15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so refreshing! We used it along side some grilled chicken sandwiches for lunch, and we couldn't stop eating it. I used a 1/2 cup parsley in this and it couldn't have been tastier. Good, good recipe, Caryn

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema March 20, 2003

I wasn't very fond of the sugar in this recipe; I think I would omit it if I make this again. I did enjoy the cumin / lemon juice combo, and the dish went nicely with chicken thighs rubbed in Mustapha's Moroccan Melange for Chicken spice mix.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngiC January 11, 2008

Great refreshing salad. I julienned the carrots instead of grating. I added juice from half a lemon, used 1/2 tsp brown sugar and 1/2 tsp white sugar, and used cilantro instead of parsley. I'll definitely keep this one in circulation, thanks Caryn Gale!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8nine March 04, 2007

I used Splenda for the sugar and thought that for me a bit more cumin and lemon wouldn't do any harm. I had just sautéed onions in olive oil and a bit of it clung to the skillet. After allowing the pan to cool I just stirred the carrot mix into the tiny bit of residual oil and that worked perfectly. It's perfectly easy and perfectly yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 05, 2011

This is so good. I used no oil and left out the parsley cause I didnt have any. Substituted Splenda for the sugar, added chopped raisins, a little cayenne pepper and more than a dash of lemon juice. It kind of tastes like carrots in lemonade with a bit of spice. It is just yummy. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. Bravo! Update: This sat in my fridge as a leftover for 2 days and was even better than the first day! Just too good to be healthy for me! Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faeriesbite August 10, 2007

Can't believe that I haven not rated this yet being that I have made it four times! I loved this salad. It's light, refreshing and colorful for a summer side dish. I did not have any parsley, missed the green for color. I will try some cilantro next time, that should be great. Thanks for a healthy and pretty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 21, 2007

Very quick, easy, healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 19, 2007

This was very tasty, we had it with grilled teriyaki burgers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta April 28, 2007

This was good and a nice change from the usual side dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds April 25, 2007

This was a pretty good recipe. I made it to go with Chicken tagine and its mild flavour was a very nice complement to the more fragrant main dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay April 21, 2007
Moroccan Carrot Salad