Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Miso Soup With Shiitake Mushrooms and Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Miso Soup With Shiitake Mushrooms and Tofu

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2012

      I had leftover vegetable broth, so I used that for 1/3 of the water. I used firm lite silken tofu cut into small cubes. 4 stars from everyone (until DD figured out that was tofu-ha,ha)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Delicious, I make this regularly however I always add some Wakame to make it extra nutritious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

    • on February 17, 2010

      Delicious! A great first-time miso experience. I added some nori as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Great going! I think some dashi would be great to have added, but i didn't have any to hand... I used maitake mushrooms instead of shiitake, and also put in wakame. Both the maitake and the wakame came dried, so I let them soak in warm water for oh 20-30 minutes, drained them and put them with the water as it boiled. Added the tofu before boiling. Reduced to a simmer and added a (relatively) low sodium miso. Like others I added a dash of soy at the end, along with a squirt of lime juice. The scallions made a great final topping. While next time I will try the dashi-variant, this one is quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Love love LOVE this soup! It was my first time making miso soup from 'scratch' and it was excellent! I added some pepper flakes, to spice it up, and ate it with edamame and rice. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      I too added some wakame and a dash of soy. I wondered about the missing dashi, however without this, the mushroom flavor was able to shine! Nice soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This soup is very good. I doubled the recipe, used button mushrooms instead of shiitake (what I had on hand) and used half low-sodium vegetable stock. It was wonderful! I brought the rest to work for lunch the next day and it was even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Not as good as the Miso Soup at our Sushi bar, but it wasn't bad. Thanks for an easy soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Mm, thanks for the miso soup! I used dried shiitake, a pinch of veggie stock and white miso, though next time I make this I'll try red or brown. Thanks again, great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      So yummy! I actually used nori instead of scallions. I also added a wee bit of soy sauce, about a teaspoon full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I never made miso soup before, and this was easy. It was a hit at our sushi dinner party. You forgot to mention what to do with the tofu. I put it in with the mushrooms and miso paste and let it boil. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      It is the almost the dead of winter and I have been looking for a great soup. I found it. Lo cal, healthy. I couldn't find miso anywhere in my supermarket so I substituted vegie stock. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

    • on January 01, 2005

      Quick, sinmple and very nice! I used dried shiitake, so I dropped them into the boiling water measured for the soup, then turned it off and let them soak for a few minutes, then proceded with the recipe as written. I also couldn't resist adding a couple "slices" of carrot. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Miso Soup With Shiitake Mushrooms and Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.7
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    25%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 628.9 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites