. I wasn't!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was very good! I cut the cinnamon in half and used water since I used 2 cans of chick peas (about 2 1/2 cups).. The only thing I thought it lacked was salt and I'm usually very sensitive to salt! No matter...I just added some to the final product. Thanks so much for posting.. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Extremely healthy dish, so I can't say I'm not going to make it again, and the prep is nice and straightforward, but the cinnamon flavor in my opinion is much too overpowering. Any bite with a strong almond flavor was much better, so add more of those along with less cinnamon. I'll probably use a little cayenne next time to get something on the spicier side to balance out the overall sweetness as well. Probably could use some fresh green herbs as a finisher, too (parsley or cilantro?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Thanks for the excellent recipe! We really enjoy sweet potatoes, so this is another healthy and delicious way to dress them up. I couldn't get a hold of dried apricots, so I doubled the amount of raisins instead. I used chickpea liquid and a bit of water, but omitted the salt. Served it over brown rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This is a gorgeous dish. Quite sweet for some tastes but the spice gives it a bit of an edge & I used a little extra ginger for some kick. I used a can of chickpeas and the water they came in worked out to be the exactly one cup! Perfect. My husband hates dried apricots & raisins but he ate this & raved about it! Ha ha. Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      We tried this recipe and found it to be delicious - sweet & sour - highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      This recipe is tasty, very satisfying, and looks beautiful. I like the idea of sweating the onions, garlic and ginger to reduce fat calories. I didn't have all ingredients on hand, so used a red onion, cayenne pepper in place of the flakes, and dried cranberries instead of the apricots. I also had baked my potatoes earlier and just added them without bringing to a boil. Really delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      A lovely healthy recipie and tasty too. I used dried chickpeas, so it was pretty cheap aswell. The amount of red pepper flakes recommended give a lovely taste but not much heat - if you like your food on the hot side you will need to add more. It is also worth noting that the portion size is generous, and for many people this may well stretch to 5 or 6. Thanks for posting such a great recipie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Chickpeas and Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.3
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    13%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 692.7 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    40%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes