16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had leftover vegetable broth, so I used that for 1/3 of the water. I used firm lite silken tofu cut into small cubes. 4 stars from everyone (until DD figured out that was tofu-ha,ha)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom January 31, 2012

Delicious, I make this regularly however I always add some Wakame to make it extra nutritious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zazen Warrior December 02, 2007

I replaced the water with some homemade dashi stock I'd just made (I put it into everything!), since akamiso needs the extra body.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luamellita October 25, 2014

Delicious! A great first-time miso experience. I added some nori as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mauilisa February 17, 2010

Great going! I think some dashi would be great to have added, but i didn't have any to hand... I used maitake mushrooms instead of shiitake, and also put in wakame. Both the maitake and the wakame came dried, so I let them soak in warm water for oh 20-30 minutes, drained them and put them with the water as it boiled. Added the tofu before boiling. Reduced to a simmer and added a (relatively) low sodium miso. Like others I added a dash of soy at the end, along with a squirt of lime juice. The scallions made a great final topping. While next time I will try the dashi-variant, this one is quite good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diann is Cooking February 15, 2010

Love love LOVE this soup! It was my first time making miso soup from 'scratch' and it was excellent! I added some pepper flakes, to spice it up, and ate it with edamame and rice. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon February 11, 2009

I too added some wakame and a dash of soy. I wondered about the missing dashi, however without this, the mushroom flavor was able to shine! Nice soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kevinf May 19, 2008

This soup is very good. I doubled the recipe, used button mushrooms instead of shiitake (what I had on hand) and used half low-sodium vegetable stock. It was wonderful! I brought the rest to work for lunch the next day and it was even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dosidough January 08, 2008

Not as good as the Miso Soup at our Sushi bar, but it wasn't bad. Thanks for an easy soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz November 19, 2007
Miso Soup With Shiitake Mushrooms and Tofu