Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Mixed Beans With Bacon and Almonds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mixed Beans With Bacon and Almonds

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2009

      This knocked my socks off! This is so simple and delicious! I used vegetarian bacon (DH complained bitterly about fake bacon! Who cares?!) and I accidentally used sugar peas instead of sugar snap peas -- there is a difference! My grocer didn't carry frozen butter beans, so I used canned ones and added them at the last minute with all the heated beans; worked out great! I cannot sing enough praises for this recipe! This is a contender for my Best of 2009 recipes. Thanks, Kumquat the Cat's friend! Made for Vegetarian Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      A great recipe to try. I chose to use the real bacon in ours. I am tempted to try using imitation bacon the next time to see how good this comes out. Will be making this dish again. Thanks for posting this recipe for us all to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Made this recipe as written & the result was a GREAT TASTING bean dish! Have never used butter beans before & seldom have limas, but the combination of all made for an interesting bean dish, while the addition of the bacon AND almonds was wonderful! Most enjoyable & definitely a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Excellent. We loved these beans. The combination of bacon and almonds were what made these so special for us. Delicious side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      an Excellent 5 stars ! Not knowing what imitation bacon was, ...sigh... we were forced to use the real stuff. Well, I mean DH becuase I assigned the recipe to him to make since I got home late. He used haricot vert instead of the thicker green beans and he wasn't brave enough to toast the almonds but it didn't matter, the result was still excellent. He boiled the beans for only just long enough to cook them though, there was still a discernable crunch which added a real freshness to the dish. The bacon and the bacon drippings heighten the taste of the vegetables and brings the various tastes together very well. He did pour off some of the excess grease before mixing so that nothing was swimming in it and this tasted so light and yummy that DH and I ate the whole lot as a main meal. When you love a particular veggie, and prepare it a lot, sometimes you just prepare them the same old, same old... this recipes pushes all those recipes aside. Please see my rating system: a recipe to be repeated.. often! DH didn't mutter about it being hard to follow so the instructions are well written and the taste is excellent, 5 stars for beans never needing to be boring ever again!Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      This was simple and really good, I used the real bacon and increased all amounts... and yes the almonds really do make a difference in this dish, so don't omit them! thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Very nice side dish. For the two of us I just used a can of mixed beans (so didn't cook them for nearly as long) and one rasher of bacon. To make it a one dish, I sliced the bacon finely, fried til it was starting to brown and then added the almonds for a minute or two, then stirred through the beans and seasonings. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      Great flavor and perfectly delightful made with garden-fresh beans and peas. I skipped the oil and didn't miss it a bit. The bacon and almonds make this vegetable combination quite addictive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mixed Beans With Bacon and Almonds

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.5
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    27%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 206.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes