Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Moosewood White Bean and Tomato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moosewood White Bean and Tomato Salad

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      I used a few alternate ingredients in this recipe, but it turned out crisp and perfect nonetheless. I halved the recipe, used minced garlic in olive oil, omitted the celery, used fresh basil, and substituted apple cider vinegar. This is a great side item for grilling chicken or seafood. It is also very light.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Wonderful and healthy salad! I cut the recipe in half and added one cup frozen corn. It is delicious, even my 2 year old daughter ate some.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Enjoyed this for an easy and healthy packed lunch. Simple to make. Made a half recipe. Used the red wine vinegar and recommend it. Recipe calls for a lot of celery, which adds a nice crunch, but I would probably reduce it by half next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      Absolutely one of my favourite go to salads. Easy to make, keeps well in the fridge for up to a week. I modified it a bit, as I've made this recipe several times now. Here is my final version use fresh tomatoes, 4-5 depending on size, seeded; 1/2 cup minced red onion; Grape-seed instead of olive oil; 1/2 of a peeled and seeded english cucumber, chopped; sprinkled cayenne pepper around and over the ingredients, so maybe 1/4 tsp; original had too much celery for our taste, so I use 2 large stalks of chopped celery; for the beans, I use 1 19oz can of a mixed bean blend, as I like the taste better with a few types of beans. It really seems to enhance the flavours. Don't be shy on the garlic, I use 2 large cloves, minced and for the lemon, I use the juice of a whole lemon or even add in another half if the lemon is on the smaller side. The rest of the ingredients are per the original recipe. We love this recipe, and make it at least once per month as it goes with sandwiches for lunch, or for dinner with chicken really well. My thanks to death_by_parsnip for posting the original recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      I changed this quite a bit because I'm not a huge raw celery fan. I used 1 rib of celery but did 1 whole English cucumber with the seeds removed. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper. Everything else was according to the recipe -- I used mint and fresh tomatoes. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      I did not have celery. I added black olives. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      DH and I liked that this salad was healthy and easy to prepare. However, we found it kind of bland for our tastes. I tried adding a little more red wine vinegar and onion. This helped a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Simple, clean and delicious! I, too, omitted the celery and used fresh basil. I also added the red wine vinegar-- delicious! Thanks for posting the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I love Moosewood so I had to try this! It didn't disappoint! I halved the recipe because I only had one can of beans but next time I'll make the full recipe. I will also try balsamic vinegar next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      great recipe. very fresh and healthy tasting. I was trying to find something to make to use up extra celery. i used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

    • on May 04, 2008

      Very good fresh summer salad! I only had one can of white beans, so I used I can of chickpeas as well, and it was very good. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This was soooo good! I didn't have canellini beans, so had to use kidney beans. I also used the canned tomaotes and optional splash of red wine vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I have yet to try a Moosewood recipe I don't like! This one is no exception. I halved the recipe (not sure if DH will eat it). It is a little garlicy, but good. I added the red wine vinegar. It wouldn't be the same without it. I really like the celery in there. Gives it a nice crunch. Yum. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I am rating this 4 stars because I liked it, but didn't love it. That doesnt mean there is anything wrong with the salad though! Salad has a delightful citrus taste with the smoothness of the beans and crunchiness of the celery. I can't taste the vinegar and may put in more next time I make this. I diced the celery really small because I dont like it either, but it does give it a nice crunch. I followed the recipe to the "t". This makes a nice main dish salad, which is what I will be using it for, mainly for my lunch to take to work with some toasted pita wedges to round it out. I used the fresh basil and next time I will try it with the mint. I am thinking it may give it a flavor similar to taboulleh. I also think I may add a bit of pasta to it next time. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This is one of my favorite Moosewood recipes, as well. It is a great dish to take along to a potluck cookout. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      This salad was totally yummy! I did include the celery, it gives the salad a wonderful crunch. I used the fresh basil. Instead of combining all the ingredients together, I mixed the lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, vinegar and salt and pepper in a separate bowl and poured it over the salad. It worked well. I will make this again. Thanks for posting, death_by_parsnip. Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Enjoyed the refreshing taste of this dish. By all means use garden-fresh tomatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Nice change from the green salads. I used one can chick peas and once can navy beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moosewood White Bean and Tomato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.9
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    27%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 424.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes